We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so Sorrento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Art Hotel Gran Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Catigliano 9, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So so Sorrento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent staff and good dining. Our room (122) had a balcony door that leaked water when it rained, although the staff quickly mopped it up. The worst aspect of the room was its very poor sound insulation; when the bathroom was being used in the adjoining room, you could hear everything! Excellent view of the Naples Bay, but some way from the centre of town. The hotel provides a (free) shuttle bus to the train station in the town centre, at hourly (sort of) intervals. Taxi will cost about Euros 20! (3-4 km ?) which seems expensive. So use the shuttle.

Room Tip: Avoid room 122 (which was noisy). Are other rooms quieter? But staff were most obliging and helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest vic_roberts_11,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay.

I am sorry to read that the window of room 122 was leaking.
We have already send our maintenance/repair team to solve the problem. Thank you for letting us know.

We are glad to read that you found the staff and the food excellent.

We really hope to welcome you again in order to give an other chance to this small and smily town.

Best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    197
    83
    31
    29
See reviews for
93
330
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here at the end of September. The hotel has incredible views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. Facilities are superb with the terrace/swimming pool/foyer seating a complete delight. The Shuttle bus was very handy although we walked a couple of times.
Rooms were spotless and cleaned daily. The Dining Room staff are superb, funny and attentive without going over the top.

The only problem with the whole experience is the overcrowded public transport ( both Vesuviana Rail and buses) which give the impression of being close to meltdown. For getting to incredible and world recognised sites such as Pompeii and Herculaneum this is a national disgrace.
Too much standing altogether and with the average age of visitor quite high this is not good enough. But this hotel is a treasure and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We did not have a view but with this terrace who needs one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Golfmadmor,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you found the room clean and the facilities superb .

We rellay hope to welcome you again soon our terraces.

Best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, U.K.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Let's be frank, this hotel is difficult to get to and not suitable for many people. The drive up to the hotel is pretty horrendous and anyone contemplating walking up and down to the hotel from the shops below must be mad - and I'm a seasoned walker!
So, why do I like this place? Well, it's peaceful, has probably the best view of the Bay of Naples and surrounding mountains and the evening meals are pretty good. The latter I compare with other 4 star hotels in Sorrento which I've visited in the past. The meal is entirely waiter service which makes a nice change from the buffet type which is now so popular (with the hotel management maybe but not with guests possibly).
The breakfast at the Gran Paradiso is O.K. but could easily be improved if the management made a little effort. For example, the milk available with cereals should be COLD and FRESH FRUIT JUICE served - after all the area is awash with lemons and oranges! There is plenty of fresh fruit on offer at the hotel every meal so why serve a second-rate juice?
The hotel minibus runs every hour into the centre of Sorrento but this isn't quite enough at busy periods of the day. The evening bus schedule needs some adjustment too - I suggest a survey of guests to establish an improved pattern of transport.
Having said the above I'd gladly stay here again in preference to many other hotels more centrally located.

Room Tip: Room 416 has one of the best balconies - 2 sunbeds, a settee and table, room to swing at least 2 cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Alan P,

Thank you for your frank review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We will take into serious consideration your suggestions, it is our mission to improve the service and quality in general (breakfast included).

I would like to inform You that when our minibus is full, it comes back to pick up the remainin Guests, this happens in the busy period especially in the morning.

We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel in order to show the changes.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We would highly recommend the hotel. It is set up a hill overlooking Sorrento and the sea. The views were spectacular – you would be hard pushed to beat them in Sorrento. The pool area made the best of this and there was no trouble getting a sun-lounger or chair or table at any time of the day or evening.

The breakfasts were very pleasant and the food always fresh – we’ve had more variety elsewhere but to be honest there was everything you really needed.

We were staying 'Half Board' and the evening meals were very good with four choices of starters and mains every night on the set menu plus an à la Carte if you wanted it although we never felt the need nor did many of the other guests as far as we could see.

The hotel is a little out of, and above, the town so the free shuttle bus the hotel runs was essential for many. It was never late and worked really well for getting in and out of town.

The beauty of the location was that it was quiet and away from the bustle of the centre.

The best thing of all, though, were the staff – we have both travelled a fair amount in Europe and cannot think of a hotel we have stayed at before where the staff were friendlier or more attentive and efficient – everyone, without exception, were so nice and you really felt welcome and well looked after. The waiters at meal times were a wonder and have looking after you down to a fine art and the staff at the reception always greeted you with a warm smile and hello.

