We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Aminta to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Aminta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peterhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 2 fantastic weeks at The Aminta, The staff were as great as the views. We had half board and was excellent value for money. We ate like kings. Drinks at the bar were on par with what you would pay in the town. Shuttle bus service was good and the local markets ensure you can find an Italian bargain. Will go back again......

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    449
    135
    29
    6
See reviews for
313
900
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Upon entering the hotel we were shown to our rooms and had our suit cases brought up to us as we were outside it was cold walking back to our room every night from dinner but the views were lovely . The rooms are lovely and as it was April the heaters were essential and brilliant quality. You have a free safe which can only fit passports and phone in and a mini bar, there was an ice bucket in our room but we had to supply our own ice. the beds were quite hard but the traffic was terrible, drivers sound their horn as the drive and it happened more at night time as you were trying to get to sleep. There is free wifi access 24/7 and its fast working too. The food was lovely and served to you on a plate with a silver lid on top and waiters will go out of their way to make sure everything is OK. Sometimes there was gala night where you could not pick what you ate you are given three plates of food very few/if any meals are suitable for vegetarians and most deserts have lemocello in it which is a lemon liqueur. The hotel is defiantly for couples.

Room Tip: sea views, you can see the lemon trees aswell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great stay and the shuttle bus to the centre was fantastic. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Half board option is convenient although drinks are expensive at the hotel. A highly recommended place to spend some time in Sorrento!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here about 10 years ago and thought it was great - so great that we always planned to return to Aminta and now finally did it.

Stayed a week on a half board basis. Everything from the reception staff, porter, housekeeping, waiting staff and bus driver was absolutely terrific.

The whole hotel has been well maintained and updated. All public areas are immaculate with polished marble floors and not a speck of dirt or dust. There's no flaking paint or wallpaper here. As with all hotels on the main roads around Sorrento there is an issue with noise. The buses beep their horns as they go round the winding roads as do the scooters and most cars. Cockerels crow in the morning. Dogs bark. The soundproofing in the windows is good but if you sleep with the window open, you will hear outside noise.

We stayed in April so the sun beds were not in high demand. The hotel policy is clear that they are free on a first come first served basis. However, if you want to reserve one for your exclusive use for the entire day you can for Euro 4. I don't think that's unreasonable but I've not been here high season.

At checkin, checkout and a few times in-between we dealt with a few of the reception staff. A gentleman and 2 ladies. All excellent.

Our room (309) was in the main building and had a king size bed and a small balcony. Reasonable size by Italian standards. There was tea and coffee making facilities, a mini bar, a small safe big enough for passports and wallets, clock/radio with iPod/iphone dock.

Reasonable wifi in the room and public areas. Also ethernet access in the room if you need faster speeds but we didn't use it.

The bathroom was a good size and immaculate. Housekeeping did a great job daily.

Breakfast is fair. There is a buffet of water, fruit juice, fresh apples and orange, tinned fruit, cereal, bread, pastries, cold meat, cheese slices and a small hot selections of eggs, sausage, bacon?, tomato and mushroom/beans. I only take fruit and eggs/tomato/mushrooms so would have preferred it if fresh (not canned) pineapple had been available and maybe bananas. Great service of tea/coffee from the trolley with regular refills.

Dinner was a different affair. Really nice menu, quality ingredients, well cooked and served in a professional and friendly way. Wednesday is Neapolitan night with local music and dancing. One night at the weekend is gala night where a pianist plays in the dining room.

The complementary bus service into town is brilliant. Very friendly daily service into Sorrento from the hotel on the hour at 9,10,11,12,15,16,17,18,19,20,21 and 23 hrs. On the half hour after those times, the bus leaves Sorrento (outside the Grand Hotel Ceasar Augusto) to head back to the hotel. It takes 10/15 minutes at a nice sedate pace.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. In my view it is a well maintained and meticulously updated establishment with excellent service from all staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your very detailed and positive review of your stay at the Aminta. It is always an honour hearing from returning guests . We value your opinion and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing the Aminta, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found the hotel very comfortable indeed. Food was excellent and waiter service tremendous. Nicely presented each evening with a few lovely touches by the staff. The staff were very friendly and helpful and all deserve a gold star.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive review of your stay at the Aminta. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Magnificent views and comfortable accommodation. Staff could not be more helpful and the food was very good. Would certainly return although pool was a little cold in April. Shuttle bus to Sorrento was useful but I would suggest that it would have been useful to make clear where it returns from.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review regarding your pleasant stay at the Aminta. Our management and staff work very hard to ensure our client's relaxation and satisfaction. We value your feedback and thank you for choosing the Aminta. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This quiet 4 star hotel is located high above Sorrento with good views over the stunning scenery. There is a free and frequent bus service to town as the roads are narrow and there are few pavements. There is only one steep narrow path/lane down to town and this is used by scooters and very small vehicles. It is about 1 kilometre to the train station via this path. The hotel is light and airy and the standard rooms are clean and well serviced but many rooms only have one hard backed chair at the dressing table and therefore nowhere to sit in the room, although if the weather is warm, there are two chairs on the balcony. There are no tea making facilities in standard rooms.The staff are very helpful and friendly both at reception and in the restaurant. The price of wine in the restaurant is extortionate - 8 euros for a glass of wine,18 euros for a bottle of house wine and 30 euros for local sparkling wine. Iced coffee was 7 euros.....all very disappointing when the local wine is relatively inexpensive.

Room Tip: Seems like all rooms have a sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Aminta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.