We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place for few days.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nice
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 257, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
ross on wye England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ok place for few days.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel is a near the train and bus stations which is great when you have just come back from a long day out. Rooms are quieter on the back. Shower is small but OK. Wallpaper is peeling from the wall. Great roof terrace to watch the world go by. We watched floods one day, student demo the next and then one of the Palm Trees blue over. Very central, we found it clean and tidy and very helpful staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    95
    48
    12
    11
See reviews for
16
90
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was basic, but clean, comfortable and centrally located in Sorrento. Staff were friendly enough, and check-in/out were a breeze. Security was a bit of an issue. The hotel insists that you leave your room key behind the front desk when you go out. However, there's no security in place to ensure it is only given to back you. The staff do not ask your name, for ID or anything. This may be cause for concern, particularly if you have valuables in your room.
Good value overall, save for security concern.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Given the meaning of the word in English we found the name of the hotel quite ironic. As we did the numerous "no smoking" posters around the hotel. We arrived to a surly female receptionist who may have had a language barrier with us, however made no efforts whatsoever to make us feel welcome. Then we went to our room which reeked of cigarette smoke. We chose to stay out as much as possible and move on ASAP. The breakfast was also poor.. If you can't drink coffee in Italy there is a problem. Meanwhile we discovered a nice guy on the reception later. It's a shame we didn't have him greet us upon arrival... I suspect our experience would have been a bit different!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The overall experience was pleasant. It is not a four or three star hotel, so please do not expect much of anything. The room is the tiniest I have had so far for two people. It was late September and chilly, so one blanket in a room was not sufficient. Front desk had one extra so they were able to accommodate us. Everything was old, the wallpaper was peeling, a little worn out. The bathroom was tiny, and the shower was not easier to maneuver. I am an average build female (5”7), and had to uncomfortably touch the shower walls…there were no shelves to put a soap or shampoo, but the hotel did supply them. The breakfast was plain: butter/jam, cereal, bread, croissants, juices and coffee machine. It was included in the price, which helped a lot, but don't expect a warm welcome. The older "breakfast" lady did not look like she liked people. If you are not picky, you will be satisfied and filled. We were on floor #4, and our room was next to the roof terrace, which was nice. You can spend evenings there and enjoy the beauty of the city. Regarding the location: it is located a block from the bus/train station and in a middle of everything including a busy interaction. We heard nothing and slept like babies. There was no noise from the street (our room faced backyard). Just once we were startled by fireworks and people walking down the stairs in the hallway. This was the best option for us, and we did not have to walk more than 5-10 minutes from either the station or the port or any other needed location (supermarket, clothing, pharmacy…). You cannot beat the price. Pictures will follow shortly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. It's a good, basic, clean hotel, no thrills, but a good location. Our room looked out over the street and it was a bit noisy but at 7:30pm, the local police make the road a pedestrian only road, so at night, it is not so noisy. There is a lovely terrace available for guests with large comfortable chairs to relax in. We brought in our own wine and some snacks and enjoyed the view of the buildings and surrounding hills. Breakfast is basic but you can buy cheap fruit, yogurt, etc at the grocery store next door if you need to supplement. The people working at the front desk were always friendly and greeted us each time we walked in. The air conditioner worked great and we used it each night as it was a little warm and humid outside. This hotel is also 2 minutes walk to the train station which we found very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just spent four night in this hotel and although it has a great central location it is very noisy at night, (although that is something that staff have no control over,) but if you like peace and quiet this is not the place for you.The hotel itself could do with quite a bit of upgrading and more attention to housekeeping. Bathroom would benefit from a good clean and larger shower it was almost impossible to turn around, there nowhere within the cubicle to put toiletries and because it was so slow to drain everything was floating around. Breakfast is only served between 8 and 9:30 so on our first morning we went for a walk first as we were up much earlier and when we returned at 9 we were abruptly told there was nothing left as were the two ladies who came in just behind us.I think the female working in the breakfast room needs to be reminded that she actually has a job in hospitality.

Room Tip: I believe rooms at the back are quieter but have no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Basic hotel with easy access to buses and train station, as well as to the town centre, with a lot of shops, coffee shops and restaurants around. The room with spacious and clean and the air conditioning was functioning properly. Breakfast was included in the price but it can be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nice

Address: Corso Italia 257, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nice 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.