We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Ambasciatori to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

just returned from a week in this hotel, been to Sorrento many times ,this is the first in this hotel and this was simply the best. It has breath taking views you can watch the sun set as you eat your evening meal. The beautiful gardens and loads of secret spots were its so quiet to relax . I am a ceoliac which means i cant eat wheat the waiters and chef prepared me a different gluten free meal and starters every day. I have never been looked after in this way the staff could not have been more attentive, friendly and helpful i havent one complaint and will defiantly be going back as soon as possible. If you want an amazing tranquil break this is the best and i want to thank all the staff for all there hard work susan turner and pat cogley

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Mrs Turner and Mr Cogley,

Thank you for this nice review.
It is our pleasure and it is our task to take care of customers.
Our commitment to the art of catering is aimed not only to satisfy the most demanding palate, but also most difficult requirements such as coeliacs, vegetarians or vegans.
We are glad we succeeded.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    188
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
190
580
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been using this hotel for over 10 years, however we stopped going three yeras ago when the hotel went through some changes and not for the best. The latest manager has put the hotel back to the best its ever been.

Food was excellent, especially the chef recommends dishes, the staff were friendly and very professional.

Its location has always been one of the best in Sorrento.

Room Tip: We go for side sea view, they nomally have at least a 25% sea view but with views over the town and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for coming back to the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
We are glad to know you like and appreciate the refurbishment of these last years.
We alway try to improve ourselves and to give our Customers the maximum comfort, in the service and facilities.
We hope you will be back again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is spectacular. We just returned from a five day stay at this magnificent hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. The "quad" suite we had was immaculate, spacious and overlooked the bay of Naples. It was perfect! I have stayed at another "five star" hotel in Sorrento before, but loved the Ambaciatori so much more. They have such a beautiful pool with gardens and plenty of places to sit and admire the scenery. The staff is extremely courteous, the breakfast is great, and the restaurant was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will always stay here whenever my travels bring me back to Sorrento. They are well within walking distance to the town, there are many great restaurants to experience, and plenty to see. You will not regret staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in one of their suites that over look the bay of Naples. The views and sunsets are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are extremely happy that your experience at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your room and all our facilities; Thanks also on behalf of all the Staff , for mentioning their nice attitude.
We really look forward to welcoming you again,
kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel, with excellent grounds and views. Food was like being a Masterchef judge. Would thoroughly recommend the half board experience. One day we swapped our evening meal for a lunch by the pool, and one day took a trip to Rome, so the hotel provided us with a packed breakfast and lunch, superb. Nothing is too much trouble. They loved it when I ordered in my cockney Italian from the menu. Lovely hotel, superb staff and amenaties, and Sorrento resort is absolutely the best.

Room Tip: Opposite the hotel up a ramp is a little snack bar, that is really good value. Taxi from Naples to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our chefs are pleased by your kind words, and they are all pleased to have met your expectations. Serving you has been a pleasure and an honor.
We hope you will be back soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a great location in beautiful Sorrento - close enough to everything, but far enough away from the bustle to be quiet. The staff is always helpful. The rooms with a view of the Bay of Naples are incredible - a huge bathroom (ours had a 4 person shower AND a bathtub), a lovely sitting area, balcony with a small table and 2 chairs, a comfortable, large bed, and the hallway was lined with open shelves and hangers. Plenty of room. The restaurant is very nice, and the breakfast is huge and delicious. The pool area is very nice, and there's a snack bar there. There is also a "beach", which is a floating deck with lounge chairs right down by the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
We are happy to learn that you were pleased with the rooms and you enjoyed and appreciated all our facilities.
The location of our hotel, as mentioned by many other reviewers on TA is surely one of our best features, just a few minutes away from the center, while being in a quiet area surrounded by lush gardens with breathtaking views.

Thank you again for your remarks about the staff, we will convey them your feelings;
we’re already looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Superb hotel about 12-15 steady walk from the centre of Sorrento. Everything was good apart from the minute balcony. We had an expensive room with sea views on the 2nd floor which was spacious, airy and spotlessly clean but didn't use the balcony at all as it was just too small. Beware if this is important to you.
Apart from that all else was spot on. Will definitely consider a return trip. Missing it now we're back home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

From the moment we checked in the staff was warm and friendly .we stayed for 3 nights but wished it was longer.Our room was large with breathtaking views of the sea.There are beautiful gardens to sit and read or to have a drink and get lost in the beauty of your surroundings .The restaurant was wonderful the food and the staff couldn't have been better.WE traveled in Italy for a month this was the best hotel we stayed at.We can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words .
We are so glad to learn that your stay with us exceeded your expectations.
We really hope to see you again in the near future
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 4 star Superior rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.