We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the BW tag” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo 118, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't be put off by the BW tag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I booked this Hotel for 4 nights based on the TA reviews and I couldn't be happier. Upon arriving from the Stazione via an over priced Taxi (30e for a 10min spin is atrocious). The Hotel staff welcomed us armly and we were greeted by amazing views of Bay of Naples/Vesuvius and a very large open airy reception area. Our room on the 2nd floor was massive but the view wasn't great as we could only see the corner of the pool and no view of the sea. However it was spotlessly clean. We didn't spend a lot of time there to be honest.

The breakfast was excellent, a super spread of continental breakfast including scrambled eggs/bacon/mushrooms or sautéed potatoes. It set us up nicely for the day. We never had dinner there so I cannot comment on this. There is a gala dinner every Sunday night but it wasn't our scene. The clientele of the hotel is mainly elderly couples so the nightlife is fairly sedate. Also the decor is a bit dated but you get over that as it has a bit of charm.

The shuttle bus is so handy, however the latest bus home is 11:15. You'd be advised to get this as you could not walk to the hotel and the taxi fare is disgraceful. The pool is without doubt the highlight of the hotel 23m x 13m and as clean as I've ever seen. I wish I spent more time in Sorrento for this pool alone! All in all we loved our 4 nights here in La Solara. All the staff were very friendly from reception to bar staff to bus driver.

Room Tip: Room 202 doesn't have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your impressions about our hotel and our staff.
Sorry that you took a taxi upon arrival and not our bus departing 300 mt. from the train station. Our fault perhaps is that we do not put it in plain view on the description.
In the hope to have you with us again in the near future, please, for a better view reserve a room with pool or garden or sea view
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,081
    154
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
293
795
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Planning our trip to Italy I fell upon this hotel what a wonderful choice I made for our family. It is a outstanding hotel. Travelling with 6 people we finally got to have our own rooms for a week that was great. The rates were not bad at all. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. The views from our rooms were breathtaking. They have a shuttle that takes you to the center of Sorrento and the schedule for the shuttle has many times which was great. Their pool is awesome and we spent many hours there. The restaurant was superb. All in all we were very happy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your impressions and we are very proud for our staff..
By your next visit for a nice walk to the center of Sorrento we suggest to take our bus for 500/600 meters from the hotel and get off where the pavement begins to enjoy the Vesuvius and the Sorrento coast.
Please be assured that we will try to do more on your next visit which we hope will be soon.
A warm greeting from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

