We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place to stay when in Sorrento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No better place to stay when in Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are not enough words to describe what a wonderful hotel the Grand Hotel Royal is. The room (Junior balcony suite) was extraordinary with a beautiful view of the bay and Mt. Vesuvius. The staff is wonderful and friendly too. The restaurant and food were also amazing. We loved the garden area outside with all of the beautiful flowers. Out trip was in late April and some say this is not quite in season. The hotel was moderately busy but is very spacious so you don't feel crowded. It is an easy walk to the town square too. We looked at other properties while walking around town and this hotel is by far the best for price, location, food and views.

Room Tip: Get any room facing the bay, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guests,
I thank you for this post, I'm happy to see that people appreciate our effort to make their stay as pleasant as possible and the funny thing is that we know we are not perfect and we can always improve and the important thing to do give you the best with a smile trying to solve any problem you may have!
We can say that our service, facilities and our location is consistent trying to improve and please our guest as best as possible, from our housekeeping staff to the front desk, concierge and Restaurant, we go that extra mile to satisfy our guest and making them truly feel like they are at home.
We thank you once again and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the “Royal”.
With best regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    178
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
193
547
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week in October 2012 and absolutely loved it. Our room was beautifully appointed, with lovely tiled floors and a light, airy feel. The food and service in the rather grand dining room were excellent, with a good choice of local specialities. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is set in pretty gardens with a superb view across the bay. Location is perfect; it is a 5 minute walk to the train station and local buses, and the same to Sorrento's main square. We would definitely recommend it and would like to return for another stay.

Room Tip: Not necessary to pay extra for the sea view- you can go down to the terrace to see it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for this wonderful comment about your last stay with us.
We like to believe that the Royal has to be a place where all the guests should be feeling really at home.
Therefore, the hotel staff at the Royal has been imbibed with an attention to detail and focus on not just meeting all customer expectations or demands, but exceeding them.
The attention to all details, comfortable beds and pillows, exclusive restaurant and activity suggestions, are only few aspects of our daily work.
Now, in receiving your feedback, we understand how long was the way, and your words and this review on Tripadvisor are paying us for all our efforts, starting from Reception staff, FB and Housekeeping Department, to all the employees that everyday trust in this goal.
We were thrilled to give our contribution to such an important moment of your lives.
Should you like to visit us again, please do let us know and we will make sure that you will receive a proper welcome back to Sorrento.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We only for three days in May but it's was wonderful experience. Our terrace room overlooked the pool and the view of the bay and Mt Vesuvius was just breath taking. The warmth and hospitality of the staff was genuine. The restaurant was great and we didn't need to venture too far. A very relaxing time.

