We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner refuses to honor a confirmed reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast
Corso Italia 67, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 87 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Owner refuses to honor a confirmed reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Arrived at Casa Astarita in September of this year (2011) with a confirmed reservation for two nights. Made reservation the previous April. Was told that they would not honor our reservation for the second night because "a family needed all the rooms". Tried to place us (two couples) in another "hotel" that, speaking generously, had a very unsavory appearance in a marginal neighborhood. After three hours of useless discussion with the Casa Astarita staff member, we finally made our own arrangements with the Hotel Del Corso down the street. Much better place overall with numerous places to sit inside and outside to enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    57
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
17
69
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

Very nice old-style hotel. Very good service. Breakfast home-made style. Very convenient in a trip to the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Casa Astarita is run by a very friendly young couple, who clearly put in some effort to turn each room into a balanced mix of old and contemporary. It's not a generic and kitschy place, but has character and is very clean and offers a great comfort level for a B&B. The location is perfect, but honestly not totally quiet, as it's on the main street and some rooms face into inner courtyards, where you can definitely hear the neighbours. The breakfast doesn't offer a lot of choices, but is of very good quality and generously refilled at all times. We stayed here for one night and it was a great location to explore Sorrento. Very good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Casa Astarita is a nice place on the main street of Sorrento. Even with a room facing the street, it was amazingly quiet at night. The location is great. You're within easy walking distance of everything in Sorrento and it's a pretty easy walk from the train station (even while dragging a bag or two). The room was clean and relatively spacious. Breakfast in the morning was good and featured some homemade jams and other items. Our room had AC, WiFi, safe, TV, closet, and a refrigerator (which didn't work). We also had a loft with a second bed, so it would be suitable for a small family, or possibly 3-4 adults.

It would have been nice if there was someone available throughout the day to handle questions or deal with any room issues. For example, we needed an additional login/password for the WiFi (we had 2 smartphones), but it took a couple days before we ran into someone who could make that happen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddlebrooke, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a well located B & B on the main street of Sorrento. It's in the middle of the old area. Everything seems to be within walking distance. We were able to walk from and to the train station pulling our luggage.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel is in a perfect location in Sorrento! All the staff was extremely helpful and nice. The place was very clean, charming and updated. The breakfast was just right for me in the mornings. I believe i was in the only room that did not face the street, but i still liked it and felt comfortable. I would highly recommend staying at the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. Clean room, great location, delicious breakfast, and the staff was so nice and helpful. We stayed in the Mediterranea room-it's right on the main street but we heard no noise because of the double windows. My husband did not like the bed but I like firm mattresses and this didn't bother me. They also provide a computer with internet access in the shared breakfast area and free water bottles and juice for guests which was great. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast

Address: Corso Italia 67, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Astarita Hotel Sorrento
Casa Astarita b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.