We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Capodimonte to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo 15, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a friends wedding in April, the weather was inconsistent as one minute it was lovely and sunny then raining hard. To be expected though at this time of year.
The hotel is based slightly out of the main town but it was a five minute walk and you were in the main street. The views from the pool area and dining room were stunning as they look out over the town/bay/Mt Vesuvius. Our room views were nice but slightly obscured by other parts of the hotel complex, luck of the draw perhaps on that one.
Food is really good, wide choice of dishes to suit all. Advice is to double up on starters and have one as a starter and one as a main as they were more exciting at times than sticking to the usual coursing. Breakfast is really good loads of choice, omelettes made to order, hot and cold section, European breakfast element and also tomato sauce ! Fill up as food is expensive wherever you go and if your half board or B&B make the most of it.
Service and all staff we met were helpful and prompt with any requests. Wouldn't say there was too much to entertain kids at the hotel more of a couple/adult vibe.

Things to do when there:

Sorrento - amazing little streets, just wander around and you will stumble across so much. Sit in the main piazza and people watch with a beer in hand.

Bars - Blu water sells massive beers really nice food and also football live !

English Inn - sounds like one to steer clear but nice, great to sit outside having drinks either in their garden area or on the cobbled main street.

Any on the main piazza are nice. Baguettes club/bar is good for music and drinks and it has a pole.....just off the main piazza don't steep stairs. Night before the wedding was spent in there more lively than others we visited.

Capri was a great day out, 30 min ferry over and then a wander around all the boutique shops - window shopping in all reality. Expensive though, €20 a salad do be aware!

Everywhere is expensive €5 a beer, €10 for a sandwich....ect. The hotel charges drinks and food to your room so it can start stacking up!

All in all lovely trip based from a great hotel which is one of theist beautiful I have ever stayed in !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    338
    105
    56
    31
See reviews for
246
799
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The price we paid for this hotel which included food was exceptionally good. The service was excellent and the communal areas beautiful.

The rooms have good bathrooms with excellent hot water- bath/ shower facilities and clean. However the bed we had was dreadful (I don't suffer from any sleep problems and am not at all fussy. See other reviews if you don't believe) twin beds pushed together and not only that rock hard and very old. The bed linens and were itchy and old fashioned and the pillows useless.

We left our room unoccupied for two nights to stay on Capri and these were the only two nights sleep I had. The other guests seemed to do a lot of clunking about and dragging furniture around which disturbed us all of the time.

I don't think I would do another package holiday as the other guests were more typical 'Brits on tour' which I hate.

The prices here were excellent and the drink costs very very cheap. Don't listen to people who say they were expensive I think it's because of the type of people package holidays attract.

We did our own excursions taking the train to Herculaneum and the boat ourselves to Capri. This was very easy and I can't imagine why people would want to be herded about in groups of coach tours.

Location of hotel excellent, right on he edge of the town which is beautiful and local food/ drinks very cheap and delicious.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this amazing hotel in the first week of its 2012 season. It felt soulful and friendly from the minute we arrived and we were wonderfully looked after by staff who clearly care very much about how the guests enjoy the hotel. The location is perfect, only about four minutes' walk into the centre of Sorrento so you can experience the town centre atmosphere but just far enough outside to be able to get away from everything and enjoy the beautiful views across the bay. The reception and restauarant balcony areas are very well kept and there is an entire outdoor area which is shaded by a Wisteria trellis which looks and smells amazing.

We stayed in the top floor of the front section of the hotel and have never spent so much time on a room balcony in our lives. The views have to be seen to be believed. The room was pristinely decorated and furnished to a very high standard with everything in an inlaid wood style fitting in with the famous local craft. Every day started with seeing the sun rise and set from the balcony, and a perfect buffet breakfast with waiting staff in white ties dress. The eggs chef is talented - bespoke omelettes cooked to order in front of you - and the restaurant is set into the cliff side with panoramic views across the bay. We stayed for a week and would happily have stayed on for another. We will be back.