Room Tip: Ask to stay near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guests,
You have been so nice to describe your stay and we are so glad that you have appreciated your experience.
We agree with you that the hotel location with its superb grounds is “the envy of other hotels”.
All the members of our staff are so thankful to have mentioned their attitude towards you during your stay.
Thank you for this post, I'm happy to see that people appreciate our effort to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
Warmest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I can not say enough about how much we loved this hotel. The location is amazing..right on the ocean, minutes from the train station and the downtown area. The staff are welcoming and helpful and oh so nice. The grounds are wonderful and lush. This is a superb pick in Sorrento and cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: upgrade to an oceanfront room for truly superb views and a wonderful balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your beautiful expression “This is a superb pick in Sorrento and cant wait to come back”.
Sorrento is one of the most famous holiday destination in Italy and the “Royal” is one of the most renowned hotel in the center of the city. It has a private beach, a centuries-old garden, the terrace “Le Sirene” with its amazing view; the staff is professional and friendly. All these aspects render our hotel unique and exclusive.
Anyway, we know we are not perfect and we are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer.
Thank you for your words of appreciation, we are so happy you had a good time at the “Royal” and that our place often gives special emotions to the travellers who come to stay with us!
Assuring you since now our best attention to any further visit, may we take this opportunity to send our warmest regards.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento in late April for a week and just loved the accommodations. We had two rooms, one of which was handicap accessible. We initially encountered a problem when a wheelchair for one of our party would not fit through the bathroom door but the staff quickly solved this for us by providing a narrower wheelchair to use in the room. The rooms were reminiscent of a time gone by but were still very modern and spacious. The bathrooms were large. Free Wi Fi was available in each room. Each room had a nice balcony -- ours were overlooking the street side and not the bay side, but still nice to sit on. The grounds were beautiful and the terrace had a stunning view of Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. There was also a nice size outdoor pool available although it was still a little cool for swimming when we were there. A large breakfast buffet was served in one of the dining rooms each morning and included lots of pastries, yogurt, cereal, bread/toast, beverages, fresh fruit and usually three warm breakfast foods such as bacon, eggs, or fried potatoes. Also, there was a scrumptious homemade orange marmalade available each morning. The hotel is conveniently located with the train station only a few minutes walk away and the central area of Sorrento about a 10 minutes walk. Parking is available for a fee. The staff were very helpful and service was great. This was a wonderful place to stay in Sorrento and I would definitely try to stay there again should I ever return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the hotel and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the location, the rooms, the staff, the food and services in general.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive impressions and I will immediately share your positive comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the Royal, it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied.
We would like to thank you for having been our special guests and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel Royal.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are here for a week and have been bowled over by this classic Riviera style hotel. The location and view are magnificent with beautifull gardens. Our room on the fifth floor has a stunning view over the Bay of Naples and is spacious, modern and well maintained with a large bathroom. You can be assured of a high standard of cleanliness. The staff have been very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is excellent with a wide variety of food to chose from.

Some reviews have remarked that the food is expensive; well it is not bargain basement but what would you expect from a 4 star hotel? It is not in my option overpriced for the standard but the quality is very good indeed and the elegant dining room has a beautiful view. The wine list is reasonable priced with a selection of local wines many at under 20 euros a bottle- try buying wine at a 4 star in London and you will understand what I mean.

We will be sorry to leave. This is a terrific place to stay. My only niggle is the wifi can be a bit slow but then this is a holiday and perhaps wifi should be banned!

Some families were staying here and the little ones seemed well catered for but this is not Disney World it is a relaxing resort hotel for enjoying the breath taking views and easy life. The station to Pompeii is only a five minute walk as is the town square.

Yes we will return. The hotel could be rated almost 5 star.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a sea view. Enjoy the gardens and beach facilities Probably not worth hir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for the time you decided to dedicate to us writing this amazing review.
The Staff and me we are very proud about your kind words, a strong message to enforce our will to do always better and offer the guests a truly unique experience out of the time.
But the final phrase is the real great message , it means a lot for of all of us!!
Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.
Sincerely,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I returned to this hotel after staying there 28 yrs ago as we had enjoyed it so much. It certainly lived up to our expectations and even better! A most beautiful italiano hotel. We had a fabulous room on the sixth floor with a veranda overlooking the Bay of Naples and marino picola....an exceptional panoramnic view...a majestic sunset in the evening ...such magic and tranquility. Beautiful gardens to stroll through & birds singing.
The staff are exceptionally courteous and helpful. A special thanks to Salvatore and his reception team who were very accommodating at all times . Housekeeping staff were of the highest of standards especially Rita! The restaurant food and staff were excellent. The lunch served in the pool area overlooking the bay was a dream to be experienced.
A hotel to be genuinely recommended...location excellent...5 mins walk to Sorrento centre..Piazza Torso...yet located in a lovely quite area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Bay &pool/garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review following your stay here at the Royal and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the "Royal". When we are able to meet the expectations of our customers means that we are working well and we pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests.
The location is certainly great just 5 minutes walking throught the beautiful Lauro Park to the Piazza Tasso.
I will make sure to share your great comments with the entire team. Your kind recognition will be very well received.
We hope you carried back home a few precious memories of your stay in Sorrento and that you will consider the “Royal” as your home in Sorrento.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined superior four-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.