We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Califano 22, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Grand Hotel Riviera. We enjoyed our holiday very much and thought the hotel was great. The staff were delightful and very helpful and friendly. The hotel was nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. The food was good with plenty of choice for dinner . The hotel was in a lovely situation with beautiful terraces overlooking the Bay of Naples - a lovely place to sit and take in the views.
We shall certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear nina_porter,
Thank you so much for your glowing review!
Your kindest words describe exactly what the hotel has to offer to the guests and we are extremely grateful to you for that.
We really cannot wait to have the pleasure of having you as our guests again,
kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    114
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
404
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much. A week wasnt long enough.Good location with easy walking distance from Sorrento and harbour. Food and services were amazing. Great view from our room towards the harbour. Unfortunately no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Well worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are so pleased to read that you had a very nice stay with us and we are grateful to you for taking the time to write this lovely review.
We look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera!
Warm regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just back from a great holiday in this hotel. Staff were brilliant they couldn't do enough for you. Our room was perfect very clean. Food was brilliant and a very good choice. Hotel is ideally situated in a quiet area but handy for town. We were sorry to leave would love to go again.

Room Tip: Room 225 has great Sun on the balcony from afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Barbara551801,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us!
We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,
Kind regards from Sorrento,
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excels in all categories but the view and ocean swimming area are truly the bomb! The water is completely clear and so refreshing after a day exploring Sorrento and the surrounding countryside. The breakfast buffet was delicious as well as the dinner choices. Staff knew our names and were very friendly and helpful with making excursion and travel arrangements. Is a bit pricey but I definitely would return. We met a couple that has returned every year for 27 years! That says a lot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Lisa L,
Thank your for writing such lovely words on Tripadvisor!
The hotel management and the whole staff would be really pleased if you decided to visit us again.
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just returned from our honeymoon at The Riviera and it was wonderful! We had a beautiful room with an amazing view! The service from the minute you walk in the door is exceptional. Fantastic breakfast, pool and beach accommodations! We absolutely loved our stay here and highly recommend it to anyone going to Sorrento and is looking for a special hotel stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Brianne D,
Thank you so much for writing such a great rerview!
We are really pleased that your holiday was an unforgettable one and we cannot wait to see you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Grand Riviera - our third such holiday.

The hotel continues to impress - friendly and helpful staff, great food, and a great bathing deck. Breakfast was eaten overlooking the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the distance.

Sorrento itself buzzes - the evening passagiata is a a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear SimonMPrestonUK,
Thank you so much for spending your Sorrento holiday at the Grand Hotel Riviera again.
We are extremely pleased that we managed to make your stay a very pleasant one and we look forward to seeing you soon in the very near future!
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After spending a few days in Rome, our family of 4 (kids 11 and 14) came to this hotel for 5 days. It was still less expensive to book a family room, and the room they gave us (110) was perfect. It was large, and had 2 singe beds for the kids in a very spacious separate area. I highly recommend it, especially if you have older kids and don't want to pay for 2 rooms. The best part was the large terrace with the absolutely stunning views. Every evening, while we were getting ready for dinner, a few of us would take turns sitting out there reading and just enjoying the beautiful sunset or watching the yachts and cruise ships.

I looked at many hotels beforehand and since we don't come to this part of the world very often, I really wanted my kids to have a unique experience. I looked for hotels with bathing platforms and pools. As it turns out, the pool was nice but ice cold, which was surprising for the beginning of September. We wound up at the bathing platform every day, where my kids had so much fun climbing down the ladder into the warm, calm waters every day. Different than the beaches we have back in the states, so it was a bit of an adventure for them. I always felt they were safe.

The service, especially at the front desk and on the bathing platform, was impeccable. Very friendly and always helpful with information and recommendations. The pictures you will see on-line don't do this place justice. The room we had was larger than it appeared on-line, and every inch of this hotel is just so pretty.

We did have a bit of an ant problem in the room at first, but then again, it's native to this area . The front desk was diligent about sending someone up both times we called. We then just opted to buy a can of spray at the local supermarket and sprayed outside along the terrace door and the bathroom window a few more times, and never saw an ant again.

This hotel was a splurge for us, but very well worth it. The crowd was older, and maybe it was because most schools were back in session, but I wouldn't hesitate to come here as a family, in particular with older kids. The walk to town was so easy that we did it every night. We had originally booked the Hilton but I changed my mind after seeing the bathing platform on-line. I'm glad we did because the Hilton was a bit out of the way.

We would certainly come back and would recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: In this location, it is worth splurging for a room with a view. I'm not a big proponent of payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Califano 22, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.