We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Nice
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 257, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Has everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a basic hotel, has everything you need for your stay. Breakfast is a standard continental although every morning the coffee machine had no coffee. Our room was on the main street side and was really noisy during the night due to all the scooter traffic. All in all it is good value and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Not a room overlooking the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    106
    50
    12
    11
See reviews for
17
99
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel Nice is a fantastic budget hotel based right in the heart of Sorrento. It is literally a two minute walk from the train and bus stations and there are numerous shops, bars, cafes and restaurants right on your doorstep. It takes about five minutes to walk to Sorrento square. The hotel itself is not fancy, but perfect for anyone wanting to discover this fascinating part of Italy. The hotel has all you need, air conditioning, TV, hair dryer, etc, and is very clean. Our room even had a balcony. The breakfast is simple, but perfectly acceptable and overall, I don't think there is a better hotel in Sorrento for this price. Highly recommended and we'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and the staff will try to accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here in July and i was nothing but pleased! The main thing about this place is the great location, it is walking distance from the train and bus stations which was really convenient. It's also minutes away from the main square, where all the restaurants, stores and small coffee shops are all located. The place was clean, the staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. The WiFi reception worked great so it was easy to keep in touch with family and friends. I would definitely recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It can get a bit noisy in the mornings with the housekeeping and other staff working so maybe bringi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was so happy I chose this hotel. It's nothing fancy but has all the necessities, TV, comfortable beds, shower, hair dryer, and some come with a balcony.

What makes this hotel great is it location; it's less than 5 minutes from the main square Piazza Tasso and is surrounded by all kinds of coffee shops, stores, restaurant etc. In addition the main bus station for buses to the Amalfi Coast and the train station are two mins away from the hotel. Everything you need including bank, pharmacy, stores, can be found within minutes’ walk from the hotel.

The breakfast is basic but included in the price; they had croissants, toast, jam, nutella, yogurt etc. There is a great coffee shop next door that has divine sweets and great coffee, and many restaurants and bars around the hotel.

The street nose is high and I recommend taking ear plugs if you are a light-sleeper.
The staff was very friendly and recommended many restaurants and bars that we really liked.
I would stay in this hotel if I go back to Sorrento and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the room away from the street if you are sensitive to noise, the city doesn't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

In terms of location you cannot get better. It is just off the main drag (Tasso Sq). We had a 2nd floor room with a balcony.

The hotel was clean, the staff were lovely and the aircon worked well.

If you are planning a lively trip to Sorrento then this would be an ideal location. We ate out every night and then came back to the hotel v late after enjoying a few lemoncellos!

The only thing I feel that I have to mention is the breakfast. There was only one morning of our 5 night stay where we tried the breakfast. It is only served from 8 till 9.30. I had one look and walked out again. This to me is not really a big deal as there are so many great places nearby. I would suggest that perhaps they either improve their offering at breakfast or stop it. To be honest for what we paid to stay in this location I wasn't really bothered about it.

The sun terrace was nice too. We enjoyed sitting there before going our for dinner.

There is a supermarket a few doors up - ideal for getting water etc.

I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here in April - our second visit. Once again it was great value for money - clean rooms & so well located for the train, busses & town centre. Reception staff were friendly & helpful, and the roof terrace was lovely to watch the world go by from with a glass of wine. Only downside was that the free wi fi reception was really weak in our room, but good in other places of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Wexford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location and we were delighted to see it when we got off the coach from Naples-no taxi fares! 2 minutes from the coach and train station and a lovely walk down the street to the main square.
We had a room with a balcony overlooking the main street, and contrary to other travellers complaining about the noise, we didn't find it a problem at all. It was great to be able to sit out with a drink and watch the world go by. The rooftop patio with its tables, chairs and sunloungers is also a lovely place to relax.
The rooms are very clean with lots of storage space,and air conditioning. We found the staff at reception to be very friendly and helpful although the dining room staff were miserable looking and never raised a smile!
The breakfast was typical Italian which meant you did not feel at all full-but that tends to be the same all over italy!
Considering this hotel is only classed as 1star, we were very impressed and would definitely recommend it as being excellent value for money

Room Tip: We loved our room at the front with a balcony overlooking the street and with the doors closed we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nice

Address: Corso Italia 257, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nice 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.