We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Aminta to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Aminta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arrived late Friday 4th October and was immediately offered a cold buffet which was very nice. Allocated room 407 very nice indeed and very clean with lovely views over Sorrento. The staff could not be more attentive and were very helpful. Great views and the free bus took us up and down to Sorrento most days. My partner and I were concerned that it may be too far out but it was just perfect with the best of both worlds. Quite at night and peaceful and the most beautiful dining room with food you could certainly not complain about. A nice birthday cake was given to my partner and a bottle of sparkling wine- most appreciated. Would gladly return to this hotel and visit Sorrento again to see all the things we did not have enough time to see. Thank you for a great holiday- Missed most of the rain but would like to see it in the Summer time.

Room Tip: We had 407 lovely spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    432
    133
    29
    6
See reviews for
299
869
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The public areas are very nice, staff were nice but room was average with clanky old wooden drawers and wardrobes that will wake half the hotel when you open and close them, but the balcony with sea view and view of Vesuvius was a bonus. Balconies are open on all sides so you cant sit in your nightie and watch the sun come up. Pool is very small and the bar area and terrace has limited seating to enjoy the view.
The restaurant is a lovely room and I expected a really good level of service and food because of what I read on Trip adviser and the Thomson reviews. I expected a better menu with lots of Italian favourites, we didn't get any ravioli, lasagne, spaghetti, cannelloni and there was cake for dessert every night and had to go out for Panacotta which isn't exactly complicated. there was always a pasta dish but was bog standard pasta shapes with a basic tomato sauce, there were two really nice risottos dishes during our week but nothing else that I really enjoyed. Gala nights gave us no choices at all and they just brought out each course . Meat was very tough, we have terrible roast beef on a Neapolitan night which was a surprise.
Breakfast was nice, but I had scrambled eggs and toast for a whole week as the bacon was too fatty to eat and there were lots of cakes.
We had tea and coffee making in our room but only 2 portions of milk each day so hardly worth having. There little entertainment and piped seventies English pop music ion the daytime.
Overall this is a hotel that seems more geared to older people but I wouldn't recommend it.
Beware going half board, drinks are very expensive, cheapest wine is £18 for the house wine, food on the a la carte menu looks delicious, but we didn't have the same standard food.
Sorrento restaurants offer reasonably priced good authentic Italian food.
There were a lot of people who seemed to really love the food, so maybe we just had higher expectations..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a most enjoyable week in the Aminta hotel during October 2013. The hotel is in a superb location overlooking Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. Views from the hotel are beautiful. There is a free shuttle bus service running every hour (apart from the lunch period) between the hotel and Sorrento - a journey of around 7 minutes. There is also a well marked footpath for those who are interested in walking between the town and the hotel.
The hotel is a beautifully appointed, well run establishment, and the staff are attentive and very pleasant. The menu choices are varied and the food is extremely good and well presented.
The bedrooms are smaller than we expected, and this minor point is the only negative that we encountered.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Aminta as a first-rate holiday location.

Room Tip: Choos a room with a balcony overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Aminta after looking at reviews of hotels in the Sorrento area. We knew this was the part of Italy we wanted to stay and the Aminta was the perfect location overlooking the town.
We stayed full board, and I can only say it was very relaxing, with nice rooms, dining room and the pool area (with a fantastic outdoor bar). All the staff were very friendly and the service was great. We had dinner delivered to the room on a few of the evenings and it was amazing, the food was brilliant and the views superb.
No fault of the hotel, the only issue was the weather for half of the week! Tremendous thunderstorms and heavy downpours made us stay inside for most of it.
We would come back anytime!

Room Tip: The room we had was on the south side, with its own balcony looking over the gardens. A few A/C unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

To be fair, we were upgraded to a room with a view! However, the annex is not where this hotel shines. The doors and walls are thin (we could hear our neighbor peeing!) we heard every time someone entered the annex and it was loud enough that I could actually hear that someone was walking bearfoot as I heard their skin peel off the floor with each step. The bed had some springs you could feel and the bathroom had some mildew built up in the shower. I can not say I would recommend staying in the annex.

The rest of the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, the food was good, and the view outside of our balcony was amazing. The pool is nice, and the hotel shuttle is helpful. As a note to anyone arriving, the hotel shuttle will pick you up near the Cesar Agustus hotel, but there are no shuttles between 12:30 and 3:30, we obviously didnt know that but luckily took a 30 Euro taxi ride instead of waiting for one, since we did not know the schedule or exactly where the shuttle stop was. (its not marked)

If I found myself in Sorrento again and could afford a room in the regular hotel, I'd stay at Aminta, otherwise if it was the annex or somewhere else, I'd stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: not in the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs, uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our room was better than expected from reading previous reviews, quite spacious and smart with a balcony. I would however say that the balconies are small and not private, if you are sitting out there is also significant noise from the road that wraps round the hotel. For these reasons I would say the considerable extra charge is not really worth it. We enjoyed the food but would have liked a selection of fresh fruit and nuts at breakfast. The gala dinners were excellent and good fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Bourg-d'Oisans, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I would recommend AMINTA to every body in the world : the value is excellent, the restaurant, the service, the cleaness too. As we has chosen a "low cost trip", our rooms stood in the "annexe" of the main house. Though, it was very clean and comfortable, ( in spite of a dog barking every night...). So we had the opportunity, every morning, every night, to cross a lovely orchard, among orange and lemon tress, flowers....

Room Tip: Don't mind if you travel "low cost" : the AMINTA doesn't make a difference of tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Aminta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.