We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 4 star hotel with good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Canterbury UK
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Lovely 4 star hotel with good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Have just returned from 8 days in Sorrento at Grand Hotel Royal. First the few bits I did not like, The bathroom was very small with poor equipment. I complained about the faulty shower head on second day but nothing was done about it. Having said that the room was very good and very well appointed. The staff here are very attentive and there is no more problem with grumpy female reception staff, just very helpful guys. Breakfast is wonderful but could have done with some none sweet pastries, again the service was good and you can order eggs any way you would like. Breakfast also goes on between 7:00 and 10:00 so there is a time to suit everyone. another down side you are asked to sign at time of ordering so you have no idea how much you are signing for. Having said this we had no problems with our final account. The outside areas are well kept with nice furniture. We had a problem with our last dinner, my wife's first course took 1 hour and 10 minutes to arrive and they blamed her for leaving the table for a comfort break, they said they had cooked it again but it still arrived cold. My second course then arrived with the scallops being raw. This was sorted out by the Hotel management removing items from our bill. but we did have to fight for that. Having said that we had enjoyed other meals with no problems and I would return to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Have a sea facing room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review of the Grand Hotel Royal
I am so happy to read that you had a good stay with us and that you will be returning to us upon your next visit.
We do pride ourselves on delivering only the best service to our guests as you will see from the countless comments here on Trip advisor so to read that we have failed on this occasion in same point saddens me. However, we would like to make some clarifications:
The vouchers signed by the clients are controlled by multiple departments and we never have problems with the bill as it is always the right one.
The meals are highly appreciated by our customers and, as you know, they are freshly prepared.
The head waiter has already explained to you that when they came to serve the first course, they noticed that your wife was not more at the table and, always to give a better service to our valued guests, they did not serve it but brought it back. After that your wife returned to the table, it was cooked again and served at the table. Precisely because of this, the dinner has lasted longer than expected.
You have eaten many times in our restaurant and you have always found it all very good if not great. Once that you have found something not of your own taste, we have, without any problem, removed it from your bill.
Thank you for having called the "Royal" "a wonderful hotel" and for your kind words towards our staff; they have greatly appreciated.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    178
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
193
547
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Arrived at the hotel on the 4 April for 7 nights, at reception the staff were courteous, efficient and very pleasant, we paid for a sea view room and wow what a view from the 5th floor, virtually over the pool, we could not have asked for a better room or view. The bedroom was very comfortable, all inlaid wood matching furniture, very clean, the bathroom had his and her wash basins, the room was just like the picture on the hotel website.

We travelled with Thomson’s and paid for half board, which was well worth the extra, it is 38 Euros per night if you pay at the hotel for the same menu, the menu is the same every night, there are about 15 starters, 15 main courses and 10 desserts to choose from, this was 5 star waiter service every night, presentation of all the meals was very good but particularly the desserts, some nights service was a little slow, but hey we were on holiday and while it was very early season most of Sorrento was coming to a close at 9.30 p.m., so dinner was our evening entertainment.

The reception staff were excellent; we never had to ask for our room number key, they knew which room we were in. The waiter in the bar was very pleasant, one night he was helping out in the dining room.

The maids were very discreet cleaning the room, they would not come into the room if you were in (there is a light outside the door, so they know when you are in) reception would ring and ask you if they could come and clean the room.

Excellent Wi-Fi in the bedroom, dining room, reception area, also 2 computers to use complimentary in the reception area. There is a complimentary safe in the bedroom.

The location of the hotel is excellent for getting around on local transport, trains to Pompeii, bus to Amalfi, boats to Capri, also excellent shopping area.

A very nice holiday with excellent service from all the staff at the Grand Royal hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view, you won't regret it, other rooms face the road which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stay at the Grand Hotel Royal.
Reading such a glowing recommendation of our service and genuine care and comfort makes every one in our team immensely proud.
We are very pleased that you appreciate our staff, the location, the rooms, the view, our fabulous buffet breakfast and the excellent service. Thank you as well for writing that the Wi-Fi is excellent (a customer wrote that he had connection problems).
We cannot wait to welcome you for a new visit to the “Royal”.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel has an excellent view from the terrace area toward Vesuvius- a great place for a "sun downer" Breakfast area large with huge windows overlooking beautiful geared area. Ornately decorated but not too over the top in the main areas. Easy to get to if catching the train. It is only about 300-400 metres straight down form the station through a small plaza area if you can handle your luggage. Like most places a taxi will cost you around € 15 from the station due to one way roads. Five to ten mins walk to main centre.
Walking to your room can somewhat feel like you are walking to main centre. From lift it can be a maze of corridors left, right, up, down stairs especially if your room is at the end of the building. Luckily I had an exit to the pool area nearby that gave me another option.
Small options for hot food at breakfast like most in Italy but a Hughes selection of cakes and pastries - many however too sweet. Just wanted a plain croissant !
Had difficulty with logging on go Internet - think I only had access for a minute or two over my two day stay. However, would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on the site.
My team were very happy to read you nice comment about your stay at the “Royal”.
It is true, the buffet breakfast is fabulous, as there is so much choice to please every palate.
I am very happy to read that you will be back and am looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Thank you once again
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our 2-night stay at the Grand Hotel Royal was one of our favorite stays of our recent two-week trip. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, with an amazing terrace that overlooks Mt. Vesuvius and is absolutely perfect for watching the sunset over the hills and water. The staff was very friendly - Salvatore at the front desk was one of the nicest people we met in Italy and made us feel welcome every time we had a question. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the bathroom was gorgeous. The breakfast room was gorgeous! The white walls, giant windows overlooking the gardens, attentive staff and generous breakfast made us feel so relaxed and happy every morning! We wish we had stayed here longer, and it is first on our list to return to in the future!

Room Tip: We had a room with a "partial" view of the water from the balcony - which meant that the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review of the Grand Hotel Royal.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We truly are a hidden gem among the myriad of the Sorrento hotels. As a matter of fact, the Grand Hotel Royal enjoys a unique location in the center of Sorrento, surrounded by a magnificent centuries-old park. A green oasis in the heart of Sorrento where our guests can really relax and enjoy a treat such that brought you to write: "We felt like Royalty." My team and in particular way Salvatore, were delighted with your praise, they just love it when they succeed in their efforts to make the stay of our guests the best possible one. We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
With our kindest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Hotel very well placed for train and town . View of the bay wonderful, but you really need to book a sea view as the other side is on a very busy road . By italian hotel standards , this hotel is excellent. Reception staff very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Sea view essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to complete this nice review following your recent visit to our hotel.
It is true, our location is ideal: in the heart of the city of Sorrento situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvelous camellias, orange and lemon tree.
For your next booking at the "Royal", we suggest to visit our website where you can find the cheapest rate; as a matter of fact, by booking directly with us, you will receive a “Gift Voucher” on extra purchased at the hotel. I am pleased that we were able to offer you a wonderful stay and to learn that you found the reception staff to be friendly, helpful and always willing to assist during your stay. Your kind words have been shared with the team. I hope that you will give us the possibility to continue offering you many others memorable stay at the Grand Hotel Royal.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A good, central hotel with amazing views over the bay of Naples.

Well situated to walk round the centre.

Would like to revisit when decking area open and pool warm enough to swim in :-)

Staff all friendly and helpful, there was a wide selection for breakfast but didn't try the restaurant in the evening as it looked very formal and we had a baby 2 yr old with us and preferred to tire her out by pounding the streets, that said they were all very good with her.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at The Grand Hotel Royal; it is always gratifying to read so a great review.
Our location is ideal: in the heart of the city of Sorrento situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvelous camellias, orange and lemon trees; whilst the extensive buffet served in the Glicini Restaurant is appreciated by all our guests and we have a superlative Housekeeping team, who maintain the hotel and rooms in pristine condition.
Your kind compliments have already been forwarded to our great team, who pride themselves on always exceeding every guest’s expectations. Your recommendation is very valued, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit as a returning guest.
For your next booking at the "Royal", we suggest to visit our website where you can find the cheapest rate; as a matter of fact, by booking directly with us, you will receive a “Gift Voucher” on extra purchased at the hotel.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was the first place we stayed on our tour of Italy pt. 2. The front desk workers were pleasant and we found checking-in to be seamless. The room was ready and clean and so forth. The grounds are beautiful and we took full advantage of the deck by the sea. It was so nice and relaxing down there. The breakfast was the best. There are a lot of shortcuts on breakfast in Italy, but not here. The beds are stiff but we've learned to expect that over there. The location is great. It is in walking distance to everything and very close to the train station as well. Our only complaint is that we had an ant issue in the bathroom. In their defense, we accidentally left some trail mix open on the counter, but there were a lot of ants! They had someone up immediately to remedy the problem and we never saw them again. We were constantly looking for ants the rest of our stay...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are pleased for all your kind words about the staff, the room, the amazing view, the superb breakfast buffet, and it is a pleasure to know that you have appreciated the great location of the “Royal” and the our splendid garden. Just because we have a beautiful garden there may be some ants, which, of course, are attracted to the food.
I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the Royal!
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined superior four-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.