We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Minerva Hotel to your Saves list
Minerva Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo, 30, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel was booked on line with Thompson & it exceeded our expectations. Hotel facilities were excellent; the management & staff polite, friendly & very helpful; overall a first class service. We booked half board & the food was as good as you will find in many of the local restaurants. IMO, the hotel location & outlook is one of the best in the Sorrento bay & the views from the restaurant, main & upper pool terraces are stunning, both day & night. Our airport transfer was late arriving & we thought we were too late for dinner but the head waiter quickly ushered us to a table at the front of the terrace & the only comment I could make was "wow"; the night view over Sorrento bay was absolutely stunning!

Be careful which type of room you book as some may not meet expectations, depending on who you book with. I booked what was described as a "standard room" & this turned out to be on the top floor in a converted loft space but this was not made clear on the Thompson web page when I booked. Although the room size & facilities were very good & it overlooked the sea, it only had a small window at floor level. It also got very hot as the air conditioning only works when the door card key is inserted into the room sensor &, due to a broken window catch (opening windows are fitted with sensors), our air conditioning did not work at all the first night & the room temperature rose to over 33 degrees. All credit to the hotel management & Thompson rep as this was quickly sorted out next day. The wife, however, was still unhappy with the room window/view so the hotel management upgraded us to a small balcony room for our second week at no extra cost.

Sorrento is stunning there is is in no doubt of that but it also has easy access to the many local tourist attractions, all easily reachable in a day. Sorrento can be a little expensive &, as is usual, so are "arranged" excursions but the Capri & Amalfi coast trips, in particular, may be a good choice if you want a guide or to avoid the amount of organisation & queuing for tickets & busses involved. Trips to the other popular tourist attractions can be quiet easily arranged yourself using cheap public transport.

Room Tip: Be careful which type of room you book as some may not meet expectations, depending on who you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    145
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
105
490
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are so glad we chose this hotel. The views are outstanding but it's also only a ten minute walk down to central Sorrento with easy transport links to the Amalfi coast, Herculaneum, Pompeii, Vesuvius etc... The waiters, cleaners, pool attendants and the hotel owner are extremely frendly and accommodating. Especially as we were the only ones who had children! The high chairs were always prepared for every meal. Child friendly meals and drinks were provided. The hotel owner even took the 6 month old baby away at mealtimes and entertained him to enable his parents to eat undisturbed! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to people of any age.

Room Tip: The attic rooms only have small windows, but you can see the bay of Naples from the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Minerva in July and it was our favourite hotel of the entire month in Italy. The very friendliest staff, especially the gentlemen at breakfast, the most spectacular view and a lovely room with frescos! The terrace for breakfast and dinner is unsurpassed and the food was great. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect being about 15 minutes walk away from the town centre and being situated a little up the hill it makes for stunning views of the coast and the town. The rooms are of a decent size and have a really nice, traditional feel whilst also being immaculately clean. The staff were fantastic and extremely friendly and welcoming, the guys at the pool and the waiters were all great and all the maids always had a smile on their faces. The only thing that brought the place down a bit was the food. The breakfasts, lunches and starters were generally fine but often the main course at dinner was a little under-par. It was nothing terrible as there are so many places to eat in the town but I would recommend this place for everything other than an evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar Fife
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned after a wonderful week, being totally spoiled by the wonderful staff in the Hotel Minerva, we can't thank them enough for making our stay just perfect! The hotel has an enviable situation in Sorrento giving the most fabulous views of the bay of Naples, but only a short stroll from town. Our room was perfect with all the amenities we could want, and our bed linen was changed daily. The restaurant and bar staff were wonderful especially Antonio and Antonella !! We were half board, and intended eating out one evening, but the food was so good that we ate in every evening. We stayed in this hotel many years ago and intended to return before now, but wont leave it so long until our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view on an upper floor, and with balcony if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I don't know where to begin with this wonderful hotel! My mom and I just came back from a two week stay in France and Italy. We wanted to visit Sorrento as I'd heard great things and frankly I can not imagine staying anywhere else!! The views, the staff, the FOOD! It was all magical. It was beyond anything we could have imagined. They made our stay so wonderful, I never wanted to leave.

I emailed the hotel about a week before as I'd been researching hotels and this one was top on my list. I asked for a sea view room and luckily they had one free balcony/sea view room. We arrived around 12 our first day and were stunned by the location, it's right on the highway literally across from Mt. Vesuvius. We went in to a beautiful lobby and up to the 5th floor where we were greeted by Antonella (whom we loved so much we want to take her home!). The lovely porter took our bags up to our room as we checked in. Antonia, the loveliest woman, the owner I believe, was the nicest and greeted us and made sure we were comfortable and looked after during our stay.

The room we stayed in was just breathtaking! It is beautifully decorated in bright jubilant colors.The tile on the floor is beautiful! the amenities are top notch and the room itself was big and pristine, not one corner of that had any dust - this was especially nice as my allergies got a break, they were horrible in Rome! Back to the room, as I said the decor is fabulous but all this built up to the moment we opened our beautiful french door balcony. WOW! Mt. Vesuvius is staring back at you and the Bay of Naples is at your fingertips. I never did tire of looking at that view during our entire stay. They have lounge chairs and a table to have your breakfast or dessert in the comfort of your own balcony.

Since we were tired from all of our sightseeing we decided not to do anything while in Sorrento and just eat and relax! And we did just that, there is a FABULOUS rooftop pool in the hotel, which again has stunning views! We ordered some wine and swam, had some gelato, and took in the views. Is there anything better in life? After we were tired of laying in the sun we headed downstairs to their magnificent restaurant and yes, it also had the stunning view! the food was DELICIOUS all fresh and seasonal! The service is exceptional, the best we had in all of Italy! Antonio, our waiter was patient and attentive. Did I say the food was delicious!?

At night, there is dancing and singing in the roof of the hotel. A little music, a little wine, and Sorrento at night - just when you thought it couldn't get better. The breakfast is also great, with a great variety of food and all fresh and delicious. After breakfast we headed out into the town for a bit which is only a 10 minute walk. It's the perfect location as it is far away from the hustle and bustle but not too far from it either.

All in all, my mom and I were so happy with this hotel! The people from the management to the cleaning ladies were amazing, so friendly and warm and caring. They even arranged a taxi service from the hotel back to Napoli for us. They also have tours they can arrange to Capri and Pompeii but as there were so many tourists the weekend we went and we wanted to relax we just stayed at the hotel. We had everything we could have wanted there and more. We decided to make this our family hotel and plan to come back very soon to Sorrento and stay at this wonderful establishment! If you have the chance to visit Sorrento go to Minerva GO, GO, GO!!!

Room Tip: The balcony room is a bit pricier but worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at The Minerva for our honey moon and dont have a bad word to say. The hotel and the staff were absolutely amazing.
We paid extra for a sea view and balcony and were so glad we did. The view is superb and having thr balcony was wonderful to be abke to sit out and enjoy the view with a glass of wine!
We were on half board basis and found the food to be excellent. There was a great selection for breakfast and the dinner choices were diverse too. The standard of the food was superb and the portion sizes were large ro say the least.
A truly wonderful stay and we woukd rate this hotel as 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo, 30, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Escapio and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minerva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.