We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, excellent service!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Ambasciatori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing views, excellent service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Beautifully quaint little hotel perched on the Bay of Naples. Stunning gardens, excellent service, and impeccably clean. Elegant but not stuffy, the staff are warm, friendly, and accommodatingly helpful. It is a bit of a (lovely) walk to the main areas of Sorrento, but that will just allow you to feel less guilty about the large amount of gelato you have consumed. One caveat: there is a soccer field behind the hotel where they do play games...with music and announcements quite loudly blaring. This side of the hotel (over the front doors) you do not want--you will hear it no matter where you are, but overlooking the field has got to be so much worse!! Pay a bit extra for the sea view rooms, it is what you came for, and will not disappoint!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your opinion with Tripadvisor readers.

Reading your e-mail we understand you enjoyed our Hotel and the surroundings
Thank you very much as well to appreciate the excellent service provided from our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the nearer future, we remain

Warmest Regards

Customer care department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    637
    175
    39
    19
    14
See reviews for
174
538
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous classy hotel, great location, sea view/garden view with a sea view is a must but they are booked early and will cost you much more. The higher the better probably third floor. Breakfast is full of choice, fresh fruit is amazing, nice cakes but it is continental so don't be expecting sausage, egg, beans and bacon!!!
Went for an evening meal, which was reasonably priced and beautiful. Fish dishes are their speciality. Service is excellent and all staff are very helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants luxury and style.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had chosen a sea view room, we were in the roof and the ceiling was pitched and painted white. Reminded me of a cross between a Cornish cottage with Italian touches. A little smaller than expected but really charming. Bed was super, linen was high quality and changed every 3 days. Views, as expected were stunning, balcony very small but enough to manage a small table and 2 chairs. The staff are superb, from the smiling welcome at reception, to the excellent dining room staff and waiters around the pool, all are attentive, without being intrusive. Another plus is you have great transport links, train station about 8 mins walk and a 10 minute walk to piazza Tasso. We found we got a better deal booking through the hotels website, although we were able to book Easy jet flights for about 450 for two. Food in hotel restaurant was very good too and we plan to eat there again.

Room Tip: Sea view worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Returned home after a simply amazing 4 night at the Hotel Ambasciatori in Sorrento. The hotel, facilities, staff, location and food was superb at the least. I've stayed in many locations around Europe and this has to be the very best I've stayed in.

There was 4 of us in our room, 2 adults and children aged 13 and 8. We had 405 which was a Jnr Suite. The boys each had a proper bed and mattress in singles, much better than a sofa bed. my wife and I had a queen size (big enough for all 4 of us at one point!!!) On entry the room has masses of storage down both side of the corridor which leads into the main room. Boys were pleased with a TV in front of the main bed and another in the sitting area!.

Bathroom, room and eve the balcony was spotless and I mean spotless. We've been watching a bit of 4 in a bed so knew what to look for. We gave up - the cleanest and spotless room I've ever had. The tiles sparkled you really could eat your dinner off them.

Hotel staff were fab, from the helpful and knowledgeable reception to the Cocktail man and the restaurant manager and workers. Superb table, bar and pool side service and great food choice. You could eat lunch and dinner here and never be bored or have the same dish.

The hotel is an easy 5-10 pleasant walk to the main square.

For our meal choices see my other reviews.

Looking forward to returning in the Summer for some beach swimming and pool action.

amazing Stay - well done to all who made it special.

Room Tip: Road will be busy at peak times so upgrade to the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We got room 520 which has a garden view but also has an ocean view (I am not sure if we were upgraded because we are here in the shoulder/low season or if we just got lucky in our garden view room). The room is beautiful and clean. The shower has the best water pressure I have had in a European hotel so far (important for those of us with long hair!). The bed is rather hard, though not as bad as some I have experienced in Italy. Though our room doesn't face the road, there is still a fair amount of road noise at night and in the morning which is a shame.

The front desk staff are very nice and helpful. They speak English and are also tolerant of my Italian. The bartender (Tonnino?) is charming and was very helpful when I wanted to borrow a corkscrew to open a bottle of wine (he also taught me how to say it in Italian which was nice). Breakfast is good and has a lot of variety - In particular the pastries are nice (I recommend the brioche rolls). The dining room has a lovely view over the water and the staff are very attentive. The hotel is nicely furnished and has a very classy and comfortable look to it. We haven't tried the restaurant "Le Muse" because it seems really expensive...

Room Tip: Our room (520) faces the garden and the ocean. We booked a garden view room so this may have been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for your time spent, writing on TripAdvisor your opinion concerning your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.

With great pleasure we learn that your holiday has been pleasant and that you found our staff professional and attentive to your needs.

Thank you very much to appreciate our buffet breakfast served every morning in our main restaurant right on the sea. We are sorry instead to know that you din't try our food specialities cooked from our chefs and served in the evening in our restaurant "Le Muse".

We hope to welcome you again soon, offering us the opportunity to make your stay even more enjoyable.

With best Regards

Customer care department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Went for our wedding anniversary celebration. Beautiful hotel. Comfortable room. Delicious food. Excellent service.
Ten minute walk to the town. Stroll through the back alleyways, browse in the little shops. Amble to the port and catch a boat to beautiful Positano, Amalfi or Capri. Get a train to wonderful Pompeii. Relax on the hotel decking overlooking the sea or just chill out by the pool!
Book and enjoy!

Room Tip: High up rooms overlooking sea are best. Garden rooms are good but overlooked. Road side rooms can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear valued customers,

we wish to thank you for your time spent in writing your feed back on Tripadvisor concerning your last stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.

We are proud to know that you enjoyed overall your holidays and that our Hotel met, with all the facilities provided, your expectations.

Thank you for appreciating our comfortable rooms with panoramiv view over the secular gardens and on the Gulf of Naples. Thanks for appreciating our food as well which, thanks to our talented chefs, make us excel among the most prestigious hotels.

We all look forward to welcoming you again and remain

Best Regards

Customer care department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Its our Silver Wedding Anniversary. After our 7 days Eastern Mediterranean Cruise we decided to book a trip via Viator for a 3 days trip to Naples, Sorrento and Capri. They booked us in this beautiful hotel. Nice pool with the best view of the Naples Bay. Sunset is soooooo wonderful. Food is very good. Interiors is so classy. Walking distance to the town center. Dining area is over a cliff, hence the great view. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your time spent in writing your review on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad to read how pleasant your holiday has been at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and how much you enjoyed all our facilities and in particular our food.

We really hope to welcome you once again in the nearer future.

Best Regards

Customer Care dpt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 4 star Superior rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.