We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Aminta to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Aminta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“High quality experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A five night stay, which started with an immediate upgrade in room, making us feel welcome and valued. the room was clean, well serviced and everything worked. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfasts had great choice for all in a dining room with incredible the views of the bay. The shuttle service was prompt and convenient. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with full view of the bay are more expensive, but not a necessity because of the views from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    433
    133
    29
    6
See reviews for
299
870
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel. We had rooms in the attic and were advertised as no view and only a sky light but this does not do it justice. Rooms were spacious 506 & 507 and doors that we thought were cupboards at knee level opened up and revealed a view you could see laying bed! Room 507 also had a side window, where as 506 did not. They were both perfectly ok and excellent value for money. Hotel staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you, from bar staff to reception, breakfast waiters and the courtesy bus driver. It was spotlessly clean with panoramic views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. We really were very impressed and would recommend it 100%.

You can walk into town but it is very steep on cobbled walkways and takes about 20 minutes. The courtesy bus runs every hour except between 1-3pm and takes about 5-10 minutes depending on traffic. It runs like clock work and is always on time. When it picks up in town to come back driver lets you on to wait for departure, last bus is 11.30pm outside the Lucky Store next to a walkway that leads down to the cobbled streets and shops. The bus and train station is about a 10 minute walk from the drop off/pick up point.

We had 4 nights but wasn't really enough time to do everything, could have done with another two nights. However we did do the Island of Capri (need all day), Pompeii (all day) and a trip on the local bus to Positano and Amalfi (all day). We didnt have time for Vesuvius or Herculanum. All these trips you can do on your own, transport is cheap and easy, no need for expensive tours. if you want any more details just email me.

Hotel has a 3 course set menu every night which was 30 euros without wine, we thought this was a bit expensive and did not dine there. However,one evening after a long day in Capri we just fancied a few drinks in the bar and a club sandwich/burger as had eaten during the afternoon but no bar snacks are served after 2pm which for a 4* hotel we thought a bit odd. There is room service but not sure what time that was available and we really didnt want to sit in the room as we were with friends and were enjoying the view of the bay and the atmosphere in the bar.

My tip would be to eat in town before you get the courtesy bus back if you just want a snack rather than a large evening meal.

Taxis are very expensive. However on the internet we found an excellent transfer service for 80 euro one way from Naples airport to the hotel. On the train it would be 10 euro per person, the trains are very busy and literally stops at every stop - takes a good hour (same by road) then you have to get a taxi from Sorrento train station which is about 20 euro or lug your cases for 10 minutes to the lucky store - if you can find it! All in all, private transfer suited us much better. The company also offered a shared transfer which would be worth considering if there are only 2 of you.

Lovely place, lovely hotel, love to go back someday!

Room Tip: Dont choose an attic room if you are a light sleeper, the wind howls round the roof tops as hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was my husband's 65th birthday present..a trip to Sorrento! The Aminta Hotel made it a trip of a lifetime! Th ambaince and the physical features of both outdoor and indoor facilities were beyond any of our expectations! Our balcony view of the Bay of Naples, the outstanding breakast served by professional waiters, the comfortable lack of formality, the expertise of the staff, the cleanliness of every inch of Aminta, the hourly but to and fro Sorrento,and so much more, made this the ONLY place we would ever stay in the area! Bravo Grand Hotel Aminta!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are more removed from the road noise, however, the door closur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel is very clean and has beautiful views overlooking Sorrento Harbour and Mount Vesuvius.

Food is wholesome but lacks imagination.
Waiter (all Men) service cannot be faulted.

I have three main complaints.
1. The hot breakfast food was allowed to cool because the tureen lid was not kept shut when not being used.

2. Bedroom doors are constantly being slammed by early morning risers.
No relaxation if you choose to lie in.

3. No tea or coffee facilites provided in rooms.

Excellent half-hourly shuttle service (free) to and from the town.

Walking up and down to the town is not recommended.

Overall reception was very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

In 1972, my wife and I celebrated our honeymoon at the Aminta and, over the years, we we have visited this hotel on a number of occasions. We again returned in August to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary. How delighted we were to have made this decision. As always, we were warmly greeted by the proprietor and received excellent service throughout our stay from a most friendly staff.
Our air-conditioned room was bright, cheerful, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and was enhanced by a balcony with magnificent views over the Bay of Naples and the town of Sorrento. At various times during the day, a courtesy bus was available for travellers going down to the town which also made excursions to further destinations by bus, boat or train that much easier.
The hotel is beautifully appointed throughout with most comfortable lounge areas and is greatly enhanced by an open terrace on which one can enjoy drinks, lunch or evening dinner (by request). From the terrace the views by day and night are really stunning and this attractive area is just made for total relaxation and enjoyment.
The restaurant has a splendid and attractive decor and serves excellent meals. Breakfasts are buffet style with most hot dishes freshly cooked, while lunches and/or dinners are served at the tables by an attentive and most friendly staff.
One requirement which we highly approved of was that gentlemen were obliged to wear long trousers in the restaurant.
During our stay, we especially enjoyed two gala dinners with occasional musical entertainment provided in the restaurant, while on many nights, a solo singer performed and guests participated in communal dancing at the pool bar.
We shall certainly return as soon as possible to this most welcoming and delightful hotel.

Room Tip: East facing rooms have beautiful views over Sorrento - morning sunshine and sunsets over the town an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riddings, Derbyshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife & I stopped at the Aminta for a week from 31/08/12. We never look for problems wherever we go just for the sake of moaning but there are no fears here as the food, service & cleanliness was excellent. The bar drinks prices were a little bit pricey but no more than expected but as I explained to my wife It is more cost effective to drink litre jugs of beer that the 0.2 or 0.4lt glasses, it wasn't just me being greedy! All the Riviera trips were good and well organised but the Naples museum was a bit too long however Capri, Amalfi coast, Vesuvius Pompeii etc were great. Some people who stopped down in Sorrento were less than impressed with their hotels but the Aminta was bang on! There is an hourly shuttle bus from the hotel to Sorrento and the last one back is 11.30pm. When choosing your Sorrento hotel it depends what you want but The Aminta was a quality hotel where we were well looked after.The hotel is more of a relaxing chill out place which for a football liking, beer drinking punk rocker suited me fine! Kieron & Joanne

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 which faced the main road but it was no problem. We didn't have a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a great trip! Everything turned out to exceed all our expectations! The hotel was first class, spacious, delightful decor, very comfy room, very clean, delicious food, most attentive staff, everything we could wish for & more! We recommend this hotel most highly & would definitely return. The views over the bay were breathtaking, beautiful pool ( if rather bracing in October!) plenty of relaxing space both inside & outside. Shuttle bus was a real bonus. Some evenings had good local entertainment.

Room Tip: Ours was on the first floor up a magnificent sweeping staircase, but easy lift if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Aminta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.