We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality,stunning sea view, beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Ambasciatori to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top quality,stunning sea view, beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is traditionally furnished, but with unexpected modern features. It's about 10-15 minutes walk from Sorrento centre and the station, which feels close enough, but not right in the heart of the town.
We took advantage of the hotel's April offer including room upgrade to Junior Suite, with discount vouchers, a free meal and welcome drink. Also waiting for us in the room was a bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of Prosecco on ice, topped by a stunning view from the cliffs over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.
The room had everything we needed, and was extremely comfortable. The service at the desk and in the restaurant and bars was discreet, helpful, and perfectly timed. The food at breakfast, in the poolside bar, the Muse restaurant, and in the rather expensive 'a la carte' was all first class.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is such a beautiful and we'll kept hotel. The entryway is bright and we'll decorated. The staff are very friendly. We were initially given a premium room with an ocean view. However, since it was raining, the ceiling leaked as we first entered our room. So, they upgraded us to this beautiful seaside suite with a massive room and bathroom. The room had central air and was easy to access the main part of the hotel. The bed is a very comfortable king which is hard to find. We did pay for parking but it was nice that the hotel had their own lot which was protected. The breakfast in the morning was a lovely display in their main dining room. The waiters are wearing traditional white coats and there is a great selection of food. This is not a roll out of bed and start eating kind of place, FYI. The people that wore flip flops and jogging shorts definitely stood out. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra money and get the premium rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for your splendid review written on tripadvisor web site.

We are pleased to read that you totally enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in particular our Suites recently refurbished and renovated all with stunning view over the sea and the Gulf of Neaples.

Thank you very much for mentioning our buffet breakfast with its vast choice and variety of food served in our main restaurant on the sea.

All the Staff at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori hope to welcome you again very soon.

Warmest regards

Customer care department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the most amazing views, beautiful food (including buffet breakfast) and wonderful staff. Be careful not to book a room on the road side as it's very noisy! Reception are all too happy to help with any question and always go above and beyond

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PULS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Valued customer,

thank you very much for your feed back left on Tripadvisor concerning our Hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your 4 nights stay at our properties and appreciate the professionalism of our staff.

We hope to welcome you again in the nearer future.

Best Regards

Customer care department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had three days on the coast. Very nice property. Walking distance to main square. Helpful staff and amazing views of the Naples bay. Bar is a little stuffy, but the end of our days, we just wanted to collapse in the room. Nice full breakfast included. Rooms are typical European size. Our superior suite would be considered a standard room in the US, but the view more than made up for it. Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for the time spent in writing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased you have appreciated our Hotel and its facilities during your short stay.

Thank you for appreciating our staff as well since they work very hard to meet the needs of our customers.

We hope to welcome you soon again and remain

Warmest regards

Customer care department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A beautiful hotel just over 5 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento. The hotel is situated on the cliff edge which gives stunning views over Sorrento town and Vesuvius. Hotel rooms and the surrounding hotel are tastefully decorated in a classic design. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless, double rooms have a super king size bed and large flat screen T.V. which includes several English channels. The high quality bed linen was changed every 3 days and towels were changed daily. There is also a fully stocked mini fridge with beers, spirits, wine and soft drinks. There is also free Wi-Fi for the duration of your stay.
The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautifully maintained and include lemon trees. The hotel pool, bar and terrace were also well maintained. There is a lift down to the bathing platform although this was closed during our stay (opens in May).
Breakfast at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast is self service and included fresh fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, meats, bacon, eggs, sautéed potatoes, toast and a large selection of pastries. There was a good selection of tea’s and coffee in addition to fresh fruit juices. The dining room is very elegant and has magnificent views out to sea and overlooking Vesuvius. The waiters are very attentive and if there is something you want that isn’t on display they will get it for you. The evening meal was excellent and exceptionally good value for money, with a good selection on offer.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, its location, rooms, décor and more importantly all the staff who work there were attentive, polite and nothing was too much trouble. Out of interest I clicked on some of the bad reviews that have been posted on TA as I was amazed that there could be a bad review on this hotel. Please do not believe any of the negative reviews this hotel has posted against it as they are simply not a true reflection of the hotel, the Excellent/Terrible ratio speaks for itself and any negative reviews are totally unfair in my opinion.
This is an amazing hotel in a fabulous location with outstanding staff and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best views and if it states garden view you'll also have a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for writing such an excellent review and sharing it with all readers on Tripadvisor.

Your description concerning our Hotel and the services provided is very accurate and attentive and for this we are very grateful.

You have exactly highlighted our strengths that with great sacrifice our staff seek to achieve daily.

We hope to welcome you soon in order to give us the opportunity to surprise you more and more with our attention to your needs.

Warmest regards

Customer care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is not near the port at all, we had a struggle up the hill with our bags. However it is useful for the bus and train station. It is a little walk into the main square, but not far. The staff were helpful, and the little balcony from our room was lovely. There is a lift down to a beach area, but it wasn't open in April.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte_booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose this hotel as the base for our honeymoon in Sorrento, largely as a result of positive reviews. It is simply wonderful! I'd arranged a few surprises for my wife in advance, and these were excellently handled by reception, so that we had roses and champagne in our room on arrival. The hotel is beautiful throughout and simply exudes old-school class and charm. Reception staff were well-informed and helpful at all times and the restaurant staff were an absolute delight: charming and helpful in equal measure. The grounds are extensive and immaculate, with views across the bay to Vesuvius. Our room was luxurious and very well-equipped: paying a wee bit extra for a sea (and volcano) view was very worthwhile. All-in-all, absolutely perfect. Very, very highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John-frae-Banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review left on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad to know that you have chosen our hotel for your honeymoon and we are proud that what you hoped was truly realized.

Our staff is trained to meet the needs of our customers and this time reading your review seem to have reached the goal.

We hope you will bring forever always good memories of your stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and we hope to welcome you again very soon

Warmest Regards

Customer care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#2 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#10 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#24 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 4 star Superior rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing