We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Run Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Hotel Savoia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 46, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Run Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I have no idea how anyone can say that the staff are not helpful in this hotel. They were GREAT!!!

We all had a really nice time here and found the staff to be very helpful. We had many restaurant recommendations from them, given a map letting us know where all the points of interest were around Sorrento, they even booked our trip to Capri and some sunbeds down by the seafront for us.

Its a family run business and had the typical Italian feel about it.

The rooms were clean and as you would expect for the very reasonable price. If you expect a great location (very close to main square/piazza), friendly staff and clean rooms...with maid service everyday, then this is the place for you.

Special thanks goes to Rosamaria.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first floor. Not too many stairs. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    86
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
47
83
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Disgusting place. Gave us a room crawling with ants. They did move us to another room but were then extremely rude to our travelling companions who asked how to turn on the air conditioner. They told us twice to leave if we didn't like it. So we did leave after one night even though we had booked to stay 4 nights. They then tried to charge us for 2 nights even though we checked out before 11 a.m. Also they put us at a table with a dirty tablecloth for breakfast in the morning. I would not go to this hotel under any circumstances. The owners are very clearly in the wrong business.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived super early and were a little worried what we were going to do but the staff let us in our room straight away which we were very greatful for. Especially after a flight and a long coach journey. We were shown to our room by a lovely friendly lady who also showed us how to operate the air con etc. the room was clean along with the bathroom. The shower was brilliant being very powerful. Although the drainage was a little poor and did smell a little. Beds were comfortable and clean also. The breakfast was brilliant very fresh cakes, fruit, yoghurt. Coffee and tea were tasty and the staff even offered you pancakes and eggs. Could not fault the breakfast or the staff. Very friendly young girl on reception when we arrived made us feel welcome and gave us a map etc. the only bad thing was that it was extremely noisy at night. There must have been local residents that owed apartments in the hotel because there was very loud shouting and arguing almost every night and the floors and walls are paper thin. Could hear people arriving late at night which disturbed sleep. We appreciate that this is not the staffs fault. There was a school there whilst we stayed and they kept calling each other's phones in the rooms which kept us awake most of the night.
The hotel is quite central with a walk of about 5-10mins from Tasso square and train station being about 5 mins walk away. The lighting in our room (number 41) kept dimming and flickering which was possibly an electrical fault.
All in all we had a good stay but a peaceful nights sleep would have made it perfect.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Upon arrival I thought it looked cute and welcoming from the outside. We entered the main lobby and it appeared they were eating lunch. Some woman walked us out and two doors down were the rooms. The entrance is shabby, dark and with an odd smell. We got into the elevator, which is not free, and rode up to room 20. So we get off elevator into a foyer, where there is a brown shabby door that the staff member opens up into a hallway that appeared to have odd mix matched tables. She then opens our room and it was immediate disappointment. Dreary walls, dingy bedspreads, old furniture. The walls were filthy. The bathroom was the best room by far. Bedding was clean. Safe did not work. It appears to me that the hotel rents a few floors in an apartment building and calls it a hotel. There are other suites on the floors that are not hotel rooms. We ended up leaving a day earlier even though this was pre-paid.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savoia10, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoia, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
I am sorry that on your arrival we were eating....but sometimes aftrer a long day of work we eat!
About the room I am sorry of what you write because if you would tell us about any problem we would try to make your stay counfortable.
Our furniture are not old and the rooms are not as you describe, the only true thing is the elevator (that does not belonge to the hotel because is priveta) but I wonder why you say that it is not free if we have always given you the coins to use it any time you wanted
Probably you have an idea of 4 star hotel but we are a simple familiar hotel, as we describe on our web site b, and I wonder why when you left the hotel you said that everything was fine.
Do you think you would have had a better review if we would have given you the money back of the last night?
Thank you anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed on our honeymoon and we loved it! Run by a nice family: wife runs reception during the day, husband runs delicious restaurant in town (ReFood), and son serves at restaurant and breakfast.
- Great location
- clean large room
- delicious, plentiful breakfast with fruit, yogurt, fresh bread, freshly baked croissants and pastries from their kitchen, fresh pancake made when you sit down.
- free wifi and AC
- our room on the 4th floor faced the Sea
- helpful, courteous staff
We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Situated just off the main plaza, Hotel savoia is the perfect place to stay for easy access to dining out, sightseeing and transportation.
Rooms are very clean and modern. Staff a most helpful. And they serve a great breakfast - mostly all homemade. The elevator is a little old - however it is a great excuse to use to stairs instead for exercise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed for a long weekend with my sister and we were very disappointed with the hotel despite reading good reviews on trip Advisor. We arrived at 15.45 to find the hotel closed - apparently the owners were having lunch somewhere! When they finally turned up we were shown into a dingy reception area - not very welcoming. The room was only adequate, although clean. You had to go outside to access the bedroooms and although the hotel information states it is close to all amenities, you had to walk down a busy main road (in part with no pavements) with traffic rushing past before you got to the main square. I considered the owners/staff insincere and as the hotel was virtually empty, not a very warm atmosphere. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel, there were others nearby that looked much more welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Fuorimura 46, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.