We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food could do with improving!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Vue D'Or

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Vue D'Or to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Vue D'Or
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food could do with improving!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Firstly I'll start with the good points:
1) All the staff were very friendly and helpful (except one waiter who looked like he'd rather be dead than working there!)
2) The rooms were clean and housekeeping made the beds and replaced towels daily.
3) The view is absolutely incredible from the hotel.
4) The free shuttle bus that runs from the hotel into Sorrento and back again fairly regularly throughout the day was very useful.
Unfortunately there were a couple of bad points:
1) The corridor outside the room stank of cigarettes all week.
2) The food was incredibly bland and disappointing. We stayed half-board but wished we'd only been on bed & breakfast. The cereal in the morning was stale and cardboard-like, the main course at dinner was tasteless, oily and very un-italian! A couple of meals we actually had sent back as they tasted awful. To be fair the waiter was very understanding and did this without complaint. Tip: if you want water for the table make sure you ask for tap water as the bottled water costs 2.50euros each. If we were to return to Sorrento we would definitely look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    186
    61
    12
    8
See reviews for
91
295
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lichfield Staffs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Do not let the negative review put you off staying here,
The folk from New York must have been staying in a nother Sorrento !
Wonderfull, spottlessy clean ,lovely staff ... it is way up the hills but what a view !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I went to Sorrento to celebrate my 70th birthday and I never expected to be so delighted and so impressed with everyone at that hotel. The hotel management right down to the maids were as nice and friendly as could be, not to mention obliging in every way. I even got sent a bottle of Champagne the night of my birthday and the entire wait staff and all the guests sang to me at dinner..It was nothing short of magical. The view from our room was to die for and the ease of getting the hotels shuttle into town every day and back again was just what we needed after spending hours walking around the beautiful town of Sorrento. I can't say enough about the hotel or the management that would do them justice, because words alone could never completely describe my experience. I can only hope get go back for my 80th. I fell in love with their hotel and them and didn't want to leave.By the time I left it felt like I was leaving home...

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors for the views alone..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We drove to the hotel and kept going up and up and up and up the mountain and it was worth every km.
arrived late to find restaurant closed but they said no problem a local restaurant will come for you in 10 mins which they did and delivered us back to the hotel afterwards at no extra cost.
Staff at the hotel were brilliant and very friendly.
Openeing the curtains the next morning with the views across the bay of naples was wonderful.
Breakfast was very good and couldnt fault in any way.
Yes you do need a car to get to the hotel but they have a shuttle bus into town at regular intervals .
If you want sorrento without the noise and hussle and bustle please please stay here its fantastic honest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARRISH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay was perfect from the day we arrived till our departure....the hotel was even more desirable because of the staff....always smiling and helpful. Our view from our terrace was sensational!! Even though the city of Sorrento was nearby, we had wonderful olive trees and gardens; and I believe there was the sound of a rooster and turkey off in the distance. A wonderful breakfast buffet with lots of goodies to be had. I look forward to our return and this says it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having a french name in the Italian paradise is somewhat 'chic', though it live up to its name implied. Overlooking the citta di Sorrento and beyond the hill, an enclave seemingly set away from the crowds, and yet a short comfortable ride by the hotel coach hourly is not something that one would complain about. At a slight premium if one is willing to splash out, you should not regret too much. The usually expected standard of clean, and comfortable room, with some pluses - swimming pool, breakfast room with a 'vue', helpful staff and free parking if you do bring one along. Verdict- Recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We found this hotel online and did not know what to expect, we were very pleasantly surprised! Our room (we booked triple even though we were only 2), room was large and comfortable with a lovely terrace. The views were spectacular.
We were a bit disappointed at first that we could not walk to town, but the shuttle took care of that worry. What really made this hotel a favorite was the smiling faces of the staff there. They just made us feel welcome and very comfortable.
We must mention NINO especially, what a wonderful man with a great spirit. Thank you Nino!!
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Triple room is larger and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Vue D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vue D'Or

Address: Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vue D'Or 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Vue D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vue d Or Sorrento
Sorrento Vue Or Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Vue D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.