We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Belair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo 29, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Excellent hotel located down from street level so very quiet. We paid a bit extra for a room which had a tv / settee area as well as the bedroom. All very spacious with a large bathroom as well (bath and separate shower). Decoration was traditional which we liked. The wine and fruit we ordered via email was ready and waiting with all the trimmings. A great view from the room (see photos) and we watched the sun rise on more than one occasion. Lovely swimming pool. The staff were all very friendly and the food at all times was excellent with plenty of choice. A 10 -15 min walk into Sorrento (our ages 48 - 62) and a little bit longer coming back up hill. Excellent location to do all the visits by train, boat, and bus to Amalfi coast resorts, Pompeii, Vesuvius, Naples, Capri etc. Although we went with Thomson we never went on any of their trips, did it all ourselves - come and go as you want and cheaper. Great night life in Sorrento - lively bars, music, and quieter places to eat and drink. Shopping to late at night and they close off the street to traffic on certain days. We found some lovely walks as well (see photos). Get the 'SunFlower' Sorrento / Amalfi / Capri walking guide - we found many walks on Sorrento and Capri which took us away from the crowds. All in all a lovely 2 week holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    175
    46
    14
    3
See reviews for
106
605
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

My small groups of travelers are offered an extended stay on the Amalfi Coast and the hotel of choice each and every time is the Hotel Belair Sorrento (actually just a 7 minute walk outside of Sorrento on the cliffs). The position of the property is literally on the cliffs overlooking the bay of Venice and Sorrento. Vesuvio is off on the horizon. Truly one of the most pristine locations and views. The quality of the rooms are all consistent and each room boasts a balcony. The restaurant provides a stable breakfast, and good options for lunch and dinner. They really do go all out for dinner with special entertainment and good cuisine. We always eat in Sorrento at various "holes in the wall" and either the hotel or the restaurant we visit will provide the courtesy shuttle.

They have a nice pool again positioned perfectly over the bay.

The staff go the extra mile to provide a smooth check in and out experience and do bend over backwards for you if you have requests.

We base here for all of our exploration on the enchanted Amalfi Coast!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one week, but wished we had booked for more - the staff were soo helpful and the food was fantastic - the rooms were spacious and clean and it was just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento - just so much to see and do.

Would love to return soon

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

I can't believe it has taken me so long to write this review, but even so long after the event I wont ever forget how wonderful The Hotel Belair and its staff were in helping make my marriage proposal to my wife possible!

I wasn't sure if I could find a beautiful hotel with guaranteed views over the romantic bay, but thankfully I found one. I emailed the staff after I booked and they were so helpful in describing the different areas within the hotel that I could use. As soon as we arrived they knew who I was, and were kind enough to offer me a private terrace, which they adorned with lovely flowers and candles to make it even more special. Quite simply, they went above and beyond normal customer service and were desperately keen to help make it as special as possible!

Even if the wonderful staff hadn't been so helpful and accommodating, then I would still be giving this hotel a fantastic review. It has charming interiors, lovely spacious and stylish rooms, and captivating views across the harbour and to Vesuvius. The restaurant is divine and the food & service is, of course, excellent. I have read some reviews saying that it is a long walk up the hill from the town centre, but it is no more than ten minutes and is hardly arduous - and either way, if you are going to stay anywhere in Sorrento, it should really be at the top so you can enjoy the views!

It is truly a wonderful venue in a beautiful location - you could never be disappointed if you stay here. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

After reviewing over 50 hotels in Sorrento using information primarily supplied by Trip Advisor travelers, We booked a seven day stay at the Hotel Belair...We could not have been happier! An absolutely spectacular view of the Bay of Naples from your room, and no traffic noise in spite of being on a very busy road with buses and motor scooters on it 24/7. Two other four star hotels (The Bristol and Minerva) are directly across the street from the Belair and have the traffic noise all to themselves! 50 rooms in the hotel, we had a standard room (#111) and were very pleased with it. You could upgrade to a superior room if you wanted a private balcony just below #111. Very competent, caring staff, good breakfast, and a reasonably priced property. Mark the Belair a winner!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Very nice indeed, with marvellous views from all rooms. Breakfast nice with plenty of choice.

My husband and I travelled with our 15 month old daughter, but that's another story! It meant that we missed out on trying an evening meal, cocktails on the balcony and everything you usually experience on an evening on holiday, so can't comment there. But we will go back when she is 14 and have another try.

As with all of Italy, everything costs a fortune, but I love it anyway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

As plenty of other reviewers have stated the view is awesome. it's almost worth staying here just for the view. We stayed for five nights during our honeymoon in Italy. We stayed in one of the "Junior Suites" and the room was huge. There was a separate bedroom, a couch/seating area, two large armoires, and a large balcony that included a table and chairs, a lounge chair for two and an outdoor jacuzzi. Unfortunately when we were there the weather did not cooperate enough to use the jacuzzi or the hotel pool.
The hotel is clean. The breakfast buffet was good, though mostly cold items, and the pastries were very good. We only ate in the restaurant one night because we had a complimentary dinner with the 3-night 'romantic' package. The food was good and we opted to eat on our balcony. Otherwise we ate in town.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk down a hill into town. And walking back after a long day of sightseeing is a bit tiring but not a big deal. The road is rather busy though and the sidewalk not very wide. Although there is a bus stop that directly across the street from the hotel and tickets are for sale at the hotel front desk.
There is a handy staircase walkway on the cliffside that will take you down to the small marina and some restautants but the stairway is closed/locked after 6pm so you can't use it to return to the hotel.
We did some of the excursions arranged through the hotel, the Amalfi drive, and the day trip to Capri. The Amalfi drive was well worth doing through the hotel. The Capri trip possibly could have been cheaper/better arranged on your own but it was convenient enough through the hotel.
We went to Pompeii and Herculaneum on our own using the Circumvesuviana metro line. And it was very easy and much cheaper than the excursion through the hotel.
Overall if we were to return to Sorrento or this area of Italy again we would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.