We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgeous Oceanfront Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Georgeous Oceanfront Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for only one night while we were visiting the Amalfi Coast. The hotel is located right on the cliff above the water and it has spectacular views from the rooms that face the sea. We booked a mountain view room but upgraded our room to a sea view because the view was important to us. The cost of the room went up but it was worth it to us. The hotel is in excellent condition however we found the seaview room to be rather small and lacking in electrical outlets. There is an elevator that takes you down to the sea level where there are floating decks with lounges to relax and and take in the sun and views. This was wonderful. The breakfast buffet was great and the room it was in was quite beautiful and sun-filled. The walk from the train station to the hotel was maybe 10 minutes and downhill. The walk into town was 5-10 minutes. Both easy walks. We took the train from Naples to Sorrento during the day with our luggage and never felt at any rIsk. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I ever make it back to Sorrento.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your good review on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. It is true, the Grand Hotel Royal enjoys a unique location in the center of Sorrento, surrounded by a magnificent centuries-old park: a green oasis in the heart of Sorrento.
We are pleased for all your kind words about the “Hotel”, the breakfast buffet and so on. One of the most popular things among many of our hotel is the breakfast buffet. We are continuously receiving rave reviews from our customers. It is an amazing breakfast buffet served in the beautiful sunny “Glicini” restaurant right off the garden. The products used are fresh, healthy and local (very high quality food). There is anything and everything you could desire: eggs cooked fresh for you if you want them fried to go with the bacon, sausages, omelettes, ham, cheese, bread, toast, yoghurt, lots of cereals, huge choice of fruit and pastries, prosecco, etc.
It is really a pleasure to know that you have appreciated our services.
We really hope to welcome you again at the “Royal” very soon and in the meanwhile, we remain at your disposal for any further information.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    178
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
193
547
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel was just beautiful and about two blocks from the main areas of Sorrento. Our room was large and very comfortable. We walked to the train/bus station for our side trips which was about 5 minutes from the hotel. The staff was friendly and helped me with a train reservation and made a few local calls for me. Cocktails, wine and coffee in the bar were overpriced but the included breakfast was high quality and delicious. Everything was very fresh and there was a friendly woman making any kind of eggs or omelet that you might want. The grounds were wonderful and we spent our downtime outside on the large terrace overlooking the bay with a fabulous view of Mt. Vesuvius. I would stay here again anytime if I visited Sorrento. I got a better deal by booking directly with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
I was so happy to read your positive feedback following your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel Royal. I was so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and all of the service and facilities that we are all so very proud of. My brilliant team try their very hardest to ensure all of our guests only receive the very best in facilities and most importantly service. So , as always, I have passed on your kind words to them.Please do come back and stay with us again in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved this hotel...elegant, comfortable, spectacular views, very conveniently located. Rooms were not large, but well appointed and quiet.
The hotel was sold out but never seemed crowded. Terraces had spectacular views! try the club sandwich while there...yum!
We would love to return. A great choice in Sorrento!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely review on the site following your stay with us and for saying that you would love to return. It is always our great pleasure to read such nice words. I have passed your kind words to all the team who appreciate your feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and we sincerely look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My 92 year old mother, brother, husband and I stayed at the Grand Hotel for 6 nights in September. We had 2 rooms overlooking the park- no sea views available. The rooms are very nice, not that large but fine. It is situated on the road across from a small park and a nursery, and the mountains in the distance so the view is very pleasant and we did not have issues with any traffic noise. The lobby is elegant as are the dining rooms, and the views from the terraces are fabulous.
I think it is a great choice in Sorrento!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for reviewing the Grand Hotel Royal.
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our team do strive to make every guests stay memorable hence our popularity with couples and families a like. I am happy that you found our location so convenient and hope we will be at the forefront of your mind when planning your next trip to Sorrento.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

During our stay at this excellent hotel we were most impressed by the helpfulness and cheery disposition of the desk clerk Mauro. Nothing was too much for him and he certainly did offer service with a smile.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your positive comment and for choosing to stay at the Grand Hotel Royal.
Mauro is so thankful to have mentioned his attitude towards you during your stay.
We really hope to welcome again at the “Royal” and, in the meantime, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Grand Hotel Royal in October 2013 in a room with a balcony and view of the water. We were here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary which we noted in our reservations online. All the Trip Advisor reviews about the furnishings in the room and hotel; the appearance of the exterior grounds; the pool and waterfront facilities; and the buffet breakfast are accurate for sure.

Upon arrival to our room we saw there were a half dozen pieces of ripe fruit in a straw gift basket. There was no note, so we were unsure if it was meant to recognize our anniversary. Separately, however, on the desk was a general note from the manager welcoming us to the hotel, but also not acknowledging our anniversary.

We had just spent five days in Rome and hadn’t anything to wear. Upon arriving at our hotel room in the evening, we had no choice but to wash some clothes in our room which we hung in the room to dry overnight.

With the clothes still wet the following morning, we asked the front desk where we could find a laundromat to dry our clothes. The front desk told us of one laundromat, which turned out to be at the farthest end of town (15 minute walk). When we arrived, it had a line waiting to use the machines and was very expensive. We headed back to our room with the wet clothes, and without any other known option we hung our clothes out on the balcony.

The first opportunity the hotel staff had to demonstrate that the elegance and refinement of this hotel was not confined to its furnishings, came when my husband was at the front desk just a few minutes later making an inquiry, and was told to remove the clothing that had been hung on our balcony. While chambermaid assistance was offered to help remove the clothes, there were no alternative solutions offered.

