We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tonnarella

Save Saved
You added La Tonnarella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Tonnarella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo 31, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Recommended by good friends this special spot just south of Sorrento sits on a bluff, with elevator down to the beach below; 180 degree views and special rooms (#4-5 recommended) w/ terraza of the Bay, Vesuvius, Capri in the distance. Restaurant is culinary delight as is the friendly service. Rent a Vespa or equivalent motorbike in town and scoot around the Amalfi coast through Positano to Amalfi, down the hill into small fishing villages where you can savor the catch-of-the-day right off the boats in simple, yet elegant preparation, all casual yet memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms like #4-5 with terraza for casual outdoor breathtaking views of Sorrento, Vesuvius, The Isle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    73
    30
    21
    11
See reviews for
34
142
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a breathtaking position up the hill from the centre of Sorrento ( at the end of Il Corso ). Our room had a large terrazza with 180degree views of the Bay and Vesuvius. Room rather dark and ageing. Hotel seems to be Russian managed and owned, which was not expected. The reception service was somewhat reluctant and lacking charm. I found myself feeling very awkward on a few occasions as I was waiting to interrupt a conversion with a Russian friend or work colleague. The Italian concierge however was so obliging and more what one would expect in this charming tourist town. Breakfast fine without being outstanding. Service staff a little slow and easily flustered. Restaurant is well regarded but we ate at Caruso , Teatro Tasso and Foreigners Club. I have no doubt that it is worth taking the walk up the hill for dinner and enjoying the view we had every morning.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This review is slightly belated but as we have just been looking at photos of our fantastic wedding, thought I'd best write it while I remember! We first stayed here last summer in July and as we planned to marry, thought it would make a perfect location for the celebrations after then ceremony. To cut a long story short we did and Marriella and her staff couldn't have been more helpfull, both then and once we got home over email with planning. The views from the hotel are second to none, the food and service was superb (the wedding food is still talked about by all who came over) and we couldn't recommend the place enough. It's very traditional over some more modern marble and guilted options which you will pay so much for in the centre, but for that bit of Italy with mod cons like wifi and Internet in the rooms, this is ideal. What more can I say, friends who stayed elsewhere loved it, we loved it, I'm sure you will too.

Room Tip: There are rooms with terrace overlooking the bay, which while they are all as nice inside, are worth...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a great surprise La Tonnarella was to four exhausted travelers. We arrived after a day of travel and an exciting car rental experience up Mount Vesuvius and through Naples. The staff was attentive and very helpful. The restaurant was very nice and we had a wonderful dinner. The view from the hotel is incredible. We had a little apartment room that the four of us shared. It had several nice balaconys and a wonderful bathroom with a "shower with a view" and a nice jacuzzi tub. The location of the hotel required some walking, which we enjoyed. If you weren't going to walk a cab ride was fairly costly, however it would be worth it to stay in such a private and quiet place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Although the hotel is a bit tired, our room was spectacular. Our balcony wrapped around, with a table, padded lounge, outdoor shower. The shower in the bathroom was huge, with a overhead spout and spa tub. I don't know how the other rooms are, but I don't think they are as large...plus there were three of us in a room. There is a private beach that you take an elevator down to. It is about a mile walk into town, but it is a great walk..just the right distance. We only ate breakfast, but it was very good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I enthusiastically recommend La Tonnarella. Sorrento was our first stop on a long-awaited trip to Italy, and I don't think that we could have picked a better place to stay. We arrived late to the hotel due to a cancelled flight, but the hotel's restaurant stayed open to make sure that we were fed, and we enjoyed the most delicious caprese salad, melon and prosciutto that we have ever had. The restaurant includes a beautiful outdoor seating area that overlooks the Bay of Sorrento, and we were treated to a fireworks display out on the bay. We liked the restaurant so much that we returned there to eat on the following night, and we were once again not disappointed... In fact, we felt that it was the best food that we had in Sorrento! The breakfast, included with the price of the room, was also excellent, and filled us up each morning prior to our long days of excursions. Our room likewise had a wonderful view overlooking the Bay, with 2 separate balconies. No photo could do the view justice! The staff, especially Mariella, was very attentive, and helped us to arrange excursions as well as transportation to and from Naples airport. The location is a bit away from the downtown area, but in our opinion, that was preferable, and there is a bus stop nearby so that getting downtown is simple and cheap. Sorrento is a great place to stay if you are interested in seeing Capri, Pompei, and the Almalfi coast, all of which are nearby. Be sure to consider La Tonnarella if you plan to visit Sorrento - you won't regret it!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently met up with friends for a long weekend in Sorrento, and we had an amazing stay at La Tonnarella. Months before, I was in contact with Mariella--an extremely helpful staff member who promptly answered any questions I had, from travel to/from the Naples aiport to excursions to dining, etc. The VIEWS from this hotel are absolutely stunning! We had rooms with balconies and terraces that overlooked the bay of Sorrento, and every morning and evening I had my own private view of the gorgeous region. Mariella was wonderful to arrange travel to/from the airport for us, and she booked excursions for us to Capri, Pompeii, and the Amalfi Coast (the entire region is amazing).

We ate at the hotel's restaurant on several of the nights we were there and the food was fantastic! They even stayed open late for us on the first night so my friends could eat when they arrived after 10:30 p.m. (their flight had been canceled). The fish was perfect--we ordered it packed in salt after I saw someone else order it the night before, and it was amazing!

Breakfast was so much more than I expected. Italian breakfasts tend to be pastry and coffee. La Tonnarella offered fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, eggs, bacon, pastries, cereals, pizza, juices, coffee, espresso, cappucino, etc. I was thrilled with the breakfasts!

My room was lovely--the painted tile floors were beautiful. The size was decent. The balcony views were spectacular!

I would absolutely stay here again, and I whole-heartedly recommend it! The region is one not to be missed, and La Tonnarella is the perfect place from which to stage a visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the bay of Sorrento--gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tonnarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnarella

Address: Via Capo 31, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Tonnarella 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your La Tonnarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tonnarella Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tonnarella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.