Our room did not have a view but we knew that before we went. We would recommend a room with a sea view if the budget will stretch that far. The only fault with our room was the bathroom which was a little ‘tired’ and the shower too small and on its’ last legs but the room (and bathroom) were always spotlessly clean and very comfortable.


The highlights of our visit to Sorrento had to be Vesuvius, Pompeii, Capri, a day at sea ('minicruise' they called it) along the Amalfi coast and around Capri (where you could swim from the boat) and the Dali exhibition in Sorrento. Lovely restaurant at Marina Grande, run by local fishermen - well worth a visit.

Thank you to everyone at the Gran Paradiso for a lovely stay.

Mark and Nicky Richardson.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room with a sea view if the budget will stretch that far. If going for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mark and Nicky,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you found the Staff attentive and friendly.

We rellay hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights.
The hotel was located up a steep (ish) hill, but that made for perfect views over the bay of naples, as well as Mt Vesuvius rising up in front of you. A shuttle bus running 12 times a day up and down the hill also meant that if you wanted to tear yourself away from the view, that you could come and go without having to tackle the climb.

The hotel was clean, the staff were beyond freindly and helpful, it felt like a family. It was so welcoming, and whether you spoke English, Italian or something else, they understood you and were eager to help.

The rooms were each themed by a different artist. The art that covered the walls, the sculptures and the other assorted works around the hotel were interesting and captivating to admire.

The food was divine. I stayed half board, so had to cover Lunch and drinks myself, but the breakfast (full continental buffet) as well as the special menus each evening, were so varied.

Never the same thing twice in the evening, the food and service was without fault, even offering a great vegetarian option every evening.

It was a perfect place to either use as a base, as we did, to set off for the nearby attractions, or perhaps instead to just laze by the pool, and stare off across the bay.

I cant wait to come back, and will definately be staying again

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is wonderful. Even if you don't get one facing forward over the bay, the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest AlexiaFaith,

Thank you for recomending and reviewing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay, that the bus service was good, that the Staff was friendly and that the art exposed was interesting and captivating.

We really hope to welcome you again , hopefully next summer.

Kind regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay, the views from the hotel are stunning. The shuttle bus service into Sorrento is very efficient and we were able to make good use of this. The staff are very friendly, particularly in the restaurant. Sorrento is beautiful and there is so much to do and see in the area, we would highly recommend. One week was not long enough!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest rzh_11,

Thank you for recomending and reviewing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay, that the bus service was efficient, that the Staff was friendly and that the views from the hotel were stunning.

We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel .

Kind regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel, last year I came with my husband this year I came with a friend. You always worry that visiting a hotel the second time will not be as good as the first. When I booked the hotel with the travel agent I then corresponded with Alberto, at the hotel, told him what I had booked and that I was bring a friend. When we arrived in Naples the bus was waiting and we were dropped off at the petrol station, but our big coach waited till the shuttle arrived, for those of you who have never been to this hotel the road up to it is steep, good to walk after an ice cream, and there is no way a large coach could get up it. Anyway, we arrived to be welcomed by reception who recognised me straight the way and were so welcoming, the room we had booked was not available but the one we got was brilliant, thank you Massimo.. last year we had a view over the Bay of Naples and "the volcano, this time it was a view of Sorrento. The same excellent service, fantastic staff, the people who had bad service, I am sorry you had this and it must have been one of those days. Guiseppee, Nello and all the other staff were so helpful, you could almost sit where you want. The girls at the desk were super. As soon as we got back home my friend said can we go back again next year, so I have to leave my poor husband at home again, and go with my friend. Yes the hotel needs a bit of touching up here and there, but no Hotel is perfect, and everyone is so friendly. Sorry I have gone on a bit, but I needed to put down my review. Whilst we were there we met a couple from New York, Gloria and Walter who had been going to the hotel for 10 years, think that speaks volumes. So thank you everyone who make the hotel Gran Paradiso what it is, hopefully next year I will put a good review again, please don't double book us...We look forward to seeing you all again, same room if possible please. Julie & Joan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Ash099,

Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

It is always a pleasure to receive comments from returning Guests like You, this motivates our efforts.

We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel .

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.