We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Vue D'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Vue D'Or to your Saves list
Hotel La Vue D'Or
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
PARRISH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay was perfect from the day we arrived till our departure....the hotel was even more desirable because of the staff....always smiling and helpful. Our view from our terrace was sensational!! Even though the city of Sorrento was nearby, we had wonderful olive trees and gardens; and I believe there was the sound of a rooster and turkey off in the distance. A wonderful breakfast buffet with lots of goodies to be had. I look forward to our return and this says it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    195
    67
    12
    11
See reviews for
104
331
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having a french name in the Italian paradise is somewhat 'chic', though it live up to its name implied. Overlooking the citta di Sorrento and beyond the hill, an enclave seemingly set away from the crowds, and yet a short comfortable ride by the hotel coach hourly is not something that one would complain about. At a slight premium if one is willing to splash out, you should not regret too much. The usually expected standard of clean, and comfortable room, with some pluses - swimming pool, breakfast room with a 'vue', helpful staff and free parking if you do bring one along. Verdict- Recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We found this hotel online and did not know what to expect, we were very pleasantly surprised! Our room (we booked triple even though we were only 2), room was large and comfortable with a lovely terrace. The views were spectacular.
We were a bit disappointed at first that we could not walk to town, but the shuttle took care of that worry. What really made this hotel a favorite was the smiling faces of the staff there. They just made us feel welcome and very comfortable.
We must mention NINO especially, what a wonderful man with a great spirit. Thank you Nino!!
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Triple room is larger and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful hotel, extremely friendly staff and heavenly views. Nice size pool and attentive staff.
If you wanted any food by the pool you were told to go and sit out and it would be brought to you.
The staff just made your holiday that little bit special.
Only down side I personally found as we were 3 friends in one room, was when you order anything it all went on your room bill. Was a little awkward trying to sort who owed what at end of stay. But this is a minor detail to a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: we found not quite enough room for luggage when three in a room, and small table stuck out a bit whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel. The room was clean and was serviced each day to a very high standard. The breakfast was a continental affair and was as good as you can expect.

The Shuttle bus is very handy and saves you a small fortune each day!!

In all this is a fantastic hotel with helpful staff, nice rooms and fantastic views.

We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous week at this lovely friendly hotel. The food was of good quality at both breakfast and dinner with a very varied choice served by friendly and attentive staff. The gardens provided a very quiet backdrop to our spacious room and the view over Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius afforded from the restaurant terrace was stunning by day and night.
We used the complimentary shuttle bus when it suited us but we also enjoyed catching the local buses and walking from the hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and realistic about the local bus timetables and only too willing to answer questions and give information.
Mave and Tony, Cumbria.

Room Tip: rooms over the garden very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at La Vue D'or as part of a tour. The location is good and the view from our balcony superb (although the room and en suite were on the small size). It is quite a way out of Sorrento and as others have mentioned it is irritating to find that the shuttle bus stops from 12.30 to 5.30 each day meaning that you have to brave the local bus service (which at the time of our stay was on a reduced timetable). It was the food which we found disappointing. It was perhaps best described as 'mean' - very poor choice for breakfast - the boiled eggs being somewhat of a lottery - could be almost raw or rock hard. We found it unacceptable to have to order your dinner at breakfast - and suspect it was just a money saving strategy.- even on the so called Gala Night we had to order in advance from a restricted menu - not even a complimentary glass of water!
If Trip Advisor had a rating for food it would have been 2 at the most. Why don't Trip Advisor let you rate the food????

Room Tip: Rooms seem to vary a lot - ask exactly what you get - bath, safe etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Vue D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vue D'Or

Address: Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vue D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Vue D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vue d Or Sorrento
Sorrento Vue Or Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Vue D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.