We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Tramontano!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Save Saved
You added Imperial Hotel Tramontano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Venere.com
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 97 hotels in Sorrento
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Tramontano!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Tramontano back in September, along with my husband and parents. The hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops, train station (day trip to Pompei), buses (day trip to Amalfi coast), etc. Hotel was well appointed, and the view from the terrace bar was amazing! The included continental breakfast was good enough for me (delicious pastries!), but not excellent by American standards. I did not spend much time at the pool- my husband and father did while mom and I were at a cooking class- they seemed to enjoy it just fine! The only tiny drawback is they charge for wifi by the minute. Which isn't a huge deal, but Internet is helpful sometimes for trip planning/ research.

This was my husband's and my first trip to Sorrento, and if we are ever lucky enough to go back, we would stay at the Tramontano again- no question!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    143
    67
    23
    15
See reviews for
111
264
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good location with a lovely view of the bay; Naples & Vesuvius can be seen in the distance. Rooms are nice enough, spacious by Euro standards; we had a regular room ( not a suite but they are available). Few minutes walking distance to main piazzas and historic center. I think it's pricey for $378/ night but may be cheaper at some other time....we were here 4 nights over the new year, but I presume prices go up in Summer high season. I might opt to save some $$ and stay elsewhere, siñce sorrento itself is more of a home base from which to visit other coastal places, rather than it being a destination. Nice little town but you can see it in a day, including the very interesting wood marketry museum. One more note.. room was hot & stuffy ( no air circulation) and were not able to control heat nor fan....slept with balcony doors open every night for pleasant ocean breeze in December! Lastly, mattress was rock hard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our first trip to Sorrento. We had a great, relaxing five days in this hotel. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We didn't use the restaurant as we wanted to explore the wonderful town each night, but the breakfasts were very nice with a good selection and exceptional views.
We are already planning our next visit to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for a sea view room. Instead we had a view of the lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in Sorrento. Extremely friendly people, very good restaurant, glorious views of the Gulf of Naples, Capri, and Vesuvius. Unique experience. The legend says that the house belonged to the parents of Torqato Tasso. Do not miss the gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed during a rainy three nights in November with our two little kids (8 and 9). Terrific central location, walked everywhere in Sorrento. Our breakfasts in the hotel were good with special requests honored by Luigi and his staff. The views from our balcony along the coast were awesome. I can imagine what a great place to stay this must be in the summer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been there for three days in November. The position of the hotel is very good and you are minutes from Tasso Square.
People were very nice and happy to help you with your requests.
It struck me that in the west wing of the hotel was born the poet Torquato Tasso and many writers( Goethe, Keats, Shelley..) were in this hotel for their trip in Italy.
The view from my room was absolutely normal (the pool of the hotel) but the restaurant has an amazing view of the Sorrento gulf and the Vesuvio.
For the price I paid I would expect a better shape for the bathroom, room forniture etc but I think you can't have all together...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned from the Tramontano with friends - what a classy amicable place! Even the rain did not dampen our spirits. The hotel is great and the ambiance first class. Luigi, the manager, is the best along with the entire staff. They took care of our every wish and I wish I were back there right now. The view is outstanding and you even feel important just walking the grounds. Breakfast with Luigi (the maitre 'd) and his staff is delicious and entertaining. We had dinner one night and it was incredibly good for a hotel. The place is spotless with great water pressure. Looking forward to returning there soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano
Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel Tramontano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.