We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast
Corso Italia 67, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 100 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Quaint and lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a lovely room and the breakfast was lively and delicious. We really enjoyed this bed and breakfast. Very clean and quiet room. Lovely tile work in the bathroom. No reading light so if you plan to read, forget about it. Seems to be the norm in hotel rooms - no reading light. Hard if one person wakes in the middle of the night!

Downside: when you walk out onto the street you are surrounded by tourists from cruise ships and tour buses. We hated that. We enjoy being around the locals. Felt like we were back home.
It's a lovely setting but Rick Steve's surprised us when he said he loved it the most... we don't get that.

We would stay in a town like Meta next time.. then visit Sorrentto for the day or for dinner.

We would stay at this B and B again. It was nice.

Room Tip: Bring your own readying lamp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    70
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
23
89
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed at Casa Astarita in Sept 2012 with my wife and our little boy. We had the "Moderna" room which was perfect for us. Nice double bed with a separate mezzanine room with bed. The B&B was very clean and friendly and had a really nice atmosphere. Our room looked on to Corsa Italia, with a balcony to watch the world go by. Once the double shutters were closed on a night time there was no noticeable street noise. Breakfast was great, with fresh coffee; bread rolls; fresh fruit and cakes. Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I can't tell you enough how disappointed and frustrated we were with Casa Astarita's lack of any degree of professionalism and care for its patrons. We arrived and checked in with our paperwork for 3 nights (we had booked months in advance based on the information in Rick Steve's book). The next morning at breakfast we were told we only had the room for 2 nights. It did not matter at all that we had the paperwork showing that we had made the reservation. They offered to find us another room for the last night. We declined and found another one on-line. The morning we had to leave we also had booked a tour to Capri and had to leave a little after 8. Breakfast usually starts at 8 and we had planned to turn in our key, take care of the bill, and store our luggage with them until we returned that evening. The reception/dining area was not open even open at 8:15. Even though we heard voices from behind the door they would not answer our knock. We ended up having to lug our luggage to our car (a few blocks away) and leave the key with a note at the door. There was nothing about their actions that resembled professionalism and I will continue to share the details of our horrific experiences to anyone who will listen,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sorrento is an awesome place and this B&B is just right to make the most of it. The location is great and the rooms are beautiful. Rick Steve's calls Casa Astarita a 'gem' and he is right. Don't hesitate to stay here. The hosts are just awesome, so nice and ready to help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I had booked a room months in advance, received the respective confirmation and was very much looking forward to my stay at the Casa Astarita. Two days (!) before my arrival, I received an e-mail that my reservation has been cancelled - the hotel is fully booked. Although they organized an alternative accomodation in Sorrento - I have never experienced such a poor service. What a huge disappointment. 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at Casa Astarita in April and our daughter stayed again in August. Both couples loved this for comfort, convenience, and connecting with other travelers.

Room Tip: We had a small room off the breakfast area which opened on a back courtyard. It was quiet. Our dau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Arrived at Casa Astarita in September of this year (2011) with a confirmed reservation for two nights. Made reservation the previous April. Was told that they would not honor our reservation for the second night because "a family needed all the rooms". Tried to place us (two couples) in another "hotel" that, speaking generously, had a very unsavory appearance in a marginal neighborhood. After three hours of useless discussion with the Casa Astarita staff member, we finally made our own arrangements with the Hotel Del Corso down the street. Much better place overall with numerous places to sit inside and outside to enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast

Address: Corso Italia 67, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Astarita Hotel Sorrento
Casa Astarita b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.