We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Friendswood, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here 4 nights last week. Hotel is first class with an efficient staff. We had stayed here once before on the fifth floor with a view of the Bay of Naples. We requested a "prestige" room this time and received a smaller room on the 6th floor with the same magnificent view. The twin beds were pushed together to make a double. I'm guessing that the difference between premium and prestige rooms is the altitude. One other annoyance was that the toilet was placed behind the bathroom door. This puts the doorstop right in front of the commode; an unpleasant opportunity to stub your toe.
All of these are minor nits. Everyone of the staff was cordial and pleasant. The view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius is amazing. We were able to sleep with the windows open. When the printer was on the fritz, the lady at the desk had me email to the hotel address and they printed out the boarding pass in the office! The hotel is a convenient 10 minute walk from the the train station and a 10€ taxi ride or a 20 minute walk from the boats.

Room Tip: The website said prestige double, the reservation said prestige twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    185
    57
    19
    9
See reviews for
202
567
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a short, one night stay in Sorrento, stopping there overnight so we could take the ferry the next day to Capri. From the moment we stepped into the foyer, we were impressed by the overall appearance of the lobby and spacious sitting rooms. Marco was so pleasant, greeting us warmly and quickly giving us our room keys so we could go out and enjoy the beautiful day. We had a car so Marco had someone bring in the luggage and then park the car for us. The luggage was brought to our room. As we were staying only one evening I didn't book an expensive room, so we were on the street side. I have to say it was a bit noisy at night with the scooters roaring by but as we like to sleep with open windows/sliding doors, it was louder than it would have been if the doors had been shut. We enjoyed a leisurely drink (or two!) on their magnificent veranda overlooking the Gulf of Sorrento after we got settled. A friendly waiter brought us our drinks after ordering at the bar and he also brought complimentary snacks. We had a substantial complimentary breakfast in a beautiful dining room overlooking the water. As we were traveling by ferry (within walking distance of the hotel!) to Capri for the day, we checked-out around 9am but they we kind enough to hold our luggage for us until we returned around 5pm. When we got back to the hotel, they had someone bring our car to us, loaded our luggage, and we were off to Positano!

Room Tip: If you're staying for more than one night, get a water view. The view is worth it! The street-si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent a week here mid April. The hotel is gorgeous! Book a sea veiw room as others are a bit noisy from street traffic. Our room was spacious and immaculate with gorgeous bath. Staff were polite and very accommodating. Many lovey areas to while away the afternoon. The pool was even open which was lovely. Breakfast this time of the year is served in the dining room with terrific views over the gardens and the same beyond. Only complaint, there no AC this time of year and traffic was too loud to keep windows open. I asked for a fan but there wasn't one.

Room Tip: Higher floor with sea view. Not low on street side!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guests,
It has been a pleasure to read your beautiful comment on Trip advisor and we are so happy to know that you have enjoyed the amazing view from our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read: “one of the best hotels”!
We can say that our service and facilities and our location is consistent trying to improve and please our guest as best as possible, from our housekeeping staff to the front desk, concierge, kitchen and restaurants, we go that extra mile to satisfy our guests and making them truly feel like they are at home. If you say that the air conditioning was not running, it means that you have stayed when we still had the heating on because at night was still cold.
We thank you for having chosen our hotel once again for your stay, and look forward to having you back.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for four nights as family at this hotel in Sorrento. The hotel location is great and close to everything. Thanks to Mr. Giuseppe who understood our requirement and rearranged our rooms. The view of the sea and the mountain from our rooms were excellent. The hotel backyard was very relaxing and very good. The staff were friendly and the breakfast area is very nice with excellent choices.

Room Tip: Best views, great breakfast, and clean rooms with excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review.
We do endeavor to make our guest stay with us the best possible experience that it can be.
Thank you for appreciating my work and the way I treat customers. It is such an enormous pleasure to see our guests enjoying their time here and a pleasure to read such lovely reviews. The Grand Hotel Royal is a rather special place; made so by guests like yourselves and the team; of whom I’m most proud. I am delighted that your stay was a memorable one and happy that we shall hopefully have the pleasure to welcome you back at some point in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 6 nights in April. Hotel is wonderfully located with amazing
views of Versuvius and Bay of Naples. Room was sea facing with balcony (north facing so not sunny). Comfortable and clean. Staff most polite and smiling. We had great sunny weather so were able to sit in garden or by pool - all so attractive.
The garden, pools and sundeck private to hotel were not open until May 1st but looked gorgeous.
Hotel restaurants were good, but there are also plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby off Tasso Piazza.
Station only a couple of minutes walk from hotel, so can visit Herculanium, Pompeii etc by train for a euro each way! Ferries to Capri a 10 minute walk - takes 15 minutes to get there by fast ferry.
Would go back any time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south (streetside) would have sunny balconies but noise from traffic might be annoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review following your stay here at the Royal, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the "Royal". When we are able to meet the expectations of our customers means that we are working well and we pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests. Your nice comment regarding our staff is the best compliment that a Hotel Manager can receive and I will be pleased to share it with my entire team; your kind recognition will be very well received.
The location is certainly great just 5 minutes walking through the beautiful Lauro Park to the Piazza Tasso. The rooms are all carefully finished, prepared and controlled by our housekeeper and cleanliness is of utmost importance.
On behalf of the whole team, I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Sorrento: the Royal!
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal for a long weekend in April and absolutely loved it. The hotel is beautiful, classically stylish, clean, well-run and in a stunning location overlooking the bay. The staff also couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guests,
Thank you for this review on the Hotel Royal!
It is a pleasure to read these words of appreciation, I'm so happy you had good time at the “Royal” We’re glad we were able to meet your expectation of how a hotel should be. This is really what we always strive for: to make every stay worth its while and to meet every client’s heart’s desire.
Thank you for highlighting our great staff. It gives me great pleasure to know that the staff left such a magnificent impression on you as our service is something we take great pride in. We truly appreciate when guests notice our dedication and our attention to detail and I am thrilled that you wrote: " We will be back!”
Yours Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the grand for 5 nights. We were coming from Bologna and took to train to Naples and then took a local train to Sorrento. It was a 5 minute walk to the hotel so the location is amazing. It is close to the center- maybe a couple minute walk. Get a room overlooking the water- the views are amazing. The room for the three of us (our daughter is 12) was very spacious with plenty of storage. The bathroom is nice and the balcony overlooking the amazing view was great to come back to rest in the early evening and catch the sunset. The staff was great and breakfast was good as well. The breakfast room has amazing views as well. All in all, we had a great stay and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write this brilliant review of your stay at the Grand Hotel Royal.
I am delighted that you chose our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for highlighting our great staff; we truly appreciate when guests notice our dedication and our attention to detail and I am thrilled that you will recommend the “Royal” because of these personal touches.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Kind regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined superior four-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.