We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Gran Paradiso to your Saves list
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Catigliano 9, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this friendly, relaxed hotel. The service was excellent (special mention to Luca in the restaurant), the room was clean and the view from the poolside was simply stunning. The food was good, although the portions of vegetables served at dinner were tiny.
The courtesy bus was essential and very well run.
This was one of the quietest holidays we have ever had, which is exactly what we were looking for. The absence of children certainly helped!
A little more in the way of entertainment would have been nice, and more effort put into the weekly Gala Dinner, but these are suggestions rather than complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest Derek M

I would like Thank you for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for your stay in Sorrento.

We are glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us and that your enjoied the food and the view from the pool.

We really hope to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    216
    86
    32
    29
See reviews for
100
376
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Out of our month's travel around Italy and France, this is the one place we want to come back to. The motel was beautiful, spacious, clean with a breathtaking view. The service and food in the restaurant was superb. We spent the day walking around this charming little town visiting and talking with the shop owners. Everyone was so sweet. We even gave up a prepaid trip to Capri to spend the day here. The hotel also has a spectacular pool. The shuttle bus from train station to motel was convenient and ran all the time. Just can't say enough good about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso and Sorrento !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest joe_johnson47725,

I would like Thank you for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for your holiday in Italy.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay, that the service superb and that the shuttle bus was efficient.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked a superior room for the views of the Bay of Naples.The room was large, but rather basic, but had a huge balcony with 2 sunbeds, 2 chairs and table. Just right for watching the sun go down. The bathroom needed some TLC. The rooms seem to vary a great deal and if it wasn't for the fantastic view I wouldn't call our room superior. It was however spotlessly clean.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was up a very steep hill and the regular shuttle bus was a necessity and was always on time.
Service in the dining room was excellent, although the meals were variable, sometimes very good, other times a bit bland.
The pool area was always clean and sunbeds readily available.
If we return to Sorrento we would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest jenstravels22 ,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us, that the Staff were friendly, that the service into our restaurant was excellent and that the shuttle bus was always on time.

We will wait in order to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have just returned after a two week stay (1 week for the other 14 guests) from our holiday where we got married in Positano.

We cannot fault the hotel and neither could our guests. The rooms are clean with all the necessary amenities with the most stunning views. I would only recommend the sea view rooms and are worth paying the extra. The pool area is lovely and clean, quiet as no children are allowed. The bar well stocked. The food is fantastic - as a 'foodie' I couldn't fault it, excellent quality with fresh ingredients. Breakfast is plentiful and as you would expect. The staff are what makes the dining experience - a special mention to Guiseppe, Nello, Luca and Salvatoire - they made our stay such genuine, lovely guys who want to make you have a fantastic stay.

The only criticism I would have of the hotel is there is virtually no entertainment - there was music with a live singer/keyboard player a couple of nights out of the 14 but having something more often would be better - as we found we were going into Sorrento centre for a change of scenery.

Reception staff were very helpful, shuttle bus was good and drivers friendly. We will definitely return to the hotel for another holiday and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mrs Michelle,

I would like Thank you for your for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for your Wedding Party.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us, that the staff was genuine and that the food was of excellent quality and fresh.

I will take into serious consideration your suggestion for the entertainment, we do offer live music and dj envenings, but we also would like Guests to enjoy the view and the calm from the hotel terraces in order to relax after a day dedicated to sideseeing.

We really hope to welcome you again!

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent and the shuttle bus which ran several times a day was a godsend.
air conditioned throughout, and the rooms on the sea-facing side all have balcony or terrace.
Kettle & tea/coffee making facilities would add a nice touch - standard in the UK but perhaps not in Italy

The hotel is 2-3 km outside Sorrento town centre, and up a very steep, narrow, winding road with obstacles (parked cars mostly) in places that would get them towed away in the UK. As a result I'd really recommend making full use of the shuttle bus to/from Sorrento town centre - the drivers know exactly what they're doing and do it very well.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view - it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest john_drum,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just got back from two weeks in Sorrento and stayed at this hotel for the first time.
Fantastic hotel and well deserving of its 4 star rating.
Could not fault the service and accommodation.
From first entering and finding that we had been allocated a room on the fourth floor, an alternative was requested and immediately the reception staff changed this to one on the first floor.
The first floor rooms (121 to 131) have balconies/terraces with stunning views of the bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius.
Our room had recently been refurbished to a high standard and the walk in shower was the best we have encountered in forty years of travelling around Europe.
Then only real criticism would be that the electronic type safe provided simply isn't large enough, it wouldn't take camera, iPad or Kindle, it was just about big enough for passports wallet and cash.
All the staff always had a smile and were eager to please, the staff in the dining room deserve a mention, particularly Guiseppe and Chero.
We stayed on half board and found the breakfast buffet well stocked with all you would expect. The evening dinner meal was three courses (four on Gala night), with a varied selection of starters and mains, however the dessert menu was at times a little lacking.
The location is halfway up a hillside and therefore offers peace and quiet with stunning scenery and views, travelling into Sorrento itself couldn't be easier as there is a hotel shuttle bus that goes in and out of Sorrento throughout the day and up to late evening, the drive up and down the narrow steep hill is not to be missed.
As the name of the hotel suggests Art is a large part of its being with paintings, sculptures and other artistic works on every wall in both public areas and the rooms, indeed many of the pieces are for sale.
Like most modern hotels these days there is a tab service so the need to carry and used cash in the hotel is not required.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a must, preferably with terrace or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest Evargsum,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us, that the room was of a high standard and that the Staff was helpul and smily.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first holiday in Sorrento and this hotel was perfect, with stunning views. The shuttle bus service into Sorrento was excellent which meant we could enjoy tranquility at the hotel and the vibrancy of Sorrento, when we wanted to. All of the hotel staff were amazing - everyone was helpful and friendly and ensured we had a fantastic holiday. We stayed half-board and enjoyed all of our meals in the restaurant, they was always plenty of choice on the menu. The hotel is extremely clean and the beds were really comfortable. We would definitely return to this hotel, but would book a room overlooking the pool, as the views are so good. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel for a brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Direttore at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest BenR934,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay with us, that the Staff was amazing, helpful and friendly interesting, that the menues offered in our restaurant were full of choice and that the shuttle bus was excellent

We will wait in order to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.