We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Gran Paradiso to your Saves list
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Catigliano 9, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We would highly recommend the hotel. It is set up a hill overlooking Sorrento and the sea. The views were spectacular – you would be hard pushed to beat them in Sorrento. The pool area made the best of this and there was no trouble getting a sun-lounger or chair or table at any time of the day or evening.

The breakfasts were very pleasant and the food always fresh – we’ve had more variety elsewhere but to be honest there was everything you really needed.

We were staying 'Half Board' and the evening meals were very good with four choices of starters and mains every night on the set menu plus an à la Carte if you wanted it although we never felt the need nor did many of the other guests as far as we could see.

The hotel is a little out of, and above, the town so the free shuttle bus the hotel runs was essential for many. It was never late and worked really well for getting in and out of town.

The beauty of the location was that it was quiet and away from the bustle of the centre.

The best thing of all, though, were the staff – we have both travelled a fair amount in Europe and cannot think of a hotel we have stayed at before where the staff were friendlier or more attentive and efficient – everyone, without exception, were so nice and you really felt welcome and well looked after. The waiters at meal times were a wonder and have looking after you down to a fine art and the staff at the reception always greeted you with a warm smile and hello.

Our room did not have a view but we knew that before we went. We would recommend a room with a sea view if the budget will stretch that far. The only fault with our room was the bathroom which was a little ‘tired’ and the shower too small and on its’ last legs but the room (and bathroom) were always spotlessly clean and very comfortable.


The highlights of our visit to Sorrento had to be Vesuvius, Pompeii, Capri, a day at sea ('minicruise' they called it) along the Amalfi coast and around Capri (where you could swim from the boat) and the Dali exhibition in Sorrento. Lovely restaurant at Marina Grande, run by local fishermen - well worth a visit.

Thank you to everyone at the Gran Paradiso for a lovely stay.

Mark and Nicky Richardson.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room with a sea view if the budget will stretch that far. If going for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mark and Nicky,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you found the Staff attentive and friendly.

We rellay hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    225
    86
    33
    29
See reviews for
104
391
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights.
The hotel was located up a steep (ish) hill, but that made for perfect views over the bay of naples, as well as Mt Vesuvius rising up in front of you. A shuttle bus running 12 times a day up and down the hill also meant that if you wanted to tear yourself away from the view, that you could come and go without having to tackle the climb.

The hotel was clean, the staff were beyond freindly and helpful, it felt like a family. It was so welcoming, and whether you spoke English, Italian or something else, they understood you and were eager to help.

The rooms were each themed by a different artist. The art that covered the walls, the sculptures and the other assorted works around the hotel were interesting and captivating to admire.

The food was divine. I stayed half board, so had to cover Lunch and drinks myself, but the breakfast (full continental buffet) as well as the special menus each evening, were so varied.

Never the same thing twice in the evening, the food and service was without fault, even offering a great vegetarian option every evening.

It was a perfect place to either use as a base, as we did, to set off for the nearby attractions, or perhaps instead to just laze by the pool, and stare off across the bay.

I cant wait to come back, and will definately be staying again

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is wonderful. Even if you don't get one facing forward over the bay, the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest AlexiaFaith,

Thank you for recomending and reviewing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay, that the bus service was good, that the Staff was friendly and that the art exposed was interesting and captivating.

We really hope to welcome you again , hopefully next summer.

Kind regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, the views from the hotel are stunning. The shuttle bus service into Sorrento is very efficient and we were able to make good use of this. The staff are very friendly, particularly in the restaurant. Sorrento is beautiful and there is so much to do and see in the area, we would highly recommend. One week was not long enough!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest rzh_11,

Thank you for recomending and reviewing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay, that the bus service was efficient, that the Staff was friendly and that the views from the hotel were stunning.

We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel .

Kind regards,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel, last year I came with my husband this year I came with a friend. You always worry that visiting a hotel the second time will not be as good as the first. When I booked the hotel with the travel agent I then corresponded with Alberto, at the hotel, told him what I had booked and that I was bring a friend. When we arrived in Naples the bus was waiting and we were dropped off at the petrol station, but our big coach waited till the shuttle arrived, for those of you who have never been to this hotel the road up to it is steep, good to walk after an ice cream, and there is no way a large coach could get up it. Anyway, we arrived to be welcomed by reception who recognised me straight the way and were so welcoming, the room we had booked was not available but the one we got was brilliant, thank you Massimo.. last year we had a view over the Bay of Naples and "the volcano, this time it was a view of Sorrento. The same excellent service, fantastic staff, the people who had bad service, I am sorry you had this and it must have been one of those days. Guiseppee, Nello and all the other staff were so helpful, you could almost sit where you want. The girls at the desk were super. As soon as we got back home my friend said can we go back again next year, so I have to leave my poor husband at home again, and go with my friend. Yes the hotel needs a bit of touching up here and there, but no Hotel is perfect, and everyone is so friendly. Sorry I have gone on a bit, but I needed to put down my review. Whilst we were there we met a couple from New York, Gloria and Walter who had been going to the hotel for 10 years, think that speaks volumes. So thank you everyone who make the hotel Gran Paradiso what it is, hopefully next year I will put a good review again, please don't double book us...We look forward to seeing you all again, same room if possible please. Julie & Joan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Ash099,

Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

It is always a pleasure to receive comments from returning Guests like You, this motivates our efforts.

We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel .

