We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Aminta to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Aminta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great relaxing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed a few days here and loved it!
Big grand hotel with nice sized rooms and a great view over sorrento and the bay!
Courtesy bus is great, excellent breakfast spread! Great coffee, very helpful staff.
Restaurant also does lunch and dinner so handy if you don't want to go down into town for a meal.
Would stay again!

Room Tip: Room 320 was good size with great view of sorrento
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    431
    133
    29
    6
See reviews for
299
868
27
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. Really good rate for bed and breakfast.

The hotel is on a hill overlooking the Bay of Naples and Sorrento. It's ok to walk down to town but it will be quite a task trying to walk there uphill. They offer a free shuttle service from Piazza Antiche Mura. Walk along the main street Corso Italia and with Piazza Tasso behind you, look for a small pedestrian street Via Antonio Sersale on your left. There are iron railings at the entrance to this street. Walk uphill about 100m and you'll see The Lucky Store. The shuttle picks you from this spot. Check times carefully as it doesn't run every hour.

The staff are friendly and polite. There is free wifi- always handy. Rooms are clean and the breakfast is very good. The views over the Bay of Naples on a clear day are absolutely stunning. Sunset was a treat from up there too.

Highly recommended hotel. It's a good base to explore the Amalfi Coast from. I used Gianpiero Fiorentino, private driver and tour guide, who picked me from the hotel. You must have a drive along the coast if you visit Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask about the view from your bedroom.If you want to overlook Vesuvius you have to be over the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel with the best view of Sorrento, Vesuvius and the bay. Looking at earlier reviews it seems to be all said. The welcome, cleanliness, friendliness, food..... The secret lies perhaps in what we found out- that it is privately owned and the owner was actually born there, living in the part behind what is now the reception. He said he considered it is home. You feel that as he and his family dine there often too. The restaurant staff from the Maitre d' through to Felice rand Pietro are kindness itself. Nothing is too much for them. The chef provides a great quality fare and we looked forward to our meals after walking down or once up the rather steep, pleasant path past lemon groves to the town. The shuttle is punctual and the diver amiable. The bar has wonderful views and both it and the ground floor lounge area are great for relaxing and reading. We were sad to leave and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Grand Hotel Aminta was a great place to stay in Sorrento. The rooms were nice and clean and the view was amazing. There was a shuttle that took you into town for free that was very convenient. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here in late August 2011 for 10 nights. As with quite a few of the hotels in Sorrento this hotel is up a hill. However the Hotel provided an hourly mini-bus service which dropped off/ picked up hourly in the centre of Sorrento. (The bus was quite busy on the late-night pick-up so some nights you had to stand. Some guests seemed to get quite worked up about this but it really isn't a problem for the convenience of being taxied back to the hotel!)
The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. There was also plenty of choice at Breakfast.
This hotel was a little more 'packagey' than we're used to (which is probably to be expected as it is featured in Thomas Cook/ Thomsons brochures) and the music around the pool got a bit annoying sometimes but each to their own!
We chose Sorrento as it's a great base for exploring the Amalfi Coast and cheaper than the resorts of Positano, Amalfi and Capri. However if you prefer to be somewhere a bit less 'packagey' I'd recommend the smaller resorts.
A tip - we saved over £400 each on our stay (compared with Thomas Cook prices) by booking both Jet 2 flights and the hotel through Expedia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very few hotels are open in Sorrento in the winter months so we booked the Aminta on the basis that it had the best reviews of those that were open. We were delighted with our choice.

We got off to a very positive start following our booking online directly with the hotel. We received a message with our confirmation to advise that they had a half price promotional rate and we could change to the lower rate if we wanted. Wow - we have never been asked for less money before!

We had a standard room that was simply furnished and very clean. Breakfast was excellent with lots of hot and cold options. We ate in the hotel restaurant each night. The food, service and prices were very good. Complementary minibus in to the town is really handy...and essential as the hotel is on the hill overlooking the town and sea.

Excellent hotel for all - couples and families.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucknow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fabulous hotel perched on a hilltop with mesmerisng views. We loved the shuttle service to Sorrento and used it to go downtown twice a day and sneaked in a siesta in the bargain.We walked down the shortcut once and felt adventurous--try it at least once!Evenings that we stayed in the hotel were even more fulfilling with four course meal, friendly waiters and impeccable service accompanied by live music as well a country dance thrown in.The front desk helped us with choosing our day trips to Positano and Naples.The ambience of the hotel was very relaxed and romantic and we enjoyed all of the six days we stayed there and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Aminta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.