We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel De La Ville

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel De La Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rota, 15, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Monaghan, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited Sorrento for five days in May with my mother and daughter. The hotel was very central, short walk to nearby restaurants and shops. The hotel was spotless, we had a lovely room looking out on the gardens, with lots of orange and lemon trees. We were very pleased with our choice of hotel. There was a roof top pool which had lovely views, sun loungers and a little bar, and there was another pool in a little shaded area. There was a wonderful breakfast each morning, all sorts of meats, breads, yogurts, bacon, eggs, a very wide selection of all sorts. The reception staff were helpful, giving us advice on planning our trips to Capri, Amalfi Coast and Pompeii, with train and bus timetables. Just one thing to note if you to visit Sorrento, the bus trip to Amalfi coast is not for the faint hearted, we got return tickets but came back by boat (less scary), but definitely do visit this beautiful place.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,100
    260
    81
    20
    10
See reviews for
300
824
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After selecting this hotel from Thomson Travel I was, as always, a little apprehensive about what we would actually get. Fear not. This is without doubt a beautiful hotel. We were given a top floor corner room overlooking the bay of Naples (from the balcony) which was actually better than a front facing room on the top floor as the balcony of these rooms are overlooked from the roof terrace along with the inevitable noise of the rooftop swimming pool. The room itself was clean, very nice with traditional inlaid wood furniture, and a good size bathroom. My only gripe of the whole holiday, was the air conditioning unit was a bit noisy, and I thought at first there was a noisy diesel truck on the road below. But after contacting reception, they fixed it by the time we got back from a day out. Food from the restaurant was first class, and made that much better by the fabulous Enzo and his great team. The courtyard garden was lovely, restful and quite, with pagodas covered with lemon. We preferred to have lunch here rather than in Sorrento.

You can walk into Sorrento within a few minutes along the main road, but after discovering it the second day, we always walked through the lemon grove whose gates are at the end of the road turning left from the hotel.

Would I recommend? Absolutely.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, then the top floor will be the best. However, a word of warning. The roofto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here over christmas with my wife and daughters.The location was perfect.The front desk staff was very accomodating and friendly.Marco was very helpful with directions.The roof-top swimming pool was great.The wine selection was wonderful,as well as,the food and service.Our server Luciana was exceptional.This is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a well placed hotel for the centre of Sorrento and is also within close proximity to the train station for those trips to Pompeii / herculaneum etc.. and not far from the port for that must-do trip to Capri. The staff are friendly and helpful, there was a good selection of food available and the room we stayed in was large and well maintained with a magnificent view of Vesuvius. Thoroughly enjoyable stay at a fabulous place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here last Easter and had a fantastic time. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and there were staff on hand to greet us and show us to our room. Everyone was very friendly, helpful and accommodating and made you feel very special. We had a room with a view of Vesuvius and Naples and all for just 17p extra per night! We also ate in the main hotel restaurant on our last night and the food and wine were delicious. We would definitely stay here again and happily recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose this place because it had decent sized rooms with balconies, a roof-top swimming pool, views over the bay and was close to Sorrento centre without risking being too noisy. We weren't disappointed.
Driving there from Naples was an adventure (driving anywhere in Italy is an adventure) but the Nokia maps got us there and we dumped the car outside and went in to reception. very friendly staff inc the porter who parked the car in the underground park.
Good room for the money (mid-priced double with balcony & sea view). we had a bottle of champers and gazed over the lemon groves to the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.
Breakfast was always good in the vine clad courtyard (you can eat inside if you want) with very friendly and professional service.
We spent most days either exploring the town (10 min walk) or the Almalfi coast (short drive). Typically we'd then spend some time in/by the pool (no kids!) then head into town for dinner - plenty of good restaurants.
We had no problems at all with the hotel and would be very happy to stay there again.
Definately recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies, the ones in the front have good views and plenty of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is in two parts:

1/ Hotel De La Ville :
We had a wonderful week here, food was lovely and the staff most helpful. Central location great as could walk to the train station with the children and travel to Pompeii and Herculaneum without needing to book excursions. We all loved it.

2/ Thomson : The website was deceptive and we paid luggage charges in error. They refused to refund these for no good reason. The one excursion we booked with them was a disaster. They did not pick us up and when we called them the agent sent us on another excursion - which we abandoned when we found out they were trying to put us on the wrong boat. I advise avoiding Thomson altogether and booking instead directly with the hotel, Expedia or similar. It was easy to organise excursions and boat trips ourselves with the advice of hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville

Address: Via Rota, 15, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming and refined four-star hotel in the splendid city of Sorrento a warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambiance with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel De La Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.