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The staff, the scenic views and the random artwork make this hotel different.
We were in a minority as english guests, but the staff were so friendly and kind and could speak so many languages it was amazing. Everyone was made to feel welcome and part of the hotel family.
The food at breakfast was plentiful and very good. The evening meals were varied again and on the whole good, but I preferred to eat the Italian choices than some of the European dishes.
Wine choice was varied and the same price as bars and hotels in Sorrento.
The Pool area was clean and lots of beds to sunbathe , with the fabulous views of the Bay.
Night life is very quiet, many guests playing cards or just talking.
The bus was very good extra taking you into Sorrento centre, but we walked there and back many times if we missed the bus and took about 20mins there and 25 back. (we are quite fit though).
We did not have a room at the front , we arrived very late we were allocated a third floor room at the back, the room was nice, quiet and spacious, as we were not in it much we didn't ask to change rooms.
There was a family tragedy at the hotel while we were there, but the staff and family that own the hotel carried on regardless and I don't think many guests noticed. A credit to them all.
We would like to return with our family , and show them the friendliness and kindness of this hotel owners and staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Deborah7007,

Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

Thank you also for your kind words.

We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel with your family.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After reading various review s of the hotel before we arrived I was concerned as we had paid for a superior room with balcony and sea views and there seemed to be a mixture of reviews with people not getting rooms they had requested and paid for.
We arrived later than expected due to a long transfer, we were checked in within minutes and were told the restaurant had been kept open so we could eat.
The manager escorted us to our room which was fabulous, we had a large room
and a double balcony with great views.
Staff were all very cheerful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was fantastic,3 courses with 4 choices for dinner and breakfast was catered for all with quite a selection.
Having the hotel transport to and from town was handy,although the hill is steep my partner and I managed it easily enough and we are no spring chickens.
Hotel was for us perfect and exactly what we hoped for.
Thanks to all staff for making a very enjoyable holiday.
Room 603
Date of stay 13/9-27th/09

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mrs barbaraWales,

I would like Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso in September 2013.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay in room 603, that the food was good and that the Staff was friendly.

We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel .

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Art Hotel Grand Paradiso for 10 nights at the end of September. We booked with BA and had been in contact with the hotel directly for a while before we flew out. A week or so before we left, BA called us to say that the hotel had contacted them advising them that some improvement works were going on at the hotel during our stay but that it would in no way whatsoever affect our stay. We decided to go ahead as were confident that our holiday would not be affected. We had a fantastic flight out to Naples and had booked a private transfer to the hotel. This holiday was to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. On arrival at the hotel at 8.30pm after travelling since 10am, we were met by Massimo (whom we now know was the Duty Manager). I gave him our names and our booking confirmation but were told by Massimo that there was a problem. We couldn’t understand why as the booking had been taken in May. No reason was given for the ‘problem’ but that he simply wanted us to do him a ‘favour’ and stay at another hotel for 2 nights. We were quickly escorted off to the other hotel which we were assured was one they use and was a very nice hotel. It turned out to be the Carlton International Hotel which was right in the centre of Sorrento, just behind Piazza Tasso. We were checked in and taken to our room which was basic and the bathroom was very small with a shower tray and curtain. Once we had checked in we rang the BA Duty Office who were absolutely fantastic. They were disgusted with the way the hotel had treated us and had no idea about any problem at all. They took on the complaint and asked us to stay put for that night but they would sort things out. They were, unfortunately, unable to get hold of the Grand Paradiso that evening as no-one was answering the phone! The next day, we had a call from BA who informed us that we could move to another hotel but there was only 1 hotel available in the whole of Sorrento for the remaining 9 nights or we could continue our holiday at the Grand Paradiso for the remaining 8 nights after spending a further night at the Carlton. BA had been advised by the Grand Paradiso that they always double-book due to ‘no shows’! The ‘problem’ was that the hotel had taken double bookings – nothing to do with travel agents or improvement works. The hotel had advised BA that we would be given the ‘best room in the hotel’ for the remainder of our stay and they would give us dinner in their restaurant with wine for one night of our stay.
Whilst staying at the Carlton, we noticed that at least 11 other couples had the same problem with the Art Hotel Grand Paradiso.
Once we got back to the Grand Paradiso after living out of our suitcases for 2 nights not wishing to unpack and repack, we found we had been given a standard room with a side view and balcony, having booked a sea view room in any case. This was definitely not the best room in the hotel as promised! The room was very small and the bathroom and shower were miniscule. The tiles in the shower were mouldy and the chrome was rusty. The walls in the room were so thin that we could actually hear our neighbours on the toilet/coughing/singing!! A couple who were staying above us said that they had no wardrobe or drawers in which to store their clothes.
The courtesy bus is a must as the walk up and down the hill in the heat is not our idea of a holiday (although on many occasions the courtesy bus had to be bump started!) Having said that, it was prompt and ran as and when it said it would, although overcrowded and it was like a scrum to get on the bus for the 9am or 10am shuttle. The hotel is not actually in Sorrento but is outside in the suburb of Sant’ Agnello.
Having said all of the above, the view from the hotel is incredible. The whole hotel and rooms are kept spotlessly clean and our bedding was changed several times during our stay. Towels were changed every day without fail. The breakfast/restaurant staff were exceptional and very professional. Guiseppe is a complete character and ran service impeccably. Breakfast was perfectly good, with juices, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, jams, honey, cereals, fresh breads, pastries, cakes, cold meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon/sausages, tomatoes – everything you would expect. No matter how busy it was, a table was always made available to you.
We found Sorrento extremely busy and it was good to go back to the hotel in the evening for some peace and quiet. It has a chilled out feel in the common areas and is lovely sitting on the terrace with a drink into the evening looking out across the Bay of Naples over to Vesuvius.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest FinallyMrsD,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor.

I am sorry for the inconvenient caused and I do apologise for everything except the fact that in our hotel nobody responds to the telephone, where in a hotel with 100 rooms, this seems impossible. We do not adopt a double booking policy, because of no shows, the motivations for this can be different.

I hope to receive the possibility to recover the score received with a second chance.

Best regards,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.