We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday - Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Aberdeen
1 review
“Wonderful holiday - Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal for 7 nights from the 12th of October, 2012. We arrived quite late and were greeted by a very charming receptionist who checked us in very quickly and courteously escorted us to the lift,even pressing the floor button for us.We were on the sixth floor.
The room was beautifully furnished, spacious and spotlessly clean. Our bags were delivered to the room within minutes by a very cheery porter. Throughout the week the room was very well maintained, toiletries replaced daily and all the housekeeping staff that we came into contact with were cheery and friendly.

We went down to the dining room on the first evening and were greeted by Antonino who showed us to a table. I offered our apologies for being late, it was nearly 9.30pm.Absolutely no problem."Enjoy your meal and do not rush". The food was excellent as we were to find on all 7 nights of our stay. The Gala buffet was wonderfull. The waiting staff were very efficient and friendly and could'nt do enough to please us.

Breakfast was a magnificent buffet with more choice than I have seen in most hotels.
Patriczia,cooking the eggs, in whichever way you chose, was an absolute darling!!

The public rooms were very restfull and beautifully furnished.

It was a delight to wander through the very well kept gardens and onto the terrace to sit and enjoy the magnificent views and soak up the sun. The staff were unobtrusive, but always polite, friendly and helpful.

Although we did not use the pool area it was certainly very pleasant and well maintained.

We made the mistake of going down to the beach area just as it was about to close.The attendant there was friendly and quite happy to wait a few minutes extra whilst I took photographs and accompanied us back.

The only little niggle that I had were the Bar prices, which were very high. For example, a very small measure of Tio Pepe sherry at 6 Euros equated to 1 Euro a sip!!

We had a fabulous holiday in Sorrento and are so pleased that we chose this most wonderfull hotel. We are already planning a return next year when we will stay for longer.

Tony & Margaret, Scotland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Mrs Margaret & Mr. Tony,
I thank you for these words of appreciation and I’m so happy you enjoyed our way of welcome you here at the “Royal”! What is clear to me is that you understood that we are here for you and that we are at your disposal to make your holiday easy and without unpleasant surprises!
We can say that our service, facilities and our location is consistent trying to improve and please our guest as best as possible, from our housekeeping to the front desk, concierge and restaurant staff, we go that extra mile to satisfy our guest and making them truly feel like they are at home.
All the members of our staff are so thankful to have mentioned their attitude towards you during your stay.
Thanks to your review, future guest can be more informed about our hotel, we are glad that you were able to mention every aspect of your experience.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the “Royal”.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    178
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
193
547
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in October and we had a fantastic time.Location is excellent,close to the railway and coach station and a short stroll from the main square in Sorrento.The hotel is spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard.The decor throughout was very classical with lots of dark wood and glass. The bedrooms were a delight,large balconies and furnished to a high standard. We stayed in a premier room and the views over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius were amazing.Staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially Salvatore on reception who was the perfect gentleman. Food was excellent and reasonably priced.We would definitely return and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Premier room was excellent value for money.Large balconies with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for the precious time you have spent on commenting your last stay at the “Royal” on Tripadvisor.
We are so pleased to read such a beautiful comment as yours. We are happy to know that you had a “fantastic time” and that you appreciate the hotel location, the food, the room, the amazing views and the friendly and helpful staff, especially Salvatore who thanks you so much.
We hope to welcome you soon back to the “Royal” and thanking you for your patronage, we remain at your disposal for any further information.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Royal and would definitely recommend it. It is perfectly situated for a walk to the main square (5 mins), the station and the marina. The first thing you notice when walking in is how clean it smells and looks, and how serene it feels. It was calming to walk back in after a busy day out.

We knew when booking that our room would overlook the street as this was the only room left that was large enough to take ourselves and our two children (12 and 7). We were a little worried about the noise from the road having read some reviews, however this was minimal (and we were only on the second floor!). It didn't prevent us from sitting on the balcony and enjoying a drink in the sun, in fact, we enjoyed the sunshine all day unlike the sea view balconies which didn't once the sun sank behind the hotel. The very effective air con and shutters drown out any street noise, which is minimal.

It is true that if you have noisy people above you, it can grate a little with furniture scraping the tiled floors etc and we were particularly careful to try and minimise our noise for the people staying below. Take ear plugs if you think you'll be bothered - it's nothing more than you get in most hotels!

The bedrooms were spotlessly clean, very comfy beds (including two proper beds bought in for the kids), a safe, a fridge and plenty of hanging space. Tea and coffee making facilities would have been the icing on the cake. Tip - take slippers as the tiled floor is a little cold and as mentioned, reduces noise clomping across the tiles.

The staff are probably the biggest plus. Super friendly and super accommodating. We arrived at 10.30 am after a very early flight and were given a wonderful welcome AND told our room was ready! The waiters were happy to suggest tweaks to the menu for our fussy 7 year old and made a fuss of both of the kids. Breakfasts offered a wide choice - something for everyone.

We sat by the pool on one afternoon. The sun is probably a little low in the sky this time of year so you had to choose your spot to avoid the shade. Towels were forthcoming and staff were available to serve drinks. Swimming though was out of the question for us - WAY TOO COLD!! There were a few hardy swimmers though. The view of the bay from the Terrace is beautiful!

Someone mentioned flies in their review. We didn't experience them in the hotel or grounds, but there were quite a few in the town and elsewhere on our travels in the area. There was a children's park close to the hotel and we left because the flies were especially bad there. We also got quite a few mossie bites. Use repellent!

Can highly recommend Di Nocera Car Service. We used them for trips to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Herculaneum and the Amalfi Coast. (Tony - an excellent driver, safe, polite and knowledgeable, and clean, well maintained vehicles.)

All in all a wonderful stay in Sorrento. Do see the sights - the history will blow you away - but also spend time in a lovely cafe enjoying a cappucino or a Prosecco in a bar, try the varied Gelatos, wander the streets and watch the world go by. A lovely relaxing place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guests,
You have been so nice to describe your stay with such magnificent words and we are so glad that you have appreciated your experience.
Attention to detail and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built, throughout the years, the success of the Royal and, more generally speaking, of all the “Manniello Hotels” in Sorrento.
Thank you for your patronage and we are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed the room (soundproofed and carefully finished, prepared and controlled by our housekeeper), the hotel location, all our services and really important the calm and well-being feeling that is felt at the Royal.
It is a pleasure to know that our staff is so appreciated by our guests; actually is what makes the difference.
I thank you for these words of appreciation I'm so happy you had good time at the “Royal” and that our place often give special emotions to the travellers who come to stay with us!
I hope that you will come and stay with us again soon when I would like to personally welcome you back.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento. It is one of the upscale hotels in town and with a magnificent view overlooking the Bay of Naples. Our room had a lovely balcony which made leaving the room very difficult. But the short walk to center of Sorrento was special. Great experience and very helpful staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your nice comment regarding our staff is the best compliment that a Hotel Manager can receive and I will be pleased to share it with my entire team.
You are right, our location is great, right in the centre of the town but in the meantime really quiet and the guests staying at the "Royal" can relax by the pool, at the hotel beach, in the magnificent garden and feel truly at home, sipping an aperitif at our elegant bar or enjoying a romantic "a la carte dinner" at our terrace “Le Sirene” with its stunning view.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the “Royal”.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to the hotel in September. The hotels was beautiful, just a five minute walk from the train station. The rooms were lovely, really clean although we didn't have a room with sea view which was a bit disappointing. The grounds were really well kept, staff for the hotel were constantly doing maintenance, cleaning the steps, mowing the lawns etc. The people behind the reception were very polite and friendly. One of the male receptionists, tall and slightly older, was especially helpful and polite. The hotel had a swimming pool although it was freezing but needed that on a hot day. There was even a lift down to a private, rocky beach. The entertainment was really good, with a great piano player and singer. I would recommend this hotel but just wish that we had of had a room with a balcony and sea view.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the fitness centre or spa as I'm not sure if there was any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the “Royal”, it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive impressions and I will immediately share your positive comments with our team especially with the reception staff, who I am certain, will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
Thank you once again for your very nice comment and for your recommendation for our hotel, which have made us very, very pleased.
We suggest next time to book a sea view room to enjoy the wonderful view from the balcony.
Feel be free to e-mail or contact me for any further information or assistance you may require.
With our kindest regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Royal w/c 12/10/2012 for 7ngts expecting something wonderful after reading the reviews, unfortunately it did not reach our expectations.
The hotel is within easy reach of the station less than 7 mins walk, however the main reception staff were a little arrogant and brusque in her manner, the female receptionist that booked us in gave no instructions or information about the hotel regarding , pool, breakfast, times etc.
The room was a fairly decent size, on the fifth floor, but unfortunately looked out to the front of the hotel. which turned out to be extremely noisy at night it over looked a piazza where it would appear the local teenage bad boys hung out in the evening, till the early hours, shouting screaming etc.
The bedroom floors all ceramic tiled as you would expect, however the walls are quite thin and every time the ajoining occupants in the next room moved a chair across the floor or opened a draw, or walked across the floor the noise was horrific, particularly when trying to sleep.
I don't know whether we were unlucky and the person in the next room had a OCD problem, but it certainly caused a few sleepless nights coupled with the traffic noise.
On our last night I was awoken by the new occupants next door who was I think was a German gentleman who had decided enough was enough and proceeded to shout from his balcony to ask the noisy teenagers to shut up.
The bathroom was a little jaded in areas around the bath and shower with the silicone sealant going black, however general housekeeping was fine, towels sheets etc.

