We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent choice for Sorrento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Desiree

Save Saved
You added Hotel Desiree to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Desiree
Via del Capo 31B, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Terrace, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“a decent choice for Sorrento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Hotel Desiree is on the edge of town---although within walking distance, there is a bus that comes to take you into town. Parking is right there which is great. The room was okay but without much of a view, but when we asked, were moved to a room with a nice look at the ocean and of the beach below. The breakfast was good, so no major complaints, except their beach which you can take an elevator down to was filled with litter and garbage. Since they advertise their beach, even though we were there in off-season, people do swim on nicer days and it should be cleaned up. That's the reason I gave it a 4/5 instead full marks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    96
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
110
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was an excellent small hotel perched on a cliff above the Mediterranean. Our room had a balcony and window with an excellent sea view. Our hosts were very helpful and extremely pleasant. The room was clean, well furnished and well tended during our four night stay. Bus stops right out front with access to the entire Amalfi Coast, and an easy walk to beautiful Sorrento's centro. Very reasonable, with an excellent complimentary breakfast. Going to Sorrento? Go here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowthorne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel Desiree was a great find. Great value for money and excellent staff who happily give advice and info on trips and places to eat, we were not disappointed by any of their recommendations. The room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable exactly what we needed after 5 days rushing around Rome. The views were stunning and we loved sitting on the sun terrace (top of hotel) with a couple of beers ad nibbles watching the sun go down. At the last minute we decided to cut our stay in Sorrento short by a night so we could drive back to Rome at a slower pace, being a bit of a technophobe I found changing this reservation via my phone impossible....in stepped Corinna who by the time I returned from my day out had contacted Booking.com and resolved this for me. Thank you. We will definitely recommend and hopefully return to this hotel one day

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here early October. Loved this little hotel. It is a little hike uphill out of town, but it is not bad. And, it is so much cooler up the hill. Our room was spotless and the bathroom was so large. Loved the tub and shower. We had french doors that over looked the sea and we kept them open all night. The breeze was fantastic and the sounds of the waves just lulled us to sleep. The staff are phenomenal. Very helpful and so friendly. We booked the boat tour to Capri through the hotel. We were picked up and dropped off at the entrance. Lovely day on Capri. HIghly recommend the tour. And the best part, we left our laundry at the front desk and it was done when we returned. We were really spoiled at the Hotel Desiree.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved this little hotel. It was a breath of fresh air during a long trip. The room was old fashioned and quirky but very clean and comfortable. The staff was so helpful and friendly, they knew all of the best places to eat and shop. The bus stopped just outside the door and was so conveinent for the town and train station. We are already planning a trip back we liked it so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I keep coming back. The hotel encouraged me to take the commuter train to Pompeii. Just a couple of Euros and thirty minutes and I was at the front gate of the ruins. It couldn't have been easier. Back at the Hotel Desiree I had a room with a balcony that looked out at the sea. The last time I visited they sent me via bus to Positano. My next trip I'll try Capri via boat. The Desiree is the perfect place to stay for all of these day trips.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

By and large hotels in Sorrento are expensive. If you are looking for a cheaper option this is a good one. Our room (near reception and the breakfast room) was a little noisy but not unbearably so - the view from the window (over the Bay of Naples towards Vesuvius) was stunning. Staff are really helpful (including sending useful hints with the confirmation email concerning personal safety and travel).
As others have written, it's a way out of the main town with a longish walk uphill - not good after a night out! Because of this, and the number of steps at the hotel, I don't think this is suitable for people with limited mobility (or who don't like a walk).

Free parking is available at the hotel - but space is extremely limited. Staff often need to move residents' cars.

We had a good time but are (relatively) fit and like walking. If you don't - avoid. If you do - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Address: Via del Capo 31B, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desiree is just 10 minutes’ walk from the town centre, in a quite and panoramic location. Clean and spacious the rooms have views of the Desiree’s gardens and/or the sea of Gulf of Naples.Lovely panoramic terrace with bar, parking and lift to reach its free private beach. Harbour and train station are also just a pleasant walk away and buses run from nearby the hotel. Staff at the Desiree are friendly and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Desiree Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Desiree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.