We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here but get a junior suite if you can afford it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo 10, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Blyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Stay here but get a junior suite if you can afford it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were here for a week at the end of July and upgraded on booking to a junior suite for £20 a night - for 2014 the same upgrade is £74 per night! But as my title states if you can afford it go for it as the difference between a junior suite and the next grade room down can be huge. Saying this I don't think any two junior suites are alike so it a bit of a lottery as to what you will get.

We stayed in room 713 and the only thing that what would improve it would be a refurbished shower. The private roof terrace for this room was spectacular (this is addition to a 6 seat balcony)

The would concur with the other reviewers regarding location and views. The only thing I would recommend would be to go B&B if possible as there as lots of great restaurants in Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    280
    86
    25
    8
See reviews for
278
1,013
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had the most amazing stay at the Bristol Hotel. The hotel is located about 10 minutes outside the town of Sorrento, We got the most unbelievable room, on the 5th floor, with views of the Bay of Naples with Mount Vesuvious in the back ground. The staff of the hotel are so nice and friendly, especially our Maitre D, Matteo and lovely Salvatore on Reception, and the very friendly lady that cleaned our room daily. On arrival, we were delighted to find a bottle of champagne in our room and also on departure, we were given another bottle of champagne with a postcard of all the staff attached. (this was a lovely surprise, I have to say). The Hotel was situated about 5 to 10 minutes outside the town of Sorrento, we loved the walk, as we were up so high, we had a great view of the town on the way down. There is a wonderful swimming pool at the top of the hotel with amazing views, plus you are handed a towel for your sunbed on arrival, the staff at the pool spray and clean each bed as the guest leaves. At the next level up from the pool are these stunning gardens, with swing chairs at every corner, you can sit there and see the entire bay of Naples in the back drop, unreal. The same went for the Restaurant, located on the 7th floor, with the same stunning views (this is where breakfeast was served in the morning. The food was fantastic, anything you wanted from fresh fish to pasta and a bountiful amount of salads to choose from to accompany your meal. The deserts were to 'die' for. The great thing was, that if you were on a half board basis (which we were) you could exchange evening dinner for lunch, no problem, the lunch restaurant was absolutely unreal also, in fact everything in this hotel was top notch, couldnt complain at all. The one piece of advice I would give, is, try to make sure you get a high floor, preferably 5th and upwards .
We went on a few great trips, the one to Vesuvius is well worth it, we climbed to the top , and also the Amalfi Coast, most especially when you see the town of Positano, amazing altogether.
We went to the Isle of Capri, we didnt bother going on a guided tour, we just jumped on the Hydrofoil at the harbour and did our own thing, much better all round, as we could go back to Sorrento when we pleased. All in all, we would definitely go back to the Bristol hotel, such an excellent and comfortable hotel. We decided to eat down in the town of Sorrento one evening at a place called The Buffalo, we didnt care much for our meals, and in fact we both though the food at the hotel was far superior and our hotel staff much nicer people. Would we go back......... 'in the morning'!!! Thank you Bristol Hotel.

Room Tip: High floors, better views and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Bristol for 11 nights at the end of July. It overlooks Marina Grande, with spectacular views of Sorrento town and Mount Vesuvius across the bay it is an absolutley beautiful view.

Pros. The Thomson rep Dave was very helpful with recommendations and any queries we had. The staff at the hotel were very helpful warm and friendly, our room was spacious and very well maintained, the food is excellent with a good choice of menu. I would say this hotel is geared towards couples.

Cons. The only entertainment in the evening is a piano bar, it's ok for a couple of nights. Sorrento town is only 5 minutes walk away, Though you do have to cross a busy road outside the hotel and the cars/mopeds generally don't stop for you at the crossing.

Apart from these couple of minor things we loved our holiday in Sorrento at the Hotel Bristol. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone going to Sorrento. and would go back again without hesitation. Fantastico!

Room Tip: The hotel is on a fairly busy road so try to get a room above the forth floor. The sea view is Amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have just returned from this hotel situated in a stunning location overlooking the bay to mount versuvius. The views are beautiful. Would suggest when booking ask for a room on a higher floor to get the most of the views. This is a lovely hotel and the service is excellent. I stayed on a half board basis and the food is excellent along with the service. You can swap your lunch for an evening meal leaving you to go into town in the evening to sample the many restaurants. Many guests there had returned to the hotel three or four times so that says it all as to this gem of a place. The town of sorrento is a 10 minute walk away. Even though this hotel is on a main and can be quite busy road, you can here no noise at all at least from my room on the 6th floor. The staff here were very friendly and helpful. Our room had everything we needed, and the shower was lovely, so no problems at all. The pool was beautiful and this hotel operated a no reserve sunbed policy! if you did put your towel on there the night before etc it was promptly taken off. When I return to sorrento I will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed in this fantastic hotel for 11 nights in mid July. This was a return visit, the last one being 16 years ago on our honeymoon! This time we had our two sons with us! We had a fantastic time, thanks to the kindness, courtesy and attention of the staff of the Bristol. In fact, I would go so far as to say that our holiday started even before we arrived! Having booked directly with the hotel we had lots of questions about facilities, day tours etc. and I cannot compliment Ercole enough. To say he is efficient is an understatement! There were times when he replied to my e-mails within minutes and reassured me that we would be well looked after. He was true to his word! Nothing was a problem and he, and the other staff at reception were so helpful, in every way.