PS there are comments from other reviewers about cost of drinks and evening meals. We thought the prices were about what you would expect from a hotel of this standard but with it only being a few minutes' walk from the town centre we preferred to experience the town centre restaurants, especially L'Abate where Tony and the rest of the staff took such good care of us and fed us with some of the best food we had in Italy.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week as part of a package with Thomson Holidays and had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is in a stunning position and is beautifully appointed and maintained. The hotel is built against the hillside around 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento. All areas of the hotel, reception, lounges and bedrooms are beautifully decorated and furnished and many areas appear newly redecorated. There are a number of terrace areas with great views of Sorrento, the bay and Vesuvius and all have plenty of tables, chairs, loungers and deck chairs. The swimming pool consists of around 5 separate pools at different levels creating a waterfall effect and all with great views and pool bar serving drinks and food. Staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good with an excellent choice including freshly made omelettes and fried eggs. Dinner is a very elegant affair with excellent waiting staff. There are a number of choices for each course. My only critisisms would be that some main couses were fairly similar over the week eg not much variety of fish types and dessert choices were not that imaginative eg lots of cakes. It would also have been nice to have had tea or coffee included at the end of the meal. I would also say that for British guests in particular (given the weak Pound) the drinks are pretty expensive - I would have thought that lower prices would probably result in more unit sales and greater overall profit. Hotel is around 15-20 minutes walk from Circumvesuviana train station for trips to Herculaneum, Pompeii and Naples. There are a number of supermarkets within easy walking distance. The Thomson Rep for this hotel, Cheryl, was really helpful and visited the hotel on lots of occassions during the week. I was really impressed with the Capodimonte and would highly recommend it to others - I look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

What a brilliant hotel to have the pleasure of staying it. Despite a rocky start on landing (a delay caused by baggage handler strike at Naples airport), we were glad to be greeted with a well furnished and comfortable room (my partner did call it a cupboard room(!) , but it was nice enough for it not to worry us).

Food was lovely, as was the tiered pool and the view across to Mount Vesuvius. We travelled
with Thomas Cook and the reps were brilliant, and the tour around Sorrento with free pizza, wine and ice cream was lovely.

Did 2 excursions, one to Pompeii and Vesuvius and the other to Herculaneum, but I'd recommned sticking to one of these as they do get tiring (the trip back alongside the amalfi coast, despite being beautiful, is rather long and tiring)

One warning- beware the prices of drinks/food in the hotel, but this is to be expected given the current Euro price/troubles. Made it a mission of mine to pay off my tab on the room everyday- they only allow you to charge to room, which I reckon is a cunning ploy to get you to lose track of your spending.

Would recommend a trip to Capri as well- easy to get ferry from the harbour.

Overall, lovely hotel and lovely holiday. Much recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I was traveling with my husband and mother in September 2011 and we booked a 3 day / 2 night package tour to Sorrento (via Pompeii) through Viator. I am always a little hesitant about booking package tours as you never know what kind of hotel you will sleep in. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that our accommodation was at Hotel Capodimonte.

My mother had a single room booked and I have to say that even by European standards, it was very small with a tiny single bed in it. It was however tastefully furnished and after you get accustomed to the small room, it was quite pleasant and offered everything you needed.

My husband and I had a double room which was a good size and had a partial view over the bay. The tiles on the floor and throughout the hotel were very beautiful and the room decor was very bright and colourful, but tasteful as you would hope staying on the Mediterranean coast. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was also a good size. If you are booking the hotel rooms yourself and are travellling in a group, be sure to ask for rooms in the same wing as there are a number of different levels and wings with different lifts, which can be very confusing. It can take a couple of days to familiarise yourself with the hotel's layout. Another thing to mention is that some rooms can not be accessed directly from the lift and require you to use a few stairs. This can be problematic for those travelling with heavy suitcases.

We had a half-board package included in our tour package and were pleasantly surprised that the dinner on offer in our package was absolutely fantastic! The menu was semi-set and changed daily. We had a choice of 3 or 4 items for the starters, main meal and dessert! We only had to pay for beverages The food was delicious and the restaurant overlooked the beautiful bay. One thing to mention is that there is a dress code, so gentlemen, be sure to pack your long pants and a collared shirt.

The pool area is very nice and they serve drinks and food here too. We had limited time in the hotel, but managed an afternoon tea near the pool overlooking the gorgeous bay.

The shops are an easy 5-10 minute walk depending on where you want to go and there is a self-service laundromat located close to the hotel and just before the main shopping area.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Capodimonte and only wish our stay could have been longer...

Room Tip: Some rooms can not be accessed directly from the lift which can be a problem if you have trouble wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I took a family holiday to Sorrento with teenage children in late August and the whole family had a wonderful time! We had a room on the top floor and would suggest you do the same,as you can enjoy the maximum quality view. We even had a view of mount vesuvious! Its very central and is only about a 2 minute walk from any shops.The swimming pool was just fantastic with 4 levels and an outdoor ping-pong table. You also have a great view from the swimming pool area. Also great quality food if you fancy a night in. I would advise anybody to go there as it has something for all the family!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor as you can get the maximum quality view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Capodimonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.