We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Maria delle Grazie 24, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We are three ladies just back from a week in the Astoria in Sorrento. The bedroom was excellent we got three single beds which we requested and had plenty of storage space. The hotel was very clean and we got fresh towles every day. It is an absolutely lovely hotel and very central we were close to plenty of restaurents and bars. We would highly recommend the Astoria and hope to return some time soon.

Room Tip: We think any rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor would .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    66
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
80
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire, england
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have recently returned from a week-long stay at this lovely hotel right in the centre of Sorrento old town. We were a party of five: Us two, my mother-in-law, our friend and his 20-year-old god daughter. Between us we had 4 rooms – 3 doubles for single occupancy and a double for us. We were all more than happy with the accommodation. The rooms – although fairly small - were spotlessly clean, had plenty of storage space and all had a balcony with a table & two chairs (we overlooked the beautiful garden terrace). We all slept well in the comfortable, firm beds and the bathrooms had walk-in showers that were pretty good. There is a tube type hairdryer in the bathroom and toiletries provided are soap and sachets of shower gel. Each room had a tray with a small kettle and 2 mugs as well as a small fridge.
Luckily, the weather was glorious during our stay (23rd-30th May) and we used the aircon, which was quite efficient most of the time (one night we remained quite hot – but it was probably me not setting it correctly..)
The breakfast buffet – served from 7am to 10am - was nothing to write home about but it was adequate: yogurts (not always much choice), tinned peaches, salami, ham (ok, but not great), cheese slices, sliced tomato, croissants, bread rolls and sliced bread for toast, selection of jams, cereal, orange juice (not fresh) and a self-serve hot drinks machine. We didn’t like the coffee from the machine so we switched to tea, which was fine. There was also hot chocolate available from the machine but we didn’t try that. Breakfast can be taken on the first floor garden terrace if you want to carry it on trays in the lift or up a couple of flights of stairs – we did this on the Sunday morning and it was lovely. The scent from the jasmine along the railings was gorgeous (we bought an Italian jasmine plant the day after we got home and placed it next to our back door!). The garden terrace has beautiful ceramic tile ‘pictures’ and has flowers and fruit trees in abundance – it’s really pretty.
As well as the garden terrace on the first floor, there is a sunbathing terrace on the second floor, which has sun-loungers, patio chairs and tables. I think we may have been the first to use them this year – they were all just stacked up and needed a wipe over before use. I’m sure that in the summer season, this terrace & furniture will be kept as pristine as the rest of the hotel..
Free wi-fi is available. You just have to take your passport to reception and they set you up with a password for a 3-hour duration (and if your time runs out, just repeat the process, no problems). There is also a computer available for guests use in a little room off the lobby.
A special mention must go to Sandro who was on duty in reception on our last evening/morning. He was very helpful, ringing our driver for us (there was an unofficial strike planned by boatyard workers, which may have affected our airport transfer). Not only his help with that, Sandro made sure the breakfast buffet was available for us earlier than usual on our last morning – he was an absolute star!
Despite the hotel's most central location - surrounded by shops & restaurants - it was surprisingly quiet. The five of us all agreed – we would definitely stay at the Astoria again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Good location, clean hotel but i've never seen a 'hotel' room so small in all my life. In some respects it felt more like a hostel - especially when a group of American students seemed to be on hall patrol till 2 in the morning. Breakfast was ok, although when i asked the waitress for some glasses she looked at me as if i'd driven a stake through her heart - the atmosphere in the breakfast area was somber to say the least and i could not find a clean table as the waitress was moving so slowly as to clear one per hour - maybe the italian service industry could do with some Polish charm and smiles. The aircon gave up the ghost on the final night - so with the cramped room and the heat i felt as though i was being buried alive.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I'm so glad that I found out about this hotel on Trip Advisor when another hotel we had booked in Sorrento didn't respond to my reservation confirmation. It's not a fancy place but you get good value for what you pay. The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was big and we had a balcony overlooking a pretty courtyard with lemon trees. A decent breakfast is included (just make sure to get there earlier since they don't really replenish). It's located centrally so it was about a 5 minute walk to the airport bus that brings you here from Naples and the Circumvesuvia train (which we used to go to Pompeii). It's also a 5-min walk to the harbor where you can catch the ferry to Capri and other towns on the Amalfi Coast. There are many restaurants close by as well. We especially appreciated the 24-hr front desk service which is not always available at other B&Bs in the area since we had a very early morning check-out.

3 things that prevented from giving this place a 5 was that when we arrived, our air-conditioning didn't work and they said they would send someone to fix it but never did. It worked out fine for us since the weather was still cool on our trip and we could open the balcony doors to cool the room down. We had a room right across from the elevator and you can hear all the foot traffic that takes place, especially in the mornings when the cleaning service occurs. We didn't hear any noise from outside, just the halls. If possible, try to get a room away from the elevator. Lastly, the free WiFi was pretty spotty from our room, but apparently they have a computer down by reception that you can use.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

This hotel is a pleasant place to stay, but the room and breakfast were good rather than great. The atmosphere lacks intimacy, it feels a little like you are a number rather than a guest. That said, it has an excellent location for walking around the old town, and is also close to the main square and the main shopping streets. Also it is very quiet, especially considering it's central location. All considered, we woould use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I absolutely loved this hotel, it's so clean,well decorated,and of course in the heart of Sorrento, the rooms are big and comfortable and from my window I could see the narrow streets of Sorrento. Lovely place, I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

After traveling around Italy for 2 months, and staying in 27 hotels and bed and breakfasts, I can safely say that Hotel Astoria was the best value I found. The rooms are squeaky clean and cheery (the yellow looks better in real life than on the website), and the tiling in the bathrooms is adorable. The showers are spacious and the sinks have plenty of counter space (for Europe and at this price). My room was completely quiet and the bed was comfortable. The manager Michele was particularly nice and helpful. The breakfast was pretty standard, but with plenty of options. The location is very central. Though I vehemently recommend against staying in Sorrento as a "base" for visiting the Amalfi coast, Capri, or Naples, it is a cute town and only a short train-ride away from Pompei, Herculaneum, and Mount Vesuvius. If you do stay in Sorrento, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Via S. Maria delle Grazie 24, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria is in the heart of the historical centre of Sorrento, just a few minutes walk from the main square, the port and the railway station and is surrounded by narrow, cobbled streets, unique to this old part of town which is the hub of everyday activity here. The friendly atmosphere, courteous staff and a long family tradition in hospitality combine to make your stay at the Hotel Astoria enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.