We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorrento from the hilltop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fiorita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fiorita to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fiorita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde, 96, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Kew
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sorrento from the hilltop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Situated hi above Sorrento this hotel is a real find for anybody with a Car and GPS. Parking is a problem but the hotel staff will park and fetch the vehicle for you, so plan a 20 minute escape route ahead of time. The breath-taking view and the surroundings make it all worth while. The family suite we had was fine with two small ensuite bathrooms a lovely queen size bed and expansive balcony openning to a wonderful vista of the bay of Sorrento and Naples and Vesuvius in the distance. The other room had a bunk so be prepared for a squabble over who get the bottom bunk. The rooms are small with not much space for large suitcases, but the views make up for it.
If you aren't a confident driver in Italy it may be a bit daunting going up the winding roads, but then driving the Ámalfi coast was my dream. Doing it at night even more fun!, but not for the faint hearted.
The service at the hotel was efficient and business like. This might seem a trifle stiff and unfriendly, however we always found the hosts provided whatever we needed. The food in the hotel restaurant was always up to standard which was convenient given the hotel is way out of town. The View from the restaurant windows captivating on a clear summers evening.
The swimming pool is not heated, so be prepared for a brisk dip to set your teeth chattering, but so refreshing after the heat . Unfortunaltely the view is often spoilt by the smoke of the numberous smal fires the landholders light ot burn off garden rubbish.
IF you can find accommodation in Positano, Amalfi, Ravello then chose that rather than Sorrento. The township has become spoit with traffic and it's next to impossible to escape it. IF you cannot then this is a fine alternative. Beware of the Bus service, it runs, but is frequently overcrowded and you must be careful to spot which number bus you get on to return, as many of the routes pass thru the same location, but on a circular trip. You might find yourself taking the trip the Loonnnnggggg way around.

  • Liked — self contained and wonderful outlook, reasonable restaurant, included breakfast, pool and aircon
  • Disliked — the mountain road, a long way from town, the bus service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    113
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
51
127
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

This hotel was a true gem run by the loveliest people you’ll ever meet. However, be prepared for lengthy commutes to and from downtown Sorrento if you do not have a car.

Villa Fiorita has a lot to offer – quiet surrounding, astonishing views, excellent food, pool and the most wonderful staff. The only downfall is the lengthy and tiresome commute to and from Sorrento’s downtown. After the initial excitement from the scenic bus ride up the mountain wears off, the commute becomes a tiresome ordeal. Unfortunately, the buses to and from the hotel are not very frequent and by the time the bus reaches Villa Fiorita from the neighboring village of Saint Agatha, it is often packed full, so you have to stand if you can get on at all. The air conditioners did not work on a single bus we took. The commute down to Sorrento’s downtown is around 30 minutes and involves a rather scary drive down the narrow mountain road.

Even more difficult it is for the unprepared tourists to discern which of the many buses leaving the Sorrento train station will take them to the hotel. The hotel staff has given me very useful instructions on how to reach them. Buy the 1 euro bus tickets in the newspaper shop right outside of the train station. You need to stamp one ticket per person as you board the bus. The buses aren't numbered, only the destination is shown. Look for the following destinations: SANT'AGATA VIA NASTRO VERDE or NERANO VIA NASTRO VERDE or any destination with VIA NASTRO VERDE or VIA PRIORA. For good measure ask the driver whether the bus stops at Villa Fiorita. Normally they would remember your question and stop the bus in front of the hotel, but you should sit close to the driver the first time you make this trip and maybe remind them of where you need them to stop. Unfortunately the drivers do not speak a word of English, so the confused tourists are a very familiar site at the train station.

Keep in mind that in the evening (ask the front desk for exact bus schedule), the bus leaves from BEHIND the train station and not in front of it as it does during the day.

On the positive side, the hotel was absolutely lovely and charming! Our room had the most fantastic view and was very cozy. Unfortunately the sewage smell from the bathroom drain was quite strong, so we placed a wet towel over it, which helped a lot. When booking, try and reserve a room with the ocean view – it is truly worth it!

We stayed in Villa Fiorita in May, and although it got quite hot, the pool never warmed through and it was almost impossible to get in since the water was so cold.

