We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where we always stay in Sorrento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Maria to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Maria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo 8, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Where we always stay in Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel Villa Maria is where we always stay in Sorrento. Great location as most of Sorrento is a short walk from the hotel. Yet very quiet at night. Always friendly and very accommodating to our needs. Rooms are well cared for and clean. We are always made to feel welcome when we arrive. The staff does an excellent job. Breakfast is always good. The dinning room is in good hands and well cared for by the same gentlemen going back to our first visit 10 years ago.

Room Tip: The rooms that have the patio are great. Fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    146
    100
    46
    35
See reviews for
60
160
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hi to Luigi, (Boss Man) and everybody who made our stay so pleasant. Lemon Mousse is a MUST !!

Well Recommended.

The whole place is exceptionally clean, well kept and with the friendliest staff ever.

Food is fantastic.

Room Tip: rooms that face the town (for the view) preferably the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed for two nights for a wedding,the room was on the 5 floor. very clean so spacious , plenty of clothes hanging space,the bathroom was spacious clean good size shower.it was very quite on the 5th floor . the mini bar was stocked well, priced well .the staff were very freindly and helpfull.the food was ok could be better,over all a pleasent expeariance.will go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for a week as part of a Riviera Travel group. I had been a little wary from some of other reviews, however we were on 4th floor at the rear and i would say the hotel is a good 3* accommodation. It's clean and tidy and our room was quiet (it was the last week of season), I oils here with all the reviews about the staff, they are very helpful and pleasant and efficient. The hotel was not as full as I would be at peak season so dining room was not too frantic. The islands love cake for breakfast so don't expect a full English. Many of the elderly party loved the food, perhaps I'm a food snob but it was very much 'school dinner' quality for me. To be fair if I went out for a meal in the UK I wouldn't go and book a table at a 3* tourist hotel and expect high quality food! If we could hav had a B&B option and eaten in a taverna I would have. (only stopped by costs).
Overall a good hotel - probably wouldn't go pek season when bsy or very hot.

Room Tip: Upper floors at the back for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Hotel was part of a package tour with Riveria Travel. Having travelled a lot over the past fifteen years, I was pleasantly surprised at the high standard of accomodation and felt this hotel worthy of 4 stars. The rooms were of an adequate size and kept beautifully clean, as was the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful. Franko, in charge of the restaurant, was very efficient and the meals were served promptly and tables cleared quickly. The menus were varied and meals well cooked and nicely presented. All the public areas, swimming pool, sun terrace on the roof( with great views of Mnt Vesuvuis!) and reception area were well maintained. The hotel is located at one end of Sorrento and within easy walking distance of all amenities, and surprising quiet at night. I would definately encourage fellow travellers to use this hotel.

Room Tip: I did not pay extra for a room with a balcony but was allocated one anyway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, near all shops, restaurants, bars and town - but still quiet. Stayed there October "12. Room was comfortable and clean and so was the bathroom. No problems with shower either. We had stayed on half board basis and I thought the evening meals were enjoyable but did not particularly rate the breakfast. However, I did not go to Sorrento for breakfast and would use this hotel as a base again. Staff were lovely too. So for what you"ll pay it is good value and a great base to explore this lovely part of the world.

Room Tip: Back of hotel - floor 5 was fine. I did not mean to rate spa or fitness but unable to delete
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were a bit desperate for a room. Sorrento was pretty full.
This place was a bit expensive, for what we had. The room was right on the intersection - noisy most of the night. There were mostly elderly tour groups staying here. The breakfast was a bit "survival of the fittest". Not relaxing at all. Staff seemed a bit cranky at breakfast. Front desl staff were nice.Wi-fi didnt work in the rooms. Clean and well maintained. At the far western end of town.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and dont take any that face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Address: Via Capo 8, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Sorrento
Maria Villa Sorrento
Villa Maria Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.