We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Vesuvio to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 7 nights B+B recently in a room with a sea view at this Hotel and it was exactly as advertised. Amazing views , superb pool and the free courtesey bus into town runs bang on time and even does additional runs if it is over subscribed. The driver is a credit to the hotel .
The sunbathing facilities and the pool are great and kept a 12 year old very happy and with the high July temperatures the cool hillside breeze was worth the money on its own.
The rooms are immaculately kept by the housekeeping staff and breakfast was basic but sufficient. We had lunch by the pool a couple of days and it was fine and reasonable value. Our only negative observation was that Wi-Fi was slow and it broke the reception staffs hearts to give you the password !!
The walk into town was 20 minutes and very steep but as the bus service was so reliable this was not necessary. The local SITA bus to the Amalfi coast stops outside the hotel but be warned you must have bought your ticket before you board.
We also visited Capri Island and the Blue Grotto - a superb experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view as all rooms have black out blinds and air conditioning you will not be woken by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    245
    128
    40
    20
See reviews for
159
303
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just returned from the Amalfi Coast with Gate One tours. THe hotel and the tours were amazing. Each day was better than the one before. This is our sixth trip with Gate One and we are never disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour of Sorrento, Amalfi and Capri. Having read the reviews, I was a bit worried but needn't have been. The staff was very helpful, the hotel and the (large) rooms were clean, the view is fabulous, and the food in the restaurant was good (for a package deal it was actually very good). The shuttle down town was efficient. Our room looked out onto a roof behind but we weren't in it much so that didn't matter; we just sat on the terrace with a drink listening to the pianist and admiring the views of Sorrento at night. Magical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in Sorrento this summer. Rooms were very clean, views are great! Pool is nice, food is average. My issue with the place? The staff was incredibly rude. Not a smile when we checked in. It was like pulling teeth to get any information from them. Overall, an average stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel was booked as part of the emerald tour that went under, I paid to have views but didn't get them, The hotel has a free shuttle bus that goes into Sorrento, it is always full and on the return trip ive never experienced so much pushing to get the bus back. The problem is this hotel are too far out of town .I suggest finding one closer to the shopping area, however if you want to just sit by the pool this hotel is fine. The breakfast had a good selection, however the hotel is a bit run down. Staff were very organized and professional. Would stay at a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: request a room facing the bay and get it in writing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour
Large clean room with private balcony overlooking the bay
Excellent service in the restaurant and the food was very good
We had to pay 5 euro for wi fi
Hotel is not in town and you have to get the shuttle
Pool closes at 6 pm which is bizarre considering its the middle of summer
I would stay in town next time

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We returned today from a week at the hotel which we booked through booking.com, very nice hotel, lovely and clean, large room with nice balcony and sea view which we would recommend, beautiful views of the bay, breakfast typically continental but good, all staff very polite and friendly, especially shuttle bus driver, shuttle bus very convenient, nice to walk down in to sorrento, but up hill on the way back and wouldn't recommend walking back at night, use the shuttle bus. Thank you for a great stay

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.