The hotel offers dinner service in the evenings and although we did eat in Sorrento once on the front desk’s recommendation, after we tried the hotel food we decided not to eat in the city again. This allowed us to relax and enjoy our meal without having to worry about missing the bus back to the hotel and having to endure the 20-30 minute commute in a stuffy bus. The meals were affordable and delicious.

The breakfast in this hotel is spectacular! They offer it all – fruit, yogurt, cheese, ham, variety of breads, delicious pastry, milk, cereal, jam and chocolate/hazelnut spread, juice, coffee and tea. This is the best european breakfast we had during the entire trip. Come down for breakfast early and you might score the table by the window and enjoy the view during your meal.

Overall, the good in this hotel so far outweighed the bad for us (namely, commute – nothing against the hotel itself) that we would definitely recommend anyone to stay here. Very friendly atmosphere of this family-run hotel is sure to please any traveler. The views alone make this a definite winner in our opinion. We’ll definitely stay here again if we ever found ourselves in Sorrento again and will recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Clean and cozy rooms, the views, the staff, the food
  • Disliked — The commute
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Excellent views, very helpful staff, good links by bus to Amalfi coast and Sorrento. Family run and comfortable ambience. Excellent pool and sun veranda. Good food, generally small scale nice hotel. friendly, quiet and relaxing but with easy links to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius and Capri (If you really want to go there - we found the island a bit boring!) Good local village for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

When we first booked we were a bit sceptical because it was so reasonably priced (about £200 per person for the week)
But after the other good reviews, we remained optimist. And we were not disappointed!

It was quite high above the main town of sorrento, but this meant that the views were incredible from most parts of the hotel. It is only a small hotel, but found that because of this, you got to know the staff and most of the guests in the hotel, which totally added to the friendly atmosphere.

The pool was lovely, not huge, but extremely clean and well looked after. There is a little snack bar too, and the lady there is very sweet.
The prices in the hotel are brilliant, 2 euros for beer, soft drinks, tea, coffee and water etc, much cheaper than in sorrento.

we ate in the hotel a couple of evenings, but as many meat dishes were pork, us women were a bit stuck for choice. the meals we did have though, were lovely- about 80 euros for the 4 of us for 2-3 courses and drinks.

There is a superb restaurant at the bottom of the hill where the mad junction is, that serves amazing steaks, chicken etc still for about 80-90 euro's for 4 people.

a lot of people caught the bus from the hotel to various places but we were in the car so did not venture out this way. it seemed fairly cheap and cheerful though.

Overall, a truly relaxing experience, and after 4 days in Rome, this was absolute heaven!
We will definitely be visiting this hotel again.

  • Liked — Pool area, views, staff and atmosphere.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

It was further away from all the action of Sorrento but it was quiet and worth the view. The buses were always on time. It was clean
and I would recommend it for a family as well.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

very good family run hotel. cant be faulted in anyway at the price paid.

paid 82 euros a night (90 euros minus 4% DISCOUNT FOR BOOKING THROUGH VENERE.COM 4% discount code minus 5% discount if you pay in cash at the hotel)

very clean, nice pool,great views over sorrento. breakfast is good. the brother who works on reception is very helpful.

the hotel is about 5km outside Sorrento but the bus service is very good and the stop is outside the hotel.

food in restaurant is very good. not a lot to do in the evenings around the hotel - best to go into sorrento.

  • Liked — views of sorrento
  • Disliked — not a lot to do at night but sorrentotown just a 10 minute bus ride away and buses run back to the hotel till midnight
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansepolcro italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

Hotel staff were sweet except for the restaurant gentleman one morning who would not let my son have a quick breakfast at 0720 for a departing excursion at 0730. Breakfast was 0730, breakfast was cold continental so no harm would have been done grabbing a quick orange juice , roll etc- after all it was laid out ready at 0720. The rest of the staff were brilliant and made the stay most enjoyable, they could not help enough.
Beware of the new bus tickets to get you into town, the local authority have put them up from 1€ to 5€- quite an increase , no wonder the owners are up in arms, it will effect them. Rooms are on the small side but clean and tidy, patio, pool, bar available, we ate in the restuarant and the food was first class and reasonable priced. Parking is not permitted outside the building but the owner deals with this problem by bringing your car to you when you want it.
Overall nice family run hotel .

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — unfriendly restaurant person
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fiorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fiorita

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 96, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#43 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fiorita 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fiorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiorita Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fiorita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.