We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful classic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Capodimonte to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo 15, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful classic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Clean comfortable rooms, nice location and excellent breakfast. Loved the classic elegance of this hotel which is very well maintained.

However, I have to say the highlight would be the view from this hotel. It is perched upon a cliff and you get the classic postcard Sorrento view from pretty much every location in the hotel (the pool, the lounge, our room etc).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were very glad to read your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for taking time to praise our hotel and to have highlighted our strong points, breathtaking views, bright, elegant and spotless rooms, care and attention to even the smallest detail.

Love and care that, for example, we have in the preparation of our healthy breakfast made with local products, genuine and always very fresh.

We hope to see you soon here with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte,

Kind regards,
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    344
    108
    56
    31
See reviews for
255
819
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our first stop after a long day of flights. The sea view room was beautiful, spotless with a nice balcony to enjoy in the early morning and evening with some wine or Prosecco. All sights, food and entertainment are just a short stroll from Capodimonte. The hotel staff were very professional, polite and attentive. The hotel layout added to the overall charm. We stayed only 5 days before we walked down to the port to catch the ferry to Capri. An excellent start to our Amalfi coast vacation. We recommend this hotel. Arranging a car and driver from Naples airport to the hotel is a nice touch too, and the price is reasonable for the comfort and door to door service. All right!

Room Tip: Sea view for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and for share it with the travelers community.

Reviews like your make us always very proud because they are a demonstration that we are doing well and that our hard work is recognized by our beloved guests.

We are very happy you had great time with us and that you appreciate our staff, always attentive to the needs of our customers, our rooms bright, spacious and tastefully decorated and our convenient location just a short walk from the center of Sorrento but at the same time in a quiet and peaceful area.

Dear Guest, we wish you a happy 2014, and we thank you again for your nice and kind words.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again as soon as possible, we send our

Best regards,

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My party of 7 stayed here for 3 nights in October, 2013. It was a poor experience. Reception at Front Desk was arrogant; service in main restaurant was very poor I would not recommend this hotel at all and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: make sure you look for another place in Sorrento; this hotel is not in center city and seems to cate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
“Look for another Place”
2/5


My party of 7 stayed here for 3 nights in October, 2013. It was a poor experience. Reception at Front Desk was arrogant; service in main restaurant was very poor I would not recommend this hotel at all and would not stay here again.



Dear Sir,


Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte on Trip Advisor, we are very sorry to learn that you were not pleased with your experience with us.

Our guests’ criticism is always welcome, since it give us room to improve the quality of our service. If something went wrong during your stay, we would have gladly wanted to discuss it with you; we take great care in our business and the customer’s satisfaction is our main goal.

Unfortunately you did not clarify in your review which was the issue, since you remarked a poor service in te restaurant and a bad attitude from the reception staff, which surprises us since they are all well trained and kind, as others reviews often state; maybe there was a misunderstanding we could have solved during your stay.

Therefore, we hope that you will give us another chance to show how much we’ve improved and maybe change your opinion on us for the better.

Until then, please accept our

Best regards


Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We visited during October with our 13 year old son. We upgraded to a sea view room, having read reviews on tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed! The room was spacious, on the 9th floor & overlooked the bay.
For us location was key as we didn't want to be dependent on a shuttle bus and planned to use public transport. The hotel was perfectly located enabling us to use local buses & trains to visit Pompeii, naples & Amalfi Coast. In the evenings it was a short stroll into Sorrento with its wide choice of restaurants & gelateria.
We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet with freshly cooked eggs & prose co I you felt so I clinked. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening.
All staff were friendly & helpful. Very clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely review here on Trip Advisor, we are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay and you were not disappointed.

Thanks also for the remarks regarding the quality of our breakfast, it’s something we are very proud of.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible

Best wishes

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Hotel had it's own parking which was a definite advantage as we took a driving holiday from the UK via the French Alps, Venice, Rome, Florence and Monte Casino. Hotel was only a short walk from the centre of Sorrento. Hotel has excellent facilities and the room was spacious and clean. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly. Will come back and would definitely recommend. It is not cheap, but you get what you pay for! Did not use the fitness facilities or spa so cannot comment.

Room Tip: We paid extra to have a sea view and it was definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel.

