We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Desiree

Save Saved
You added Hotel Desiree to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Desiree
Via del Capo 31B, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We always stay at Hotel Desiree when in Sorrento,if we are in luck and it's available. The owners and staff are just so friendly and helpful, the prices are excellent and the location is just magnificent. It's set somewhat up the hill Via Capo heading up the cliffs out of town, but we love the ritual of that walk with those breathtaking views, which are best enjoyed from the roof terrace with a Prosecco! Thoroughly recommended

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    98
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
112
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Let; face it basic 2* hotel, so one can't expect standard of luxurious accommodation. It is basic hotel with limited facillities, but very pleasant, beautifully located on the cliff with panoramic views on the Sorrento bay and price that can hardly be match with hotel in this category in Sorrento).

Pros:
Beautiful views,
Private beach accessed by the lift only ( this can be a problem for people that afraid of lifts, and it is very old type of structure)
Great price/value ratio
Helpful and friendly staff

Cons:
limited breakfast
worn our rooms, with cheap decor
Long walk to the town
Private beach a bit neglected

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Hotel Desiree is amazing!!! My boyfriend and I stayed at various hotels in Rome, Sorrento, Florence, and Venice....and of them all Hotel Desiree was by far the best. The rooms are a decent size and in decent shape...but what makes this place one of a kind is the mind-blowing views, fantastic service, and private beach!! We had a room with an ocean view, which you can request if you email the hotel...it was breathtaking. Even if you don't have an ocean view room, there is a massive rooftop terrace with full ocean views from every inch of it. My boyfriend and I ate dinner up there and watched the sunset...it was simply incredible. Tony is usually at the front desk, and he is so helpful, cheery, and funny! He gave us great advise about the area and was in general just so warm and pleasant. The private beach is also completely unbeatable. We swam almost every day here...it was never too crowded, and great for a relaxing time on a raft or for a long swim or snorkel. It is important to note that this hotel is not in town, but the walk to town only takes 10 to 15 minutes depending on how quickly you walk. It is further from the train, so you will need to be prepared for a longer walk (about half an hour) or a taxi ride when you first come in to town. That being said, if you stay in town you will be to low to see the breathtaking views that you get when you stay up on the cliffs in a hotel like Hotel Desiree. We spent a long time deciding between staying at a hotel right in town or in a hotel up on the cliffs above town, and we were so glad we chose to stay up on the cliffs, the walk to town is well worth the views you get!! Thank you Hotel Desiree and Tony for such an amazing experience! This place is one of a kind!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Hotel Desiree is on the edge of town---although within walking distance, there is a bus that comes to take you into town. Parking is right there which is great. The room was okay but without much of a view, but when we asked, were moved to a room with a nice look at the ocean and of the beach below. The breakfast was good, so no major complaints, except their beach which you can take an elevator down to was filled with litter and garbage. Since they advertise their beach, even though we were there in off-season, people do swim on nicer days and it should be cleaned up. That's the reason I gave it a 4/5 instead full marks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was an excellent small hotel perched on a cliff above the Mediterranean. Our room had a balcony and window with an excellent sea view. Our hosts were very helpful and extremely pleasant. The room was clean, well furnished and well tended during our four night stay. Bus stops right out front with access to the entire Amalfi Coast, and an easy walk to beautiful Sorrento's centro. Very reasonable, with an excellent complimentary breakfast. Going to Sorrento? Go here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowthorne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel Desiree was a great find. Great value for money and excellent staff who happily give advice and info on trips and places to eat, we were not disappointed by any of their recommendations. The room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable exactly what we needed after 5 days rushing around Rome. The views were stunning and we loved sitting on the sun terrace (top of hotel) with a couple of beers ad nibbles watching the sun go down. At the last minute we decided to cut our stay in Sorrento short by a night so we could drive back to Rome at a slower pace, being a bit of a technophobe I found changing this reservation via my phone impossible....in stepped Corinna who by the time I returned from my day out had contacted Booking.com and resolved this for me. Thank you. We will definitely recommend and hopefully return to this hotel one day

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here early October. Loved this little hotel. It is a little hike uphill out of town, but it is not bad. And, it is so much cooler up the hill. Our room was spotless and the bathroom was so large. Loved the tub and shower. We had french doors that over looked the sea and we kept them open all night. The breeze was fantastic and the sounds of the waves just lulled us to sleep. The staff are phenomenal. Very helpful and so friendly. We booked the boat tour to Capri through the hotel. We were picked up and dropped off at the entrance. Lovely day on Capri. HIghly recommend the tour. And the best part, we left our laundry at the front desk and it was done when we returned. We were really spoiled at the Hotel Desiree.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Address: Via del Capo 31B, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desiree is just 10 minutes’ walk from the town centre, in a quite and panoramic location. Clean and spacious the rooms have views of the Desiree’s gardens and/or the sea of Gulf of Naples.Lovely panoramic terrace with bar, parking and lift to reach its free private beach. Harbour and train station are also just a pleasant walk away and buses run from nearby the hotel. Staff at the Desiree are friendly and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Desiree Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Desiree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.