We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Marziale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Marziale to your Saves list
Palazzo Marziale
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Piazza F.S. Gargiulo, 2, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 98 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfecto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Do not hesitate to stay in this amazing place. We have just returned home after a wonderful 3 night break. We felt thoroughly spoilt and loved every minute.Great location,right in the hub of Sorrento,very romantic. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    33
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
178
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

From the moment we entered the Palazzo Marziale, we were enchanted. Arriving late, we did not meet owner Paola until the next morning. She was warm, welcoming and by the time we left, a wonderful friend. We stayed in Love, the junior suite that looked out onto the cathedral and the short street to the sea. Sitting on the small balcony was a great way to drink wine and people watch after a day sightseeing in Sorrento. The room was wonderful. It was large and very luxuriously appointed. The bed was divine. You could tell that every area of this place had been touched by Paola who has amazing taste. This is her home and she makes sure that everything is perfect. The restaurant that she just opened is wonderful. We went there to celebrate our 43rd anniversary. The room is beautiful and very romantic. Service and food are top notch. Evenings were spent at the little bar facing the street where Salvatori, the bartender offers fantastic service. We missed saying goodbye to him. If you are staying in Sorrento, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spectacular! That is the best way for me to describe Palazzo Marziale. We are a family of 4 with two children agest 10 & 6 who travel to Europe every year and this is one of our favorite places we have ever stayed. We loved everything about it. The finishes are exquisite and the restoration of her family property is sheer prefection. Paola is a remarkable host. She does all the baking herself for breakfast and greets her guests every morning with a beautiful smile and warm heart. She went out of her way to make our stay special and memorable. My children felt welcome and at home. I cannot wait to visit Sorrento again. Palazzo Marziale is a special place and Paola is a true gem!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you were to design and operate a house in Sorrento with a wonderful location, this would be what a perfectionist would create. Thats what Paola, the owner has created. Its a wonderful home with tasteful design and ammenities for the guest. I highly recommend this property.

The only suggestion I would make is that the breakfast provided is not as complete or nice as it could be. It just does not match the quality of this property. Suggest to move to the dining room or restauaunt area and make a more complete buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife & I traveled Rome,Venice, Siena, Cinque Terra, Sorrento, Positano and Capri - all of our hotels were wonderful but none compared with the overall experience of this lovely hotel and its most elegant and thoughtful hostess/managing director/owner, Paola! Beautiful rooms, with lovely views, providing excellent access to all that is happening. We spent several nights in the hotel and were very touched by the personal care that was shown to us while there. Hearing that my wife was gluten sensitive, Paola quietly arranged for a lovely almond cake (still warm) to be available on the breakfast table along with a wonderful array of pastries, fruit, cheeses fresh coffee etc., plenty to satisfy all our needs. She also made special arrangements for us to have a lovely dinner with friends - a sumptuous meal was provided. A classy hotel, owned and managed by a very classy and beautiful lady!

Room Tip: All the rooms facing the sea are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Marziale is well located directly across the road from the road to the sea and one of the most famous cathedrals in Sorrento. The hotel is beautiful and lovely and clean. The bedding is top drawer and very luxrious and we have a hard time getting out each morning. We are so close to all the wonderful restaurants and alleys full of food, clothing and treasure sellers, it is a treat to shop and then slide down the alley to our hotels. The print breakfast includes the best coffee we have found yet in Italy and te most scrumptious goodies. Fresh lemon pound cake, orange chocolate pound cake, yogurt, cereal, ham, sausage rolls and fresh fruit. We want to stay longer to enjoy this wonderful city and this fabulous hotel. Even the bathroom is luxurious with a marble bath and beautiful fittings. Before and after dinner, we open our windows overlooking the cathedral and sea and listen to all the wonderful going ones with enjoying the breeze. This hotel has it all!

Room Tip: We are staying in the Hilarity room overlooking the cathedral. We chose the middle of the price rang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we booked the junior suite on 7th July 2013, for our trip in September, a week before our trip we got informed by email that they had only just found that they had double booked that room after 2 months !!! so put us into another room called (hilarity) which was ok, it had a little balcony which faced the sea so that was fine. the next day we was going to another room in the same hotel which was planned by us which was a superior double room. they said they would transfer our cases to our room once it was (cleaned) so we went down stairs for breakfast, we was taken to the ground floor which is totally different from the photos on there web. see photos, breakfast was basic. we went to our new room (joy) and there was black hairs on the floor around and in the toilet and port hole window by the bath, we wiped the floor with a damp tissue and showed the dirt a hairs to the owner, the owner said she would get it cleaned again, and had a go at the cleaner in front of us (not very professional) when we went back the hairs were still in the port hole window and one on the rim of the toilet we left and could not pay or see anyone as they had closed the hotel at 3.30 pm that day so we left a note and keys. also when we asked why the French doors have NO HANDLES, and on her web site it says about the balcony, the owner paola savarese, said to us (well I did not say they opened) I said to her what if there`s a fire and we cant get out ? she said (well I suppose I will have to take the blame) bit late when your dead. she has refunded the 2 nights booked although we told her we was happy to pay for our first night. the hotel looks grand and is when you walk round it, what went wrong it has so many really good reviews, we was in to minds to write our one as the reviews are so good, lets hope her cleaner gets more help. this is the email she sent us which is fine every one is allowed there own opinion. this is not to put anyone off this hotel its just to make them aware of our experience we went through on our stay here. I hope they take a few pointers from this review, so maybe no-one else has to move hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaolaSavarerese, Proprietario at Palazzo Marziale, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
There are bad people and insatiable , that they can not even enjoy their vacation and unfortunately you have proven to be such. Anything I said or did, your frustration was such that nothing would change your mind : the hostility was palpable from the moment of check in , as well as your bad faith.
The breakfast table that you photographed is only one of the three available each morning , why?
When you have complained that the bathroom was not properly cleaned you have claimed only two hairs on the floor , they actually were , and I apologized a thousand times for this and immediately sent the maid to reclean the bathroom and checking personally ... and there was never any hair on the toilet nor have you done with me word , so I think that picture is the result of your wickedness .
As for the balcony , I just said that our superior rooms are described on our website and on all portals like rooms with window and no balcony so you had no reason to complain about this and you never talked about ways of escape in case of fire or dead , this thing seems to me , however, also in bad taste. On the door of each room is hung the escape plan in case of fire and it is not a thrown off the balcony that could save you!
Finally, you run away leaving a horrible message in the guest book (which I did not cancel, as I have nothing to hide) and when I tried to charge the first night, the credit card , of course , did not give permission, so nothing has been charged nor have you ever felt the need to respond to my email .
Also, I'd be curious to know why you have taken care to photograph everything but not the beautiful tray that I had sent in your room with a bottle of red wine, canapee and flowers accompanied by a note asking you to please accept my apologies , you should be ashamed of being so liars.
As I said in that message , I do not accept this defamatory action and I have already instructed my lawyer to follow this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Marziale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marziale

Address: Piazza F.S. Gargiulo, 2, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marziale 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Marziale is an historical building located just in the heart of Sorrento.Just a step from the public gardens, the lift to the port and beach and the San Francesco's Cloister.Is actually runned by owners who care for it like a "family juwel" and will make you feel like at home.This year the five very spacious rooms have been completely renovated and two restaurant will be available for our guests: the terrace restaurant, open from April to the end of October and a lounge bar/restaurant open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Palazzo Marziale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marziale Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Marziale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.