We are glad you appreciated our facilities and the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again as soon as possible, until then please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here in June last year and it was one of the best holiday's I've had. Brilliant food and extra special waiting staff. Drinks expensive but to be expected. A brilliant location and just a 5 minute wander into the heart of Sorrento. I tend not to visit the same place twice but i would make an exception for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor and for sharing your opinions about our hotel.

The best advertising for us are your words: “one of the best holiday's I've had”.

In few words you highlighted our strong points, the location close to the center, a pleasant 10-minute walk to find you nestled in the life of the beautiful city of Sorrento, but at the same time in a calm and quiet place.
The wide variety of fresh and typical foods for both breakfast and dinner.
Our staff always polite and friendly but also very professional.

Hoping to see you again for another memorable holiday here with us, we send our

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in early September and I have been meaning to write a review ever since. So here goes!

If you are thinking of staying here, my one piece of advice would be to push the boat out if at all possible and get a room with a sea view. We were very fortunate to be able to book a prestige room on the 11th floor at the last moment through the hotel’s website and the view from the balcony was simply breathtaking. I could have sat there all week simply enjoying that view!

On arrival, we were greeted in our room with a bottle of a Prosecco and a bowl of fruit. A nice touch. The room was large, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated and furnished. It had a large safe (free to use) and wi-fi reception in the room was good. (Wi-fi was free after getting a code from the reception. But usage did seem to come with a limit and some simple surfing did make big inroads into the allowance fairly quickly). The only possible quibbles I could have with the room were a lack of English channels on the TV – even the ubiquitous Sky News was missing! – and much more importantly, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. So bring your travel kettle!

The hotel is, in my opinion, perfectly located. It stands just on the outskirts of Sorrento – so no hustle or bustle - but is no more than a simple 5 or 10 minute walk into the town. Importantly, there is a pavement all the way into the town – something that stops a little further up the road. And whilst there is a pedestrian crossing right outside the hotel, exercise great care in using it as the Italian drivers do not seem to accept pedestrians have right of way on this crossing!

We stayed on a B&B basis. The breakfast buffet was good, with a plentiful choice and a chef on duty to cook eggs however you liked them. Our package entitled us to one free evening meal, which was gratefully taken. We decided to eat in one further evening but in fact wished we hadn’t. Although there was a reasonably priced “upgrade” menu available, it had only a very limited choice of two main meals, neither of which we wanted. So we choose from the a la carte menu (worth noting there are 2 completely different menus for the evening meal – one for guests staying on a full basis and the other an a la carte menu offering a much wider choice). I am sorry but being charged 27 Euros each for some mass catering lamb slices and a few potatos, even given the setting and service, is a rip-off. Given that the town of Sorrento has so many lovely restaurants, and a wonderful ambience, I certainly would suggest you think long and hard before booking this hotel on a full basis.

The reception staff all spoke good English and we found them helpful and friendly. Their recommendations for restaurants in the town were spot on!

The only other quibble I would have about our stay was the number of sunbeds that people left towels on, only for the people to then disappear for hours – indeed, in some cases never to come back. The hotel claims that its pool attendant keeps an eye on the situation and removes towels where appropriate. I can’t say I saw any evidence of this whatsoever. I know the selfishness of some people is not the hotel’s fault but they could do more to overcome this.

One final point. Don’t stay here expecting a rip roaring night life! There was no entertainment apart from a pianist playing in the restaurant area although most of the people staying here – including myself, I might add – were probably not looking to party all night!

Despite the odd quibble, I would absolutely wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for a stay in the lovely city of Sorrento. Certainly, one of the nicest places we have ever stayed and we will undoubtedly return again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, try and get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a detailed review regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you had a very nice stay and that you were pleased by the room, the service provided by our caring staff and the quality of our meals, especially the wide selection available at breakfast.

As for the wifi, there is no usage – limit, it is free starting this year; what you experienced was probably a lack of signal, which unfortunately may happen in some areas.

Our location is indeed one of our major key points behind our success: a short stroll from the town, while still being away from all the commotion of the centre. Thank you also for your remarks regarding the reception staff, we will surely be happy to hear that their work was appreciated.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends, we are already looking forward to your next visit

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Capodimonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.