We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location for a family holiday ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel Tramontano to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely location for a family holiday ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lovely hotel - clean and comfortable.

We can't understand why there could be bad reviews of this hotel as it was very nice. We had a very enjoyable stay!

The location is ideal, the staff were friendly and the food was delicious. the view from the hotel terrace is superb in the evening and the access to the sea is ideal.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    176
    79
    26
    17
See reviews for
137
361
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have just returned home after our stay at the Tramontano. This was our 13th visit to this wonderful hotel where we meet up with all our friends who return each year to the same hotel.
The number of repeat guests is evidence as to how good this hotel really is.
The hotel is amongst the best in Sorrento and it cannot be beaten for its location, views, accessibility, attentive staff and exceptional food.
During our stay, the hotel lived up to its usual expectations and it goes without saying the staff and management team treated us as part of their "family".
Evening Meals are now also served on the Terrace by the pool and this adds another dimension to the hotel.
The Bolognaise Pizza served at lunchtime was 10/10.
Special thanks to Alfonso and Pepe for their wonderful (off menu) cocktails.

We have already booked for next year.

Room Tip : book a sea view room with full balcony - it's worth the the extra just for the views !!

Room Tip: Book Sea View with full balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

When you arrive in this hotel you know you are getting your money's worth. We stayed on the 4th floor with a balcony overlooking the sea and Mt Vesuvius. Breathtaking view.
Food was excellent as well as service. One block away from all the shops and historical places.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

From start to finish, the good folks at this hotel treated us like royalty. We had an excellent honeymoon in Sorrento and especially at the Imperial Hotel Tramontano. Wonderful views and wonderful people. The staff and management were so very helpful, and they helped us greatly when it came to organizing day trips. A special mention has to go to Pepe and Alfonso who work at the main bar. Absolute gentlemen. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at the Imperial Tramontano from July 11th for 1 week. From the moment we checked in at the reception we knew that our stay would be excellent. All of the Staff from the senior managers and staff at reception , the manager of the dining-room and his team, to Alphonso and his team by the pool and the very good chefs to Giovani who maintained the pool area and provided us with towels , were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in the old part of Sorrento which is beautiful . The breakfast was excellent every morning and so good to be seated with views over the Bay of Naples. Our room was large with views of the garden.
We are looking forward to returning and staying longer. Thank you to everyone at the Tramontano.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful week here. The hotel is certainly in a very central location with easy access to the town and to the marinas (ensure you try both, as one is great for boats to the major places and the other is simply beautiful). Whilst being so central, the hotel is also very peaceful.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and for me I don't know why people have previously complained about the breakfast. It was lovely.

Our reduction on stars is simply because our room was on the small side with two single beds. Not exactly what we want on holiday, although we I'd have a balcony as requested with a wonderful view. You can't have it all! Would definitely return but would request a different room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My daughter and I stayed a week at this beautiful hotel. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was in a great location. The pool was the perfect size for swimming and relaxing, and the views were just amazing whether you are ocean side or garden view. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel Tramontano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.