This hotel is in a perfect location. It is perched high above Marina Grande, and has the most spectacular views by day and night, including that of Mount Vesuvius. A real bonus is the fact that there is a footpath from this hotel into Sorrento town. Every other hotel around the corner and up the cliff have to operate courtesy buses, or not, as the case may be!

We had a delightful family room, in fact it could be described as a two-bedroom suite. What was really quirky about it was the revolving oval 'panel' in the wall between our room and our sons' room. While our sons aren't babies, it was a great way of checking on them without waking them up by opening their door! It would be brilliant for people with younger children. The room was really clean, maintained to a very high standard daily. We had a balcony and sea view on the 6th floor. I felt like 'Shirley Valentine', I didn't want to leave!

Having stayed here on honeymoon we knew the type of clientele that this hotel attracts - mainly couples and the 'older' generation. No offence intended, my parents recommended this hotel to me! We were a bit worried that our sons would stand out or not enjoy the experience as much as us but our concerns were ill-founded. The staff of the Bristol were brilliant with them! They made a real fuss of them and were genuinely friendly. Matteo, the Maitre D, said that if they did not like anything on the menu for dinner he would go into the town and get something for them! He was so charming and friendly. Pasquale was equally courteous, efficient and helpful.

There were a few other children in the hotel but you could count them on one hand. This is what we expected. We wanted this trip to be a blend of culture, pool and sun, and that is exactly what it was. We did find that it was necessary to get to the pool early but this was only because we wanted four sunbeds beside each other and we wanted to make sure that we got umbrellas for the boys to be out of the sun. Most people didn't want to use umbrellas so this wasn't a problem and some people even offered to swap sun loungers so that we could be together, much appreciated!

The hotel offers a comprehensive list of trips (Ercole will gladly forward the schedule and prices to you upon request). We went to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Mt. Vesuvius, the Amalfi Drive and Capri. Their tours were very well organised with excellent guides. There were no glitches. We received a voucher the day before departure and Salvatore and other reception staff bade us farewell from the steps of the hotel!

The hotel has a beautiful bar, with a long outdoor balcony. Candle-lit tables overlooking a sparkling Bay of Naples by night, with the occasional fire-works display, what more can you ask for? Really efficient service! This is what we got, however, this is where I flounder! He didn't have a name badge and we neglected to ask his name, but he was so efficient and again, charming! Always remembered our room number and order!

There was music every other night. I notice some people say in their review that it was stuck in the 80s. Mmmm...perhaps...but there is only so much one person can do with a piano and microphone! This is not a kiddies club or 'Macarena' type of hotel !! The music was 'in the background', and atmospheric. People danced, young and old. People celebrated with 'honeymooners' and newly-weds. I loved it! Don't knock the 80s!

Many thanks to all the staff of the Bristol for making our holiday so enjoyable and relaxing. We hope to return soon! Moore family.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to be the best and pay extra for a balcony, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived at the Bristol having travelled from Rome that morning. We got checked in fast and shown to our room, on arrival in the room we were given I realised that the images I had seen of rooms when booking didn't match the room we were given. After speaking to the manager and explaining we were disappointed with the room and as it was our honeymoon we had spent a lot, the owner offered us a free upgrade to one of the hillside villas. We could not have been happier it was the perfect room ( although it was good climb uphill it was so worth it), the room was all white interior, with huge 4 poster bed, seating area, large bathroom, large patio area with hammock, day bed and Jacuzzi! The hotel itself is lovely, nice terrace overlooking the bay of Sorrento and Naples in the distance, the pool was nice and peaceful with loungers always freely available. Our booking was half board - we had decided that we will probably just eat out as we didn't want to be limited to hotel food - after our first dinner we were hooked - the food was great and the staff really looked after you and made you feel special! the days that we went on day trips we had breakfast and dinner and the days we spent by the pool we had breakfast and lunch. The food at lunch is also good with loads of choice from pizza, salads, pasta, burgers etc. I can't speak highly enough of the staff in the hotel, so much so that we looked forward to seeing them at breakfast, lunch and dinner! I would recommend this hotel to couples who are looking for a peaceful holiday, there were a few families but mostly it was honeymooners and couples between 30-50years. I would also recommend this hotel over one situated in the main square area because of the views - they are simply stunning and you see them at every part of your day from breakfast to lunch to the pool to dinner and you never get tired of it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a wonderful week in this gem, very well appointed for the views of marina grande and the bay, wonderful watching as the sun set over mount vesuvius, and all the lights were twinkling. It is on the road to Amalfi, which is well worth a visit, and on the bus route for local villages like St Agata. Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and helpful and service excellent, all in all a good choice for Sorrento and out of the main town which for me was a bonus.

Room Tip: Sea view always a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.