We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel,Service and Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Minerva Hotel to your Saves list
Minerva Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo, 30, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel,Service and Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went with another couple and thought we were getting rooms with a view with no balcony. When we checked in, we were delighted to find out that we had balconies for the same price as our non-balcony rooms. Our rooms were wonderful with fabulous views of Vesuvius across the Bay and the marina below. It was a fantastic location and we walked to local food establishments and stores every day. The staff were incredible, especially Franco who took care of all of our transportation and touring requests. He arranged to have us picked up at the Naples train station and take us directly to the hotel - that was such a relief travelling from Rome. He arranged for a wonderful car tour of the Amalfi coast which we loved. We had a little misunderstanding of the hourly cost but it was still worth it. I recommend verifying the cost of everything by writing it down so there is no misunderstanding. We loved this hotel and would go back in a heartbeat. Our first meal at this hotel was probably the best. Wonderful home made cannelloni, fresh fish, salad, vegetable and beautiful lemon cake and serenaded with Italian songs - it was a memory we will never forget. If you say you were recommended by Rick Steves you will get a discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    148
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
109
500
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Over 12 days driving through Italy and 3-4 different hotels, this place was certainly one to remember. It's up on the coastal road 400 feet above the ocean and it really lends it's self to spectacular views of the undescribable italian coastline. To help with enjoying the views the dinning area is on the top floor of the hotel with a spectacular balcony. We had a boat rental arranged and one of the staff was a captain that pointed out it was going to be a bit ruff for our trip, so they called the company for us and got the rental postponed until the next day.

You have a great walk 10-15mins down the coast road into the town from the hotel. Internet was free although barely reached our room. the room was cool and very comfy. we even had a huge patio with lounger. If your driving prepare for the parking in the hotel.. at night it was hard to find the entrace as it's 1 1/2ft from the main road I think we drove by 4 times and then actually parking the car. it was bloody tight. regardless this is an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

loved our stay here.. great views from roof top pool ,bar and restaurant with lots of seating areas , great restaurant with attentive staff . Car park is in a very small garage underneath which they parked for you.. if you intend to use your car several times a day it maybe a problem. Make sure you have an allocated space befor you book! Its a 10 minute walk down into Sorrento itself with a narrow pavement so be careful. I will definately stay here again..

Room Tip: we had room 303 which had great views and a balcony .. not private at all though!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We eventually plumped for this hotel after reading so many reviews on TA and we were not let down at all!

The hotel is a great place to stay and employs some great staff. The views across the water to Mount Vesuvius were breathtaking to say the least. To the right of the Hotel the views are of Sorrento centre itself as the Hotel is perched up high over the town.

The walk to the town (Piazza Tazzo) will take a leisurely 15 minute stroll and the same for the return on a steady incline, nothing too drastic. The pavements did become a little narrow at times but they did exist all the way to the hotel.

It was nice to stay out of the heart of the town but be as close in order to walk in for an evening meal.

The room itself was clean and tidy, we had a huge balcony which was on top of the hotels reception which made the stay very memorable. The facilities on offer were great with a fantastic roof top pool with yet again stunning views of the bay and Sorrento town. The pool didn't appear to be heated but actually after sunning in the crazy hot weather it made for a nice cool off..

Will hopefully be returning again shortly...

Room Tip: If possible to stay in the main building rather than the annex, the rooms are not as authentic as in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed four nights in late October. The room was nice and clean, and had a spectacular view over the bay. It was near the end of the season, so tourist traffic was down, and the hotel seemed about half full. The restaurant opened out to the deck and was great while the weather was still good. A storm rolled in so they had to close off the deck, but it still worked fine. We only had the breakfast, which was included, and it was a very nice buffet with fruits, pastries, cereals and the usual hot dishes. The staff was very friendly and all spoke nearly perfect English. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

In a beautiful location overlooking the Bay, this is a great location. Do not be put off by the reception being on the fifth floor; the hotel climbs th e cliff and the fifth floor is where the restaurant, bar and breakfast patio is, with rooms up to the eighth. We had a good room overlooking the bay on the top floor, but there were a few steps from the lift to the rooms at the northern end of the hotel.

The staff were very attentive and helpful; the food on the half board was good with at least one, sometime two vegetarian options, but the menu was a little repetitive as others report.

This was a very good stay and I would recommend this hotel.

The hotel is about 400m up the hill on Via Capo from Sorrento, and we did not find it necessary to get the bus as the walk was not too steep getting back from the town. I would agree that the road pavement path is a little narrow at times. We went in October so traffic was not too bad, and in the evening quite light.

Be aware that a taxi from the station is expensive due to the one way system so it is 12euros just to get back to the station entrance, before the journey back up the hill tot he Hotel. Better to walk from the station to the main square Taxi rank, about 100m to the south east of the station and get the taxi to the Minerva from there.

Train service to both Pompeii and Ercolano was efficient and worth taking as a route to the museums.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel;
First, the people who work there; I communicated via email with a gentleman who is at the front desk there- he was always quick to respond and made me feel very welcome and valued; He gave me suggestions on what we could do in beautiful Sorrento; as we do not like to take "tours" --
My husband and I love to travel on our own, to learn and discover new things by ourselves; but to do this requires books, internet and recommendations from helpful people who just "know"
You also have to trust them and their suggestions- I immediately felt confident in all that he said, and in the hotel -
I was not disappointed! The room was lovely, overlooking the Bay of Naples- The food in the hotel was so delicious! The breakfast buffet was wonderful! The coffee was Delicous! The Service was outstanding! I felt like I was in heaven! You can walk from the hotel just down Via Capo to the heart of Sorrento and to the Port;
Such an adorable little town! You find the most wonderful shops, So Wonderfully Italian! Everything is Lemon! They grow many lemon trees there, so Lemon is important there! Try Lemon Ice! UMMM...Also David's Gelato! Right in Sorrento! The BEST in all of Italy!
Every restaurant has delicious food, truly..
Our fellow at the front desk at Minerva gave me suggestion to stay at least one night on the Island of Capri! SO WONDERFUL!! We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel there; Another wonderful place, with the most amazing view! Mr. Parlato will help you arrange this if you email him before you arrive!
I hope this helps you with your decision! Go with Minerva, you will love it!

Room Tip: Email them first! Every room is facing thye water, Heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo, 30, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minerva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.