We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent, excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Ambasciatori to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Sorrento
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A beautiful hotel just over 5 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento. The hotel is situated on the cliff edge which gives stunning views over Sorrento town and Vesuvius. Hotel rooms and the surrounding hotel are tastefully decorated in a classic design. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless, double rooms have a super king size bed and large flat screen T.V. which includes several English channels. The high quality bed linen was changed every 3 days and towels were changed daily. There is also a fully stocked mini fridge with beers, spirits, wine and soft drinks. There is also free Wi-Fi for the duration of your stay.
The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautifully maintained and include lemon trees. The hotel pool, bar and terrace were also well maintained. There is a lift down to the bathing platform although this was closed during our stay (opens in May).
Breakfast at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast is self service and included fresh fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, meats, bacon, eggs, sautéed potatoes, toast and a large selection of pastries. There was a good selection of tea’s and coffee in addition to fresh fruit juices. The dining room is very elegant and has magnificent views out to sea and overlooking Vesuvius. The waiters are very attentive and if there is something you want that isn’t on display they will get it for you. The evening meal was excellent and exceptionally good value for money, with a good selection on offer.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, its location, rooms, décor and more importantly all the staff who work there were attentive, polite and nothing was too much trouble. Out of interest I clicked on some of the bad reviews that have been posted on TA as I was amazed that there could be a bad review on this hotel. Please do not believe any of the negative reviews this hotel has posted against it as they are simply not a true reflection of the hotel, the Excellent/Terrible ratio speaks for itself and any negative reviews are totally unfair in my opinion.
This is an amazing hotel in a fabulous location with outstanding staff and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best views and if it states garden view you'll also have a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for writing such an excellent review and sharing it with all readers on Tripadvisor.

Your description concerning our Hotel and the services provided is very accurate and attentive and for this we are very grateful.

You have exactly highlighted our strengths that with great sacrifice our staff seek to achieve daily.

We hope to welcome you soon in order to give us the opportunity to surprise you more and more with our attention to your needs.

Warmest regards

Customer care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    207
    45
    21
    15
See reviews for
212
673
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is not near the port at all, we had a struggle up the hill with our bags. However it is useful for the bus and train station. It is a little walk into the main square, but not far. The staff were helpful, and the little balcony from our room was lovely. There is a lift down to a beach area, but it wasn't open in April.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose this hotel as the base for our honeymoon in Sorrento, largely as a result of positive reviews. It is simply wonderful! I'd arranged a few surprises for my wife in advance, and these were excellently handled by reception, so that we had roses and champagne in our room on arrival. The hotel is beautiful throughout and simply exudes old-school class and charm. Reception staff were well-informed and helpful at all times and the restaurant staff were an absolute delight: charming and helpful in equal measure. The grounds are extensive and immaculate, with views across the bay to Vesuvius. Our room was luxurious and very well-equipped: paying a wee bit extra for a sea (and volcano) view was very worthwhile. All-in-all, absolutely perfect. Very, very highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review left on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad to know that you have chosen our hotel for your honeymoon and we are proud that what you hoped was truly realized.

Our staff is trained to meet the needs of our customers and this time reading your review seem to have reached the goal.

We hope you will bring forever always good memories of your stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and we hope to welcome you again very soon

Warmest Regards

Customer care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Beautifully quaint little hotel perched on the Bay of Naples. Stunning gardens, excellent service, and impeccably clean. Elegant but not stuffy, the staff are warm, friendly, and accommodatingly helpful. It is a bit of a (lovely) walk to the main areas of Sorrento, but that will just allow you to feel less guilty about the large amount of gelato you have consumed. One caveat: there is a soccer field behind the hotel where they do play games...with music and announcements quite loudly blaring. This side of the hotel (over the front doors) you do not want--you will hear it no matter where you are, but overlooking the field has got to be so much worse!! Pay a bit extra for the sea view rooms, it is what you came for, and will not disappoint!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your opinion with Tripadvisor readers.

Reading your e-mail we understand you enjoyed our Hotel and the surroundings
Thank you very much as well to appreciate the excellent service provided from our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the nearer future, we remain

Warmest Regards

Customer care department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Fabulous classy hotel, great location, sea view/garden view with a sea view is a must but they are booked early and will cost you much more. The higher the better probably third floor. Breakfast is full of choice, fresh fruit is amazing, nice cakes but it is continental so don't be expecting sausage, egg, beans and bacon!!!
Went for an evening meal, which was reasonably priced and beautiful. Fish dishes are their speciality. Service is excellent and all staff are very helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants luxury and style.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had chosen a sea view room, we were in the roof and the ceiling was pitched and painted white. Reminded me of a cross between a Cornish cottage with Italian touches. A little smaller than expected but really charming. Bed was super, linen was high quality and changed every 3 days. Views, as expected were stunning, balcony very small but enough to manage a small table and 2 chairs. The staff are superb, from the smiling welcome at reception, to the excellent dining room staff and waiters around the pool, all are attentive, without being intrusive. Another plus is you have great transport links, train station about 8 mins walk and a 10 minute walk to piazza Tasso. We found we got a better deal booking through the hotels website, although we were able to book Easy jet flights for about 450 for two. Food in hotel restaurant was very good too and we plan to eat there again.

Room Tip: Sea view worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Returned home after a simply amazing 4 night at the Hotel Ambasciatori in Sorrento. The hotel, facilities, staff, location and food was superb at the least. I've stayed in many locations around Europe and this has to be the very best I've stayed in.

There was 4 of us in our room, 2 adults and children aged 13 and 8. We had 405 which was a Jnr Suite. The boys each had a proper bed and mattress in singles, much better than a sofa bed. my wife and I had a queen size (big enough for all 4 of us at one point!!!) On entry the room has masses of storage down both side of the corridor which leads into the main room. Boys were pleased with a TV in front of the main bed and another in the sitting area!.

Bathroom, room and eve the balcony was spotless and I mean spotless. We've been watching a bit of 4 in a bed so knew what to look for. We gave up - the cleanest and spotless room I've ever had. The tiles sparkled you really could eat your dinner off them.

Hotel staff were fab, from the helpful and knowledgeable reception to the Cocktail man and the restaurant manager and workers. Superb table, bar and pool side service and great food choice. You could eat lunch and dinner here and never be bored or have the same dish.

The hotel is an easy 5-10 pleasant walk to the main square.

For our meal choices see my other reviews.

Looking forward to returning in the Summer for some beach swimming and pool action.

amazing Stay - well done to all who made it special.

Room Tip: Road will be busy at peak times so upgrade to the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#4 of 97 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#2 of 97 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 97 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#25 of 97 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#22 of 97 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#9 of 97 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 4 star Superior rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.