La Solara is the most friendly hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff could not do enough for us and all of them - from cleaner to manager- greeted us on every occasion with genuine warmth. The food was plentiful, tasteful and well-presented, with plenty of choice. The provision of a free hourly coach to Sorrento town overcame any possible drawback from the dangerous road below the hotel. If you can get it, a room with a sea view would be nice, but all the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view would be nice, if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your impressions and we are very proud that the work of our staff is well appreciated by our guests..
By your next visit for a nice walk to the center of Sorrento we suggest to take our bus for 500/600 meters from the hotel and get off where the pavement begins to enjoy the Vesuvius and the Sorrento coast.
Please be assured that we will try to do more on your next visit which we hope will be soon.
A warm greeting from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at La Solara and were not disappointed. We had half board at this hotel and our breakfast and dinners were excellent. The breakfast is self-service and there is a wide range of food to choose from. They do not have full English breakfasts but scrambled egg and bacon were on offer every morning. The dinner menu was always very varied and the portions are very generous so you will leave dinner feeling stuffed! The hotel staff were fantastic, all were very friendly and always said hello. If you needed anything the reception staff were always happy to help and nothing was too much trouble. All aspects of the hotel (rooms, bar, reception area, restaurant and swimming pool) were clean and tidy. I could honestly not fault this hotel, i'm very surprised La Solara hasn't been awarded a 5 star rating as it really is a pleasant and exceptional place to stay. My only grumble is that the hotel is a bit further out from Sorrento than we had hoped and we were not able, as keen walkers, to walk into Sorrento ourselves as it is all main roads and too dangerous with the Italian drivers! However La Solara do provide a free shuttle bus service which was excellent and is a very efficient service running early into Sorrento until late. I would definitely recommend La Solara as a place to stay if you are thinking of having a holiday in Sorrento.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice words you had in the confrontation of our staff and of our hotel. Once we have a chance to get you back with us if you want to take a nice walk we suggest to take our bus for 500/600 meters from the hotel and get off where the pavement begins to enjoy the Vesuvius and the Sorrento coast. By your next visit, please, let us know if your mattress is too hard or too soft I know That we can change and make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerculesWeymouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth consecutive year at this wonderful hotel (31st - 14th May/June) and are in the process of booking for next year, so as you can tell, we are absolutely delighted with all aspects for this gem of a hotel. Everything about La Solara is totally to our liking. All the staff are brilliant, from your initial welcome at reception, to Marcello and the waiters in the restaurant, Angelo and Pepe in the bar, Antonio at the pool and everybody I have not mentioned are completely absorbed in ensuring you enjoy your stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is excellent, typical Italian with local dishes. The shuttle bus is brilliant, it allows you the peace and quiet of being just outside Sorrento, but within easy commuting when you want to sample the delights of the town. We had a room on the 3rd floor (310) with wonderful views over the bay of Naples. We would recommend this hotel for couples as it is not really suited for children. The entertainment of Lello & Carlo three times a week is a really good musical evening with songs performed in Italian and English a very professional Duo. We can not rate this hotel highly enough. Having stayed in the hustle and bustle of other hotels around the world in countries providing 'a full English breakfasts' and serving 'British beer' this is a very welcomed change, hence our regular return.and look forward to seeing all the staff next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear "LA SOLARA" friends,
We must thank you for your wonderful review and for us is an honor to read it.
Without your suggestions we will not definitely be your hotel.
Our desire is always to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible.
We send you our best wishes and we look forward to have you with us again next year.
Ugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just stayed at La Solara for the first time and we will certainly return. The staff are tremendous - helpful, exceptionally good humoured and are a large part of what makes this hotel such a joy to stay at. The food had a reputation for being good and didn't disappoint. Drinks were very reasonably priced for a 4 star hotel with wine available from 12 euros a bottle and almost everything else from the bar (or room mini bar) being charged at 4 euros, be it sherry, malt whisky, quality branded brandies or beer. The view doesn't quite extend round to Vesuvius rising above Naples, but it still takes in the end of the Bay of Naples and Capri.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice words you had in the confrontation of our staff and of our hotel.
Looking forward to seeing in the near future (2014?),please, let us know if your mattress is too hard or too soft so that we can change and make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotel after reading the numerous positive comments from others, I was not disappointed.
I pre-booked a sea view room, this was money well spent as we were allocated a room with a large balcony (sea view).
The hotel and pool are spotless, the staff friendly and professional.
If I had to choose a highlight of the holiday it would be the food in the restaurant, it was always tasteful, plentiful and well presented, served by waiters who do care what you think and go out of their way to make the dining experience special.
The hotel is a couple of miles out of the centre of Sorrento and there are no pavements for the last mile making it very dangerous to try and walk, that said the hotel provide a courtesy bus every hour from 8am until 11pm, always punctual so there is no need to walk (taxi,s are very expensive).
It is difficult to think of an improvement for the hotel but from my own point of view, I would suggest 2 small bottles of water placed in the room on a daily basis and sun beds on the larger balcony's.
Whilst at the hotel, I travelled to Capri, Herculanium and Pompei under my own steam, the boat and train are easy to use, timetables can be picked up from the tourist information office or hotel.
The only organised trip that I booked was the Amalfi drive, this because the roads are winding, the drivers mad and I wanted a commentary along the way, I booked this via the reception at the La Solara hotel.
NOTE. Make sure that the coach will pick you up at the hotel, complete the excursion and then drop you back at he hotel. My own experience was somewhat different. I assumed that the coach would pick me up at the hotel, it did not, I was picked up by a car and taken to a coach park in the centre of Sorrento, the driver of the car said that a coach would arrive soon. The information on my hotel booking form did not stipulate which coach company I was to travel with, other people at the coach park were the same, this resulted in a rush towards the coaches as they came in, forget the orderly queues. We only found out who we were traveling with by asking one of the coach guides to ring a central office (it appears all tours are booked through amphora travel) and then allocated to different coach companies, she was able to get the information.
The whole experience was very stressful although once on the coach we enjoyed the trip (sit on the right hand side of the coach).
I have fed this experience back to the reception staff at La Solara, I hope that they take note.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice words had in the confrontation of our staff and of our hotel. Sorry for what happened by the excursion and we have already complained to the agency of the excursion and definitely will not happen again.
Once we have a chance to get you back with us if you want to take a nice walk we suggest to take our bus for 500/600 meters from the hotel and get off where the pavement begins to enjoy the Vesuvius and the Sorrento coast.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.