We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Aminta to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Aminta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

An excellent hotel in a stunning location - amazing view of the bay of Naples/Vesuvius from the terrace area. Generally the hotel rooms were perfectly adequate with very comfortable beds and efficient air conditioning. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good choice of both hot and cold food, fruit, pastries, fresh coffee etc.

The only negatives were the lack of sunbeds - almost impossible to get one unless you paid for it and although the shuttle bus was an excellent service, there should have been more buses put on in the height of the season. You could walk fairly easily into town (20 minutes all downhill) but definitely a must to get the bus back. Unfortunately there was one at 9.30pm and then not another one until 11.30pm which could get quite crowded and often difficult to get on! One night this caused some arguments when people were seen to be pushing in and then other people had to wait for a second bus which didn't go down well! However overall a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    432
    133
    29
    6
See reviews for
299
870
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is in the top of the hill where you can enjoy great views of mount Vesuvius and the bay of Naples.

The service is excellent and the food is very high quality.

We have a very happy stay and because it was off peak season we could enjoy the hotel almost for our self.

If you have a car to move around this hotel should be you first choice, I cannot understand why is not a lot higher in the TripAdvisor ranking.

Room Tip: a balcony room should do the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of September.

First, the positives. The shuttle bus is useful, many of the staff are friendly, and the food in the evenings is delicious and highly recommended.

Now the negatives. Simply put, the Annex is not in my opinion 4 star accomodation. From the start, you have to walk through the pool area to get to it and feel like you are heading to the paupers quarters. The rooms have no sound proofing whatsoever. Every time somebody goes to the toilet in another room you hear everything. Further, if you are in a lower floor room, it sounds as though the toilet and waste pipes are going to dump everything on your head. We had issues with our room and ended up moving twice. We found some reception staff helpful but some seemed disinterested in our problems and were rude.

Having read the reviews on here in detail it is clear that the Annex has issues. I would warn anybody planning to stay here to make sure their room is in the main hotel. We did see someone getting one of the fabled upgrades but this further disappointed us as it came after we were told no rooms in the hotel were available despite the fact I offered to pay to move. This confounded the feeling that having made one reasonable complaint we were on some staffs blacklist.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish.
The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The prices for the drinks and food were very reasonable- except for the milkshakes which were overpriced as an alcoholic cocktail was cheaper!!.
The rooms were always clean and tidy and the shuttle bus was on time and usually had enough space for all those that wished to use it.
I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the Aminta from 01/09/2013 until 08/09/2013. Cannot praise them enough. The hotel is lovely and the staff are so helpful and friendly. The rooms are really clean and comfortable. Although the hotel is a bit away from Sorrento Centre, there is a regular shuttle bus.
The walk into the centre of Sorrento is quite steep but only takes about 15 minutes, after walking once we regularly walked as the views over Sorrento on way down is fantastic. Would recommend this hotel. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Comfortable Hotel in excellent location with stunning views and friendly staff. Food was tasty and plentiful, if a bit unusual at breakfast - first time I have seen so many cakes on a breakfast buffet!
Only complaint was the lack of bath towels on a couple of days, but was soon rectified on request.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I chose the Hotel Aminta (with Riviera Travel) based upon TA reviews .. the good and the not so good. I return home with mixed opinions. Here are my thoughts ....

The location was spectacular .. the view over the Bay of Naples was stunning (on a clear day - of which there were many).
The entire hotel staff were excellent ... from arrival at reception, to the dining room, to the 'poolside' bar and not forgetting the 'unseen', behind the scene, staff. The room was kept spotless.
My 'single' (at an extra premium) room was really a bit of a disappointment, though ... somewhat small, quite basic and located on the fifth floor and the lift stopped at the fourth floor. This was not made known in advance. I have COPD but managed. The (balcony-less) sunset view and the aircon compensated! The tiled floor do not suit heels!!
The dining-room meals were more than adequate with a good choice for breakfast (hot and cold, though I have yet to have cake for breakfast) .. and courses at dinner whose portions I could not finish.
The laid-on intertainment was fun.
The Hotel Aminta was a tour base for me. To that end, it filled the bill and, yes, I'd come back !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Aminta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.