We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner refuses to honor a confirmed reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corso Italia 67, 80067, Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 108 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Owner refuses to honor a confirmed reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Arrived at Casa Astarita in September of this year (2011) with a confirmed reservation for two nights. Made reservation the previous April. Was told that they would not honor our reservation for the second night because "a family needed all the rooms". Tried to place us (two couples) in another "hotel" that, speaking generously, had a very unsavory appearance in a marginal neighborhood. After three hours of useless discussion with the Casa Astarita staff member, we finally made our own arrangements with the Hotel Del Corso down the street. Much better place overall with numerous places to sit inside and outside to enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bwthird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very nice old-style hotel. Very good service. Breakfast home-made style. Very convenient in a trip to the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engenheirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Casa Astarita is run by a very friendly young couple, who clearly put in some effort to turn each room into a balanced mix of old and contemporary. It's not a generic and kitschy place, but has character and is very clean and offers a great comfort level for a B&B. The location is perfect, but honestly not totally quiet, as it's on the main street and some rooms face into inner courtyards, where you can definitely hear the neighbours. The breakfast doesn't offer a lot of choices, but is of very good quality and generously refilled at all times. We stayed here for one night and it was a great location to explore Sorrento. Very good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbaniteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Casa Astarita is a nice place on the main street of Sorrento. Even with a room facing the street, it was amazingly quiet at night. The location is great. You're within easy walking distance of everything in Sorrento and it's a pretty easy walk from the train station (even while dragging a bag or two). The room was clean and relatively spacious. Breakfast in the morning was good and featured some homemade jams and other items. Our room had AC, WiFi, safe, TV, closet, and a refrigerator (which didn't work). We also had a loft with a second bed, so it would be suitable for a small family, or possibly 3-4 adults.

It would have been nice if there was someone available throughout the day to handle questions or deal with any room issues. For example, we needed an additional login/password for the WiFi (we had 2 smartphones), but it took a couple days before we ran into someone who could make that happen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddlebrooke, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a well located B & B on the main street of Sorrento. It's in the middle of the old area. Everything seems to be within walking distance. We were able to walk from and to the train station pulling our luggage.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel is in a perfect location in Sorrento! All the staff was extremely helpful and nice. The place was very clean, charming and updated. The breakfast was just right for me in the mornings. I believe i was in the only room that did not face the street, but i still liked it and felt comfortable. I would highly recommend staying at the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudley76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. Clean room, great location, delicious breakfast, and the staff was so nice and helpful. We stayed in the Mediterranea room-it's right on the main street but we heard no noise because of the double windows. My husband did not like the bed but I like firm mattresses and this didn't bother me. They also provide a computer with internet access in the shared breakfast area and free water bottles and juice for guests which was great. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzulSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon Meuble
Hotel Mignon Meuble
#29 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#2 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#8 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 2,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Tasso
Palazzo Tasso
#20 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast

Address: Corso Italia 67, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Astarita Hotel Sorrento
Casa Astarita b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing