We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Flora to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Flora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 248 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent two weeks in this hotel the food was great and the service and staff were fab the room was big but next to traffic all day and night the rep was rubbish it,s quieter at the back of
the hotel make sure you book a pool view before you go because they charge you a lot

Room Tip: Book a room next to the pool with a view it,s quieter then the front no view at the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    230
    132
    75
    47
See reviews for
143
298
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in the grand flora. First impressions in the hotel lobby were very good but thats where it all ends. Were given the card to a room on the 4th floor but when we had taken all our luggage upstairs we found the cleaner still in the room and the bed stripped. So we had to leave our luggage in the hallway and wait in the lobby for half an hour while the room was cleaned. When we finally got into our room we were greeted by a view of a 24 hour petrol station and a main road but after 36 hours without sleep we were grateful for anything. Went up for the evening meal to be offered a choice of meatballs or sea bream both with sloppy mash potato,both of which were terrible! Needless to say this was the first and last evening meal we had in the hotel. Were woken at 5am the following morning by the sound of what could only be described as a stampede from the restaurant on the floor above,tables and chairs being dragged across our bedroom ceiling!
Breakfast consisted of stale bread rolls and jams,but we were offered an egg and one rind of fatty bacon. The plus side were the views from the restaurant
Sorrento itself is a very nice picturesque place especially when you get to the Piazza Tasso area and its surrounding streets although we had torrential rain for the 4 days we were there. Anyone with a sweet tooth should definately visit the gelateria primavera in sorrento for the best ice cream i have ever had!
Would definately travel to Sorrento again but would definately stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, demand a room on the pool side of the hotel and not on the 4th floor. Eat out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A very nice hotel with very helpful staff, the rooms are not as spacious as most of the hotels we have been in but they are clean, comfortable and good value for the money. The bar staff, especially Pasquale, are polite, friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them.The Flora is ideally situated, just a few minutes walk and you are in the hub of the exciting town, theres plenty of choice to dine out with price ranges to suit all budgets. We will be returning for a longer stay as we were there for only 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My sister and I have stayed at this hotel four times and we absolutely love it. The staff are fantastic and the food excellent . We've stayed at many hotels in Sorrent and other parts of Italy and I can honestly say I'm shocked at some of these reviews. We prefer a room at the front and OK you are overlooking a petrol station but why focus on that and not the hills above!! The rooms are spacious and spotless, certainly no complaints. We love sittting on the balconey with a glass of wine watching the world go by including the endless scooters which other reviewers seem to find annoying, your are in Italy!!!. Franco and his team of waiters are so helpful, funny and friendly and we couldn't fault any of the meals or the price of drinks. Sorrento is a wonderful place. Keep an open mind and enjoy the wonderful Italian culture.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

just got back from hotel flora in sorrento lovely hotel food was excellent rooms cleaned daily all drinks go on tab till end of your holiday but are very cheap staff were very polite and helpfull make sure you book a room with a balcony over looking pool great holiday

Room Tip: book room with balcony over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

what a disappointment our recent stay in Flora proved to be. This was our 3rd visit to this hotel and during our stay the hotel was PACKED with hundreds of school parties, running and screaming along the corridors into the night. The food quality and quantity had deteriorated since last Summer with only 2 choices per course and often no vegetarian option. The one saving grace was the staff in the dining room who were charming and helpful. This can no longer be considered a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: choose a Vesuvius facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My wife and I booked and travelled with Thomson, who certainly should have known better, than to rate this hotel four star.
The first evening of our stay we came down from the 5th floor restaurant,[ lovely views over the Bay of Naples], to find that we couldn't enjoy an after dinner drink in the comfortable lounge, because the Manager had cordoned it off, to hold a party for his own private guests. But we were allowed if we must to have drinks at the poolside bar, really a cold brick shed by any other name.
Parking is at a premium, so the Flora will charge 15 euros a night to park a small hire car, also they will charge 30 euros to sit by the pool for a couple of hours [recorded in the comments book by an earlier 'guest']
OK, the bedrooms are small, the bathrooms are clean, and the chambermaids are very efficient, but once again let down by management, the wrought iron headboards [very Habitat] are not fastened to the bases, but just wedged between the bed and the wall,so every time you or your next door neighbours turn over in the night everything rattles. After the first night you all try to move in sequence, but it never seemed to be a success, different sleep patterns I suppose.
In my experience of The Flora Hotel they should decide which market they are aiming for, school parties, families, older couples it's certainly not big enough to do the lot. Or maybe they're happy just looking after the managers own friends, one thing is for sure we won't be troubling him again, and probably not Thomsons as well.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the front, main road and railway, must be quieter. Although the main source of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Corso Italia 248 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Flora Sorrento
Hotel Flora Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.