Breakfast was a buffet affair, with a selection of hot and cold, which was overall quite good, apart from the bad cakes, and no coffee pots, its was a one cup affair, but again the staff we found to be of the same manner as the reception staff, we wondered into the breakfast room waiting to be seated, but alas it was a find yourself a table attitude.

The pool area, was a no go area due to the vast amount of flies, I don't know whether it was because of the many fruit trees, dotted around the well kept gardens, but unless you covered yourself in insect repellent they congregated in hundreds over your body.
Again on the couple of occasions we sat by the pool not once were we approached by the pool bar waiters to ask if we would like a drink, coffee, ect.
Pool towels were a hide and seek game, some days you had to hunt one out, the other days there were none, if I had known I would have taken my own, but the hotel states it provides them for the pool area.
There is a lower sea decking area reached by a very dirty antiquated lift at the bottom of the cliff, which was a happy respite from the pool flies, however the second time we used this we were told by a young arrogant pool boy I presume employed by the Grand Hotel to leave the area as it was closed, this was around lunchtime on one of the few sunny days, due to rain storms, I asked him why there was no signs anywhere to tell guests that the lower decking was closed, he just shrugged, and gestured in that purrhhh manner that the Italians do so well.
The toilets on this area were dirty, with full length glass doors to both toilets, both with faulty locks, there was a bar on this area, however dirty and never staffed, and looked like it had not been used in some time.
Its worth mentioning from a health and safety point that the metal steps for sea access hanging onto the side of the wooden decking were rusted and badly decayed one side completely unattached.
On the basis it was quite a trek to the sea lower deck, which involved the antiquated lift ride, plus a long walk through a damp smelly, and dirty tunnel, up some steps, across another deck area, then down some steps, we were somewhat annoyed to find we had to leave, and go back to the fly infested pool.
We checked out around 6.15am so were unable to have breakfast in the dinning room, we were offered a breakfast takeaway box instead, which I have to say was truly revolting, two slices of white cardboard bread which was soooo stale the sides were curled up and dried out, sandwiched between a plastic processed slice of cheese, and a thick soggy over ripe slice of tomato. a couple of very stale sweet cake type croissants, and a warm fruit juice carton. these went straight into the rubbish bin at the station, totally unedible.
Would we stay there again ? NO

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are really sorry that your stay at the Royal did not reach your expectations.
We accept with pleasure the negative comments because they help us to improve and sometimes the customers can see details that we do not see.
Normally we receive very, very positive comments and we are very surprised to read such a different one.
We wonder why you did not come to talk to the manager during your stay at the hotel.
If you have received a room on the city side it means that your reservation was for a room without sea view. In any case, the balconies of the rooms are soundproofed and if you leave the balcony closed there are no noise problems.
Sorrento certainly is not New York and there are no bad boys gangs around the city.
All customers find our staff very kind and friendly and we certainly are surprised of your judgment as our employees were selected one by one according to those characteristics.
It comes naturally to think that maybe you stayed in another hotel and not at the Grand Hotel Royal. Even the terrible noise that you heard from one room to another has never been reported by any other guest.
There are some flies because we have a beautiful garden, but certainly not the invasion that you described.
The cleanliness in our hotel is appreciated by all our customers.
Every year during the winter closure we make improvements and this year will be ameliorating the tunnel that leads to the beach.
Thank you for being our customer and we would love to have you again in the future maybe reserving a room overlooking the sea.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCGruv187
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I visited here last week. We stayed for 8 days and had a wonderful time. Beautiful views from our balcony, very clean room and wonderful service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your review about the Hotel Royal and for your patronage.
We do our best to meet all of our Guests' needs, where possible and no one thing can be more pleasant for us to know that you appreciate our job. The satisfaction of our guests it is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
We really hope to welcome again at the Royal and, in the meantime, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information
Best Regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined superior four-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.