We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Riviera

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Califano 22, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is in a lovely location with excellent views. Both breakfast and dinner were great, good food and decent quantities. The whole place was spotlessly clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the price of drinks, though it was only a short distance to other more reasonably priced bars in the area. Would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    94
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
84
323
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Riviera from the 1st Oct to the 8th whilst we were in Sorrento for our wedding. The hotel is lovely and always kept very clean. We were in room 208 and had a great view of the bay of Naples. We were half board and the food was lovely and always plenty of choice. Fried eggs on toast and bucks fizz for breakfast whilst sitting on the terrace enjoy the views was a fab way to start the day. The waiters were all very friendly, especially Claudio, Gennaro and Michele. The private jetty was a great place to sunbathe and take a dip in the sea. It was only a ten minute walk into the main square which is great as taxis are very expensive. Sorrento is one of the most prettiest places I have ever been to and we are already planning on going back for our first anniversary.

Room Tip: 208 is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, with beautiful views over the Bay of Naples. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are helpful and friendly.

The hotel is only a short walk from the town centre and it has it's own pool and a lift that goes down to the sea

The buffet breakfast is delicious and included in the room price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Grand Hotel Riviera has splendid views and is a superbly presented hotel with a mix of modern & traditional décor. . Although appearing quite elegant we soon felt at ease in such relaxing surroundings and, as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in September, have recommend the hotel to our friends & family.
Our side room was the smallest on our floor but it was spacious, very clean, pleasantly decorated, had a comfortable bed & had all of the expected amenities (full length mirror, good storage space, safe, refrigerator, desk, flat screen TV, balcony & lovely sea view)
We enjoyed the spectacular views whilst having breakfast on the terrace. The terrace was a special place to be in the evening with the backdrop of the garden lit by lights & the wonderful view out to sea. We enjoyed one evening of entertainment & live music on the terrace.
We stayed half board & thought that the vegetable & salad buffet to complement the well presented 3 course evening meal was an excellent idea. There was a varied choice of food and staff were willing to provide alternatives – we only had to ask!
Although the hotel was full there was no problem finding an area to sit & relax during the day and being safe to swim from the private bathing platform in such a lovely bay was ideal.
Another thing that made this hotel stand out was the quality of the service we received from all the staff & the high standards they maintain in the hotel. The staff were always helpful, friendly and professional.
Although it is just a 15 minute stroll into the main the centre of Sorrento it is not a relaxing walk as all the roads in Sorrento are busy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 and I found the hotel to be clean and well laid out. The staff were excellent and the food in the restaurant was of a very good quality. The location is ideal as it is a 10-15 minute walk to the town and is a quieter area. I found the hotel very relaxing with great views over the bay of Naples. The hotel has a nice sunbathing pier although getting to it in the lift can be a bit clastrauphobic and is not for the faint hearted. Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend the Hotel and would definitely revisit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a 7 night stay in this hotel ..... found it very pleasant, with the staff being very professional and accommodating at all times.
We had a junior suite on the top floor (4th) it had 2 separate balconies and plenty of space in the room..... the room had fantastic views on both sides.
We stayed half board .... only because this was the option offered by the tour operator....we found the evening meals really dreadful ...... very lazy cooking for italians that boast creative and fresh food.... in my opinion the evening meals were cooked en mass and were kept warm as they came out too quick to be cooked from fresh..... no matter what dish you had .... you had no option but to have the same vegetables with each dish.... we were served 3 courses with wine well within 40 minutes ....which isnt the way you would like to enjoy an evening meal whilst on holiday......we ate in sorrento for 3 nights at extra cost .... money well spent as you get to experience the atmosphere of sorrento as opposed to the lack of atmosphere in the hotel...... and as i understand better value....... the breakfast buffet is 'just ok' ....as a 4 star hotel i would at least expect an ommelete chef cooking fresh on request.....instead of waterlogged scrambled or cold hard boiled eggs!
i have stayed in some nice hotels and some a lot cheaper than the riviera for a much better experience....on the whole.... the hotel is lovely but the food isnt up to 4 star standard...or even that of local restaurants......we found the cost of a bottle of house wine (fallanghina) well overpriced by about 9-10 euros .... we had lunch in a comparable hotel in the centre of sorrento and they were charging 16 euros for the same wine.... i think the hotel .....for being on the outskirts of sorrento .....is punching well above its station..... i doubt we will stay there again

Room Tip: spend as much as you can afford for a sea view .... as its well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found the hotel to be just as good as the write ups had said about it..very elegant & lovely furnishings through out the Hotel & wonderful panoramic sea views from our balcony it was definitely a good decision to pay the extra for the room we booked which was cool & spacious with the full sea view. The staff were friendly & we had booked half board & enjoyed the restaurant food very much as local the fish was on the menu choice every evening, which i love to have & my husband seemed happy with the meat dishes he chose to order. The lovely big busy Colorful town of Sorrento was only 10-15mins walk from the hotel & was a must for us to walk to late afternoons after relaxing in the sun in the day. There's lots of restaurants if eating out or just to sit & have a drink & watch all that is going on around you. We would go back to this Hotel & Sorrento again.

Room Tip: Full sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Califano 22, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.