We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit - especially for the view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tonnarella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Tonnarella to your Saves list
La Tonnarella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo 31, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - especially for the view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here with my partner for three nights. We were staying in a Deluxe Double Room with Sea View.
Pros
We arrived from Rome and there was parking outside the hotel for EUR 5 per day. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the views of the Gulf of Naples (Naples, Mt Vesuvius, harbor) are incredible. There is lift access to a beach shared with another hotel that has enough chairs and umbrellas. The food at dinner was also very tasty and the staff were always friendly and helpful.
Cons
The hotel is a 25 mins walk to Sorrento - ideally you need a car unless you are happy to pay taxi fares. The breakfast is average (the coffee is terrible). The reception could have given better advice regarding tours and trips to Capri/Mt Vesuvius/Pompeii.

Room Tip: Balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    79
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
36
153
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a superb hotel in an amazing location overlooking the bay of Naples. Easily the loveliest hotel I have ever stayed in!!! There are wonderful old tile mosaic decorations throughout, amazing tiled bathrooms, superb views from the balconies, a great beach, delicious breakfasts and incredibly helpful staff - thank you - you made our visit such a lovely experience!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - lovely!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

There aren't enough words to describe our magnificent room with huge balcony and splendid view overlooking the sea and Mount Vesuvius . The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and incredibly spacious. You can also enjoy the view from any corner of the dining area during breakfast. It was perfectly situated where we could drive to visit the ruins in Pompeii and to Positano for more shopping, eating and beaches.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this lovely hotel, we had probably one of the cheapest rooms but even this was comfortable and tasteful. The bathroom is spacious with lovely majolika glazed tiles, the staff we found really friendly, helpful and thoughtful. And the view! Well, it is a dream. From the balcony you can see the Vesuvio and the bay of Sorrento. It`s magic.
on top of the cake they have a little private beach which you can reach by the elevator. The bar on the bach serves lunch and drinks (and the cook is really good). We had a fantastic, relaxing holiday in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This boutique hotel is full of character. The staff are all so very kind, helpful and genuine. The restaurant had a beautiful setting with amazing views of Sorrento and Vesuvius, perfect for a romantic get away! We particularly enjoyed having the ready access to the beach, even via a lift, which is not so easy in Sorrento. The beach setting was beautiful, set in a gorge outlet complete with stream and an abundance of vegetation. The hotel was a perfect base point for visiting Vesuvius highlights such as Pompeii, Herculaneum and for visiting Capri, Amalfi coast etc Easy to walk into town if you want the hustle and bustle of Sorrento, although we tended to be lazy and use a taxi (20 Euros) who are readily abundant night or day. Rooms are interesting, with aircon and amazing shower!

Room Tip: If you want a balcony you can sunbathe/sit out on, avoid the top rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Difficult to know where to start as everything was so very good. The staff, especially Mariella and Luigi were all welcoming, helpful and friendly. The hotel was immaculately clean with many places to see the stunning panoramic views. A lift takes guests down to a beautiful well equipped interesting small private beach. Our room and terrace were beautifully furnished, clean, with wonderful views across Naples bay and Vesuvius. The whole hotel is full of character with incredibly colourful tiled floors. Breakfast is excellent with very wide choice including a hot option. Staff here polite and efficient. Great wi fi, on sight parking available and reception staff speak excellent English. When booking Mariella responded immediately and answered all questions. With a hotel like this so close to the interesting town of Sorrento we would not consider staying in places like Amalfi, Positano, Ravello etc which can be easily reached from here. We have stayed in many lovely hotels in places like Dubrovnik, Taormina but this is our favourite. We have had such a wonderful experience at Hotel La Tonnarella that we intend to return next year. Thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with sea views as these are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at La Tonnarella. The hotel is very nice and the staff very helpful rooms are comfortable and clean. Great breakfast. The best part was the amazing views from every window and balcony. Small private beach with lift access and comfortable walk to Sorrento shops and dining.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tonnarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnarella

Address: Via Capo 31, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Tonnarella 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Tonnarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tonnarella Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tonnarella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.