We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regina Sorrento to your Saves list
Hotel Regina Sorrento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marina Grande,10, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Regina made a really nice base to explore the Sorrento area. Very clean rooms. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. The breakfast room has an amazing view of the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheaper room, garden view with no balcony. It was great as a base but of you are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    89
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
222
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

5 Dec 2012: Hotel was in an excellent location. View of Mt Vesuvius from the breakfast room. Rooms were well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, with a selection of hot foods as well as the standard european fare. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend to others to stay. Hotel can be a bit difficult to find if you are arriving by car - but if you trust your GPS (a must for driving in Italy) you will arrive safely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hotel Regina in early November just as Sorrento was slowing down from the busy tourist season. Our room on the second floor had beautiful views across the bay. The breakfast room, which provided an excellent breakfast, had magnificent views and it was lovely to sit there over coffee. We enjoyed Sorrento and our day trips to Pompeii and Capri. We did find the hotel a little noisy – the walls are thin and there was lots of door banging but I think this was off- set by the views. The room was very clean and provided everything you could need. One negative was a leak from the shower that I felt should have been fixed earlier as it left water around the toilet and we had to place towels down so as not to slip.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for an Easter break. Booked one of the better rooms, and thus got the room pictured. The view was marvellous, and the service impeccable. Very good breakfast, with a marvellous Maitre. Nice garden with pool (too chilly to use). Excellent bar, with good lunch service (salads and sandwiches) that could also be served in the garden. No restaurant, though they served set menus some evenings. We got very good restaurant recommendations from the front desk, though.

The only negative would probably be the slightly risky walk to the hotel, due to traffic in narrow street.

And as for other hotels in Sorrento being sceptical for two men to share a room: no problems with that here.

Heartily recommended, planning to return next year!

Room Tip: Do pay extra for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family decided to visit Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri, Naples, and the surrounding countryside this November. We selected the Hotel Regina because of its favorable location and stayed for 5 days. The weather was a pleasant surprise - the temperatures were around 20°C while back home in the States, it was snowy and hovering around 0°C. We took a hovercraft (a 10-15 minute walk to the dock from the hotel) to Capri and toured the Blue Grotto. We drove to Herculaneum (about a half-hour) and were enthralled by the architecture and art (same was true for Pompeii). We also took a hovercraft to Naples to visit the "underground". The folks at the hotel were extremely freindly and helpful in providing advice as well as making dinner reservations. We're looking forward to returning to the hotel in the future.
We had a corner room (third floor beneath the restaurant) and had a spectacular view of Vesuvius that was acroos the Bay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Regina in September, at the tail-end of a 3 week trip to Italy. The location was excellent, just a few minutes walk from the alleyways and shops of Sorrento, and we specifically requested (and got) a deluxe room on the first floor with a good view over the Bay of Naples.

The room was very good - it had a safe and fridge and the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small and lacked a bidet. However, this was only a very minor inconvenience.

Breakfasts on the subroof level were excellent, with a very good selection, especially in the fruit and pasty categories. There was even champagne available! The waiters are very friendly, but they do tend to "hover" a bit more than necessary. Still, I was always happy to engage in conversation to improve my Italian.

At night, the rooftop (one floor above the restaurant) is open as a cocktail bar, and the views and ambience are wonderful.

The hotel pool, despite what you see in the photos or online brochures is very small. I could swim across it in just 5 or 6 strokes. But you don't go to Sorrento to spend your day by a hotel pool, so a quick plunge and a poolside cocktail before dinner is all most people need.

The staff at the front desk were excellent. On our arrival, they knew who we were even before we produced our reservation. On our departure two days later, they quickly arranged for a taxi to the train station.

The road outside the hotel entrance is normally quiet, but you do get the occasional "happy" tourist wandering past. Also, listen out for the stray cats (and kittens) around the corner, but don't be too concerned about their welfare - they're very common in Sorrento!

Overall, a very good up-market hotel, without being too expensive, which I'd happily stay in again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor or higher for a better view of the Bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect quite location at the edge of downtown (10min walk to Piazza Tasso).
Here you avoid all the noise from cars and scooters that constantly drive you crazy all around Sorrent.
The property does not get you in the first place from the outside, but once you're in...:)!
Fantastic rooftop breakfast/restaurant with probably one of the best views in town.
Well decorated nice rooms. Comfy beds. Some with balcony have (partial) sea-views.
Everything spotlessly clean.

Gennaro (the GM of the property) really puts the heart into his profession being a host.
A warm welcome and always there for our needs.
Giuseppe (waiter breakfast and dinner) knows you and your breakfast wishes from second day on.
Luigi really does a wondeful barjob.
Mario handels the rececption without any stress and always with a smile.

Will definitely return to Hotel Regina.
Best value for money.
Why try anything else when you had a perfect stay?!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Sorrento

Address: Via Marina Grande,10, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Regina is a brand new hotel located in the heart of Sorrento. Recentely renewd it offers all comforts and an amazing view on the Gulf of Naples. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and offer free wi fi internet connection, ensuite bathroom with shower and some are equipped with jacuzzi bath. The reception is open 24/24 and a buffet breakfast is served every morning in our panoramic breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Regina Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Regina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.