We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip to Sorrento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Ambasciatori to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Short trip to Sorrento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had three days on the coast. Very nice property. Walking distance to main square. Helpful staff and amazing views of the Naples bay. Bar is a little stuffy, but the end of our days, we just wanted to collapse in the room. Nice full breakfast included. Rooms are typical European size. Our superior suite would be considered a standard room in the US, but the view more than made up for it. Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for the time spent in writing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased you have appreciated our Hotel and its facilities during your short stay.

Thank you for appreciating our staff as well since they work very hard to meet the needs of our customers.

We hope to welcome you soon again and remain

Warmest regards

Customer care department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    180
    40
    19
    13
See reviews for
179
548
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A beautiful hotel just over 5 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento. The hotel is situated on the cliff edge which gives stunning views over Sorrento town and Vesuvius. Hotel rooms and the surrounding hotel are tastefully decorated in a classic design. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless, double rooms have a super king size bed and large flat screen T.V. which includes several English channels. The high quality bed linen was changed every 3 days and towels were changed daily. There is also a fully stocked mini fridge with beers, spirits, wine and soft drinks. There is also free Wi-Fi for the duration of your stay.
The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautifully maintained and include lemon trees. The hotel pool, bar and terrace were also well maintained. There is a lift down to the bathing platform although this was closed during our stay (opens in May).
Breakfast at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast is self service and included fresh fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, meats, bacon, eggs, sautéed potatoes, toast and a large selection of pastries. There was a good selection of tea’s and coffee in addition to fresh fruit juices. The dining room is very elegant and has magnificent views out to sea and overlooking Vesuvius. The waiters are very attentive and if there is something you want that isn’t on display they will get it for you. The evening meal was excellent and exceptionally good value for money, with a good selection on offer.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, its location, rooms, décor and more importantly all the staff who work there were attentive, polite and nothing was too much trouble. Out of interest I clicked on some of the bad reviews that have been posted on TA as I was amazed that there could be a bad review on this hotel. Please do not believe any of the negative reviews this hotel has posted against it as they are simply not a true reflection of the hotel, the Excellent/Terrible ratio speaks for itself and any negative reviews are totally unfair in my opinion.
This is an amazing hotel in a fabulous location with outstanding staff and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best views and if it states garden view you'll also have a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for writing such an excellent review and sharing it with all readers on Tripadvisor.

Your description concerning our Hotel and the services provided is very accurate and attentive and for this we are very grateful.

You have exactly highlighted our strengths that with great sacrifice our staff seek to achieve daily.

We hope to welcome you soon in order to give us the opportunity to surprise you more and more with our attention to your needs.

Warmest regards

Customer care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is not near the port at all, we had a struggle up the hill with our bags. However it is useful for the bus and train station. It is a little walk into the main square, but not far. The staff were helpful, and the little balcony from our room was lovely. There is a lift down to a beach area, but it wasn't open in April.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose this hotel as the base for our honeymoon in Sorrento, largely as a result of positive reviews. It is simply wonderful! I'd arranged a few surprises for my wife in advance, and these were excellently handled by reception, so that we had roses and champagne in our room on arrival. The hotel is beautiful throughout and simply exudes old-school class and charm. Reception staff were well-informed and helpful at all times and the restaurant staff were an absolute delight: charming and helpful in equal measure. The grounds are extensive and immaculate, with views across the bay to Vesuvius. Our room was luxurious and very well-equipped: paying a wee bit extra for a sea (and volcano) view was very worthwhile. All-in-all, absolutely perfect. Very, very highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review left on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad to know that you have chosen our hotel for your honeymoon and we are proud that what you hoped was truly realized.

Our staff is trained to meet the needs of our customers and this time reading your review seem to have reached the goal.

We hope you will bring forever always good memories of your stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and we hope to welcome you again very soon

Warmest Regards

Customer care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Beautifully quaint little hotel perched on the Bay of Naples. Stunning gardens, excellent service, and impeccably clean. Elegant but not stuffy, the staff are warm, friendly, and accommodatingly helpful. It is a bit of a (lovely) walk to the main areas of Sorrento, but that will just allow you to feel less guilty about the large amount of gelato you have consumed. One caveat: there is a soccer field behind the hotel where they do play games...with music and announcements quite loudly blaring. This side of the hotel (over the front doors) you do not want--you will hear it no matter where you are, but overlooking the field has got to be so much worse!! Pay a bit extra for the sea view rooms, it is what you came for, and will not disappoint!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your opinion with Tripadvisor readers.

Reading your e-mail we understand you enjoyed our Hotel and the surroundings
Thank you very much as well to appreciate the excellent service provided from our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the nearer future, we remain

Warmest Regards

Customer care department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous classy hotel, great location, sea view/garden view with a sea view is a must but they are booked early and will cost you much more. The higher the better probably third floor. Breakfast is full of choice, fresh fruit is amazing, nice cakes but it is continental so don't be expecting sausage, egg, beans and bacon!!!
Went for an evening meal, which was reasonably priced and beautiful. Fish dishes are their speciality. Service is excellent and all staff are very helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants luxury and style.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had chosen a sea view room, we were in the roof and the ceiling was pitched and painted white. Reminded me of a cross between a Cornish cottage with Italian touches. A little smaller than expected but really charming. Bed was super, linen was high quality and changed every 3 days. Views, as expected were stunning, balcony very small but enough to manage a small table and 2 chairs. The staff are superb, from the smiling welcome at reception, to the excellent dining room staff and waiters around the pool, all are attentive, without being intrusive. Another plus is you have great transport links, train station about 8 mins walk and a 10 minute walk to piazza Tasso. We found we got a better deal booking through the hotels website, although we were able to book Easy jet flights for about 450 for two. Food in hotel restaurant was very good too and we plan to eat there again.

Room Tip: Sea view worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 4 star Superior rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;