While we understand that it may have been “not very nice” to hang these items, we were in a tight spot because they did not dry at all in our room overnight. The hotel did not appear to be fully booked as this is now late October. Regardless, when a hotel guest does something that is deemed inappropriate, there is a way to address it to the guest without snobbery or condescension, and at the same time, leave them to resolve it on their own.

We did some digging online; discovered another Sorrento laundromat much closer to the hotel; less expensive; and not busy. Problem solved -- on our own, with more lost time, albeit without effective solutions from the hotel staff.

Later that afternoon we purchased a bottle of wine to enjoy on our patio. I took it down to the reception desk to get it opened and despite the fact that there were no hotel guests being waited on, I stood there, bottle in hand, waiting to be acknowledged. Finally, a staff person acknowledged me and then looked at the bottle I was holding; looked at me; looked at the bottle again, and when he said nothing, I asked if I could get it opened or get a corkscrew. He told me to go to the bar and ask the bar tender. I went to the back area of the hotel and saw the bar had not yet opened as there were no lights on. I walked through this bar and through the gardens towards the back patio and saw a waiter by the pool and decided not to chase him down. Rather, I went to the store and purchased a corkscrew.

Neither of these incidents soured us to the hotel; it did, however, refrain us from asking for directions, recommendations, or room service or having dinner in their restaurants. Even without the above two incidents, we found the reception desk staff while perfunctorily professional, anything but warm and welcoming to any questions a hotel guest may have. We walked in and out of the hotel countless times during our stay, and we are hard pressed to remember anyone going out of their way to greet us upon return or acknowledge our departure for the day or evening. Perhaps because it was shoulder season or approaching off-season, there was no bellman, doorman, or concierge present in the lobby area -- so the front desk personnel constitute the only human factor for making guests feel welcomed and taken care of.

These incidents were annoyances, but we did not consider them significant enough to complain to hotel management. However, after two nights at the hotel, we received a tri-fold questionnaire asking about our stay; it had our arrival and departure dates and room number and someone’s initials on the inside flap. We were impressed that they requested feedback during our stay and not at the end or after, so we went to the trouble of filling it out, and responded to their invitation to explain any issues or recommendations, which we did in a three page hand written attachment. Unfortunately, after submitting the feedback we never heard from anyone in the two subsequent days of our stay.

In our writeup we detailed the issues above and restated that when making the reservations we noted it was our 25th wedding anniversary.
It’s one thing to leave a hotel with complaints. It’s another thing to respond to a hotel’s request for feedback during our stay and to not hear back from anyone, with two nights and two days remaining in our stay. We note particularly that hotel management goes to great lengths on Tripadvisor to acknowledge customer feedback. That makes it even more disappointing that they do not show a comparable degree of care and responsiveness to the feedback of guests while at the hotel.

Our experience based on interactions with staff was disappointing, and will be the sole reason we do not return to this hotel. While we understand there can be disappointments even at the finest hotels, there’s simply no excuse for management to completely ignore their guests, let alone handle awkward situations without tact and assistance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our customer.
It is certainly thanks to the comments and suggestions of our Guests, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve our service but in this case, we are sorry, we can not agree with your review.
Contrary to your assertion, we respect a lot our guests; we have really great care for them and this comes to us every day confirmed by the many reviews we receive.
We have assigned to you a very nice room and we placed in it sparkling wine and fruit on the occasion of your 25th anniversary with a welcome note.
In the hotel we have a laundry service that you did not want to use; you asked for a laundromat outside the hotel and the concierge staff sent you at a laundromat in Sorrento most used by guests of the hotels that like you, to save money, prefer not to use the internal laundry of the hotels. Of course, the concierge staff can not know if and when there is a queue nor even know the rates which are applied (if, as you say, there was a line, it means that the rates are very affordable!). Of course you can not use the balcony of your room as a drying rack for your laundry and we think there is not even the need to explain why. We have kindly offered the help of our staff to move your clothes in the bathroom of the room where there is a wire dedicated to drying over the bath.
In any case, if you wanted to, there was always our laundry available!
Our staff has a lot of ability but he lacks the gift of invisibility! How can you say that there was no one in the lobby?
It is internationally known that it is not possible to consume food and drinks purchased outside the hotel in the common spaces of the hotel. All the reviews we receive recognize that our staff is very friendly and professional and we do not understand why they should not have been with you as well.
I am always available for my guests and I wonder why you never came to me, during your stay, to talk about of these problems?
Questionnaires are placed in the rooms a few days before departure date but, certainly, it is not mandatory to compile them or even to do it the same day. These questionnaires are used for statistical purposes.
We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Royal and our staff are looking forward to offer their service and to take care of your every need.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at The Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento. We stayed on a half board basis and had a fabulous very spacious full sea view room. Both our room and all public areas were spotless. All staff were very helpful, friendly and impeccably dressed. The dining room is quite spectacular both in appearance and the service provided. Dinner was a highlight every evening and the quality, presentation and the dramatics of the restaurant staff when serving each course is something not to be missed. A special thank you to all who made our evenings so enjoyable. Breakfasts were unforgettable too except for the expanding waistlines we're left with! Please retain the high standard of service you so successfully provide in this classic elegant hotel with it's spectacular sea views so that others may have a taste of the wonderful experience we had.

Room Tip: Full sea view room have spectacular views Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you to sharing your experience and all the staff is grateful for your really kind words; nothing can be more pleasant for us to know that you appreciate our job. The satisfaction of our guests is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
We are happy to know that you had a “wonderful experience” and that you appreciate the hotel location, the delicious food, the room, the amazing views and the friendly, professional and helpful staff.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again in the “Royal”.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined superior four-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.