We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Delightful third stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Aminta to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Aminta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salaberry-de-Valleyfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Delightful third stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just arriving from our 3rd stay at Aminta Hotel, in Sorrento. Always the 2 last weeks of March, with the half board package. Senior employees at the reception desk are very helpful with any situation, so at the dining room, and the bar which has a fantastic view on the Vesuvio. A sunrise-room gives us a splendid view over Sorrento, the mountains and the sea, and the balcony is a plus. One of the owners, Gianfranco is always available to the clients and we appreciate his amability. We don't need to rent a car because, from the Sorrento station, it is easy to go to Pompei and Naples (by train) and by bus to Positano, Amalfi or Ravello.

Room Tip: Rooms with sunrise view give a splendid view over Sorrento
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear guest, it always an honour and pleasure to hear from returning guests. When guests return to the Aminta, we know we are doing our job right. Thank you for posting your great experience at the Aminta, we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    449
    135
    29
    6
See reviews for
313
900
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

After reading the excellent reviews of the Hotel Aminta, we were expecting great things – we weren’t disappointed.
The location just 20 mins walk into Sorrento, through citrus and olive groves and is delightful, and downhill all the way. Getting back could be simpler with the reliable coach that runs there and back every hour.
If you can’t be bothered to go into town, then the views from the terrace, bar and restaurant are sublime.
The hotel is friendly and spotlessly clean, and the staff are very accommodating. The rooms we had were on the 4th floor with views towards Capri. We had great sunsets every evening.
We are a family of 5 – two eleven year olds and a young teenager, so the Hotel arranged our rooms to be next to each other.
We went half board with Thompsons and their service too was fantastic. The welcome was at a beautiful restaurant in Sorrento that purported to be the home of Cannelloni!
Thopmsons trips were a tad expensive (We did three trips: Pompeii & Vesuvius, the Amalfi Coast & Capri) but extremely good. Our advice with these is: don’t go for the meal at the restaurant suggested on the trip, but take a packed lunch. The food was uninspiring and at 13 euros not great value.
The Aminta will supply a packed lunch for 10 euros.
What I’ve left to last is the half board option. The buffet breakfast is truly a banquet in itself and first rate quality. But the evening meals were really amazing with a wide choice if dishes (3 courses) from Rabbit to Duck.
Two evenings were a set menu (Gala & Music nights) with between 3/5 starters being served per sitting. So make sure your hungry!
We left before Breakfast to make out flight home and the Hotel staff made us packed breakfasts to take to the airport.
Now there’s service!
The Aminta’s strength is possibly its weakness. Like many hotels in Italy, it makes no concessions for kids. This was not a problem for us. In the age of the I-thiggy all they needed was wifi that the hotel supplies.
Don’t think twice book it and go – I’m glad we did!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear guest, what a fabulous and thorough review you posted regarding your holiday at the Aminta. We are so happy to hear that you found everything to your satisfaction. Our management and staff work very hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us. From the service, to the food, and the spectacular views, the Aminta aims to please. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon for another unforgettable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed in the Arminta annex - a short walk from the main hotel - where my room commanded great coastal views! The hotel staff are welcoming and helpful - and no aim to help with any question.

I cannot wait to return to Sorrento and the Aminta

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear guest, we would like to extend to you our gratitude for writing your positive review regarding your stay at the Aminta in our annex. Our annex is a special building immersed among lemon and olive groves, just a few steps away from the main hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Aminta just for one night, on my way back from the Amalfi Coast. Hotel was not difficult to find, even moving by public buses, thanks to the directions kindly provided by the staff over the phone. Got an upgrade into a partial sea view room, whic was immaculately furnished all in blue. I simply loved it, particularly bathroom, with its original tiling. Wifi in room worked perfectly as well. Lobby was so spacious and full of light that I even felt to see there and read for a while, something that I rarely do. Free shuttle bus to town is very practical and punctual though walking down through a narrow street bordered by flower-filled patios and gardens was definitely lovely. Pool area looked so inviting but water was still too cold in March, despite the warm weather. Breakfast buffet was extensive and the service spotless. My only observation would be that not all staff was friendly and attentive and some of them were quite patronizing or plainly unattentive, but that was not everybody. In all, a very nice surprise and a hotel I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at the Aminta 22nd - 25th March 2012. The hotel is in a great location on the top of the hill with gorgeous views of Sorrento, Capri and Mount Vesuvius.

Did not need to take the 15 minute walk into town as the free shuttle service ran every hour and was always on time.

We stayed half board - plenty of choice for breakfast including fresh pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages, plus cheeses, ham, yoghurts etc. Fresh coffee and juice also included.

Dinner choice for half board was also excellent - about 5 choices for starters and mains, plus a dessert trolley if you have room!! Excellent waiter service provided and the food was wonderful every evening.

The staff were all so very welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived. We have booked to return to the Aminta with our family and friends in June to celebrate our wedding in Sorrento. We are excited to show them all this wonderful hotel - i cannot recommend it highly enough!

Thank you to Gianfranco and all of his courteous staff - we will see you all again in just over 12 weeks!! Andrew & Laura

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for the rave review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food choices and service. Everyone at the Aminta works very hard to guarantee our client's comfort and relaxation. We look forward to seeing you for your wedding celebration in the summer. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Lovely hotel perched on hillside above Sorrento,views are postcard perfect Amalfi coast at its best.Rooms are a little old fashioned but spotlessly clean,ours had a view to die for,with verandah looking over the port of Sorrento and out to Isle of Capri.Free shuttle bus runs regularly to Sorrento and back,you can walk along a steep path which we did and had lovely views all the way down,takes about 15-20 minutes.Dining area is large and meticulously looked after with grand old style service,bar area is very popular as the stunning views look even better with a beer or wine after the day out exploring the many attractions.Reception gets busy at times however the staff were always helpful and pleasant.I would definitely recommend this hotel,whilst it's not modern it has a real charm that's hard to find.Due to it's location best to arrive and leave by cab or private car as luggage is a pain on the shuttle bus and I wouldn't advise walking with luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Guest, You couldn't have said it better when describing the postcard views from the hotel. Our location is our pride, whether sitting on your balcony or lounging on the terrace the breathtaking views are endless. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the Aminta. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband & I spent 3 nights at Aminta during our time in Sorrento. The location at the top of the hill allows for amazing views out to the Ocean & Sorrento.
The hotel has an amazing buffet breakfast selection and reliable bus transfer to town centre as it's about 20mins walk out.

Our room wasn't huge, basic but clean and we were luckily upgraded to a room with a view.

All staff were incredibly helpfull throughout our entire stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments regarding your holiday at the Aminta. The staff and management take great pride in ensuring that each guest feels relaxed and pampered. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Aminta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.