We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay with great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Aminta to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Aminta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having stayed at the Aminta 3 times 2005, 2007, 2010 I can honestly say it's a lovely hotel. The views across the bay are stunning and the hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are more functional than luxurious but that's not a negative. Buses are provided down into Sorrento which are on a schedule. The walk down to the town takes about 15mins via the pathway behind the bus stop facing the hotel, so getting down to the town is pretty easy (I would reccomend getting the bus back however).

Room Tip: Bay view rooms have stunning views of the town and bay over to Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked this hotel through low cost holidays and were not dissapointed. The rooms were spacious and clean. Very comfortable king size bed. Jacuzzi bath and separate shower.
The restaurant was silver service,and the staff were very friendly. A free shuttle bus was available every hour to the centre of Sorrento. I would definately recommend this hotel,but I would not recommend driving as it is very stressful. It is easy to travel around on public transport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank florence1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Grand Hotel Aminta was a real find for our 3 night trip to Sorrento. We went Half Board in Garden rooms that were bright, airy and with views towards Westward over olive groves and the sea in the distance.

The views over Sorrento and Mount Vesuvius could not be better and are mesmerising.

The dinner is a la carte standard and we could not fault it, or breakfast.

The hourly return courtesy bus is a relief, especially for the return journey from the town, but the walkdown, although steep, is only 15 minutes but well worth it.

Overall, everywhere looks new, clean, bright and airy and is an ideal place to be based, away from the busyness of Sorrento. We would definately go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the Sorrento views rooms, but all sides are picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hairyhoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel just before the restaurant was due to close, because of severe traffic congestion in the town, but the lady at reception called the restaurant manager who continued to serve dinner for us and a number of other guests who were also held up. The hotel was clean and tidy as was our bedroom which was serviced daily. We had a balcony with sea views which gave stunning views of Naples Bay. The bathroom was a bit dated, but not a major drama. The hotel provide a free shuttle service to the town, which was very useful as parking and driving about the town is absolutely manic. If I go bacl to Sorrento I will never hire a car again.
Shame they didn't have a gym or Spa facilities which would have helped deal with the wonder food they provided.
Take the boat to Capri and if you see Mr Salvatori Chioffi on board the ferry offering his tour guide services to take you around the Island, take the offer. You get on board a luxury bus and a full guided tour as well as doing the 'blue grotto' which is stunning.
Take the train to Pompei, 4 euros return, to do the excavations. The train stops opposite the site. Allow plenty of time. There are also tours to mount Vesuvius from there.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony and sea views is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ptgblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is just lovely. Spotlessly clean, professional service, amazing views across the bay. Romantic balcony to sit out on, even for the likes of us thirty year wedded couples, it brought a sparkle. The rooms are small, like most Italian hotels and ours was right next to reception, but we still loved it. Stayed half board and had a few lunches there which were reasonable. The service was excellent and the themed dinner nights were fun. Sorrento is beautiful, such lovely places to visit - Capri, Pompei, Herculaneum etc............Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AandP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I’ve stayed at the Grand Aminta Hotel (Sorrento) for 6 nights from Mar. 3 to 9, 2013. The lady on the front desk warmly welcomed my arrival by giving me an upgrade to the room with an ocean view. The room is very comfortable and clean. I can view the Sorrento downtown, the Naples bay, and the Mount Vesuvius from my balcony. Believe me, the panoramic view is breathtakingly beautiful. I have also chosen the half-board package offered by the hotel. I enjoyed good meals (including breakfast and dinner) in the hotel restaurant. They offer very good service and food. In addition, their own wines (both red and white) are good tasting. Smooth, not heavy, and very good fit to the food. Overall, I have full of good memories during my stay at the Aminta. I wish very soon I can visit them again.
旅館提供非常親切的服務,從接待、整潔、餐飲、交通,我都給予極高的評價,以此服務品質搭配旅館的收費,整體呈現極高的"性價比",千萬別錯過這家旅館,別嫌她離市中心遠就不考慮,我很Enjoy由小徑(shortcut)僅花約15分鐘走下山,沿路都是檸檬與柳橙樹及俯瞰海灣的無敵美景

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jack0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a wonderful 3 nights we spent in this grand hotel! Quite by accident we found this great place after spending time farther south on the Amalfi Coast. We spent over 2 weeks driving over much of Italy and can say without a doubt that the Grand Hotel Aminta was our favorite stay in Italy. From the moment we booked it at the last minute on Booking.com, we knew we had found a real gem! Upon arrival and departure , we were greeted by Gennaro at reception. He made us feel so welcome and answered all my questions. Special mention of Marilisa also. She is great with directions! Our room was spacious and lovely and it was all maintained up to excellent standards. The view from our room was great but it was the panoramic views from the huge windows in the sitting areas, bar and lovely dining room that were unforgettable. The dining room and staff made every meal a real occasion. The breakfast buffet each morning was a delight and 2 of the 3 evenings we were there, we had dinner at the Aminta dining room. What a great dining room staff! The decor was was just lovely and the view overlooking Naples, Sorrento and the Bay of Naples at night was breathtaking. If we hadn't had such enormous breakfasts, we would have eaten lunch there everyday as well. The free shuttle to the center of Sorrento made it so convenient that we didn't need to move our car from the time we arrived. Everything about Aminta is top notch..thank you for our wonderful stay and if we return to the Sorrento area, we will be staying with you again..when the weather is a little bit warmer next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank llo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#2 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#42 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 2,